Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Fatal Error while using modded vehicles

10 replies to this topic
TumbleDwarf
  • TumbleDwarf

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2013

#1

Posted 01 August 2013 - 01:50 PM

When I use modded vehicles in GTA 4, I often get an error saying ''Fatal Error, Please Restart the Game!''. The game allows me to drive around in the modded car for a minute or so, then it shows this message, and GTA crashes. It happens with most vehicles. Sometimes, I don't even get this message, and the game just closes for no apparent reason.
The mods I'm using are from gta4-mods.com, and they usually have a 9/10 or 10/10 rating. Other people don't seem to be having the problem. To install the mods, I use GTA IV Vehicle Mod Installer.
Please help me fix this problem! Thanks.

Alihunter
  • Alihunter

    Never meant to be so cold...

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2012
  • Iran

#2

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:46 PM

QUOTE (TumbleDwarf @ Thursday, Aug 1 2013, 13:50)
When I use modded vehicles in GTA 4, I often get an error saying ''Fatal Error, Please Restart the Game!''. The game allows me to drive around in the modded car for a minute or so, then it shows this message, and GTA crashes. It happens with most vehicles. Sometimes, I don't even get this message, and the game just closes for no apparent reason.
The mods I'm using are from gta4-mods.com, and they usually have a 9/10 or 10/10 rating. Other people don't seem to be having the problem. To install the mods, I use GTA IV Vehicle Mod Installer.
Please help me fix this problem! Thanks.

did you use modding unlock package??

TumbleDwarf
  • TumbleDwarf

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2013

#3

Posted 01 August 2013 - 03:04 PM

''Modding Unlock Package''
I'm sorry, what's that? I've just started modding. What does it do, and where can I find it?

Alihunter
  • Alihunter

    Never meant to be so cold...

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2012
  • Iran

#4

Posted 01 August 2013 - 04:20 PM

QUOTE (TumbleDwarf @ Thursday, Aug 1 2013, 15:04)
''Modding Unlock Package''
I'm sorry, what's that? I've just started modding. What does it do, and where can I find it?

http://www.mediafire...From_Packet.rar
extract it to your game root(where exe and folder of gams located).

TumbleDwarf
  • TumbleDwarf

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2013

#5

Posted 01 August 2013 - 09:14 PM

The crashing isn't a problem anymore, but when I'm driving around in a modded vehicle, almost all the other vehicles are taxis or the vehicle I'm driving. Is there a fix for this?

SkylineGTRFreak
  • SkylineGTRFreak

    Blackhawk lover

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2010

#6

Posted 01 August 2013 - 10:59 PM

QUOTE (TumbleDwarf @ Thursday, Aug 1 2013, 22:14)
The crashing isn't a problem anymore, but when I'm driving around in a modded vehicle, almost all the other vehicles are taxis or the vehicle I'm driving. Is there a fix for this?

That's a very common problem when modding cars. And annyoing as f*ck. So far, I think there is no 100% fix, but there are quite alot of scripts which aim to reduce the number of taxis by adding more cars and stuff liek that. Google "GTA IV taxi bug fix" and you should find something.

Alihunter
  • Alihunter

    Never meant to be so cold...

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2012
  • Iran

#7

Posted 02 August 2013 - 07:15 AM

QUOTE (SkylineGTRFreak @ Thursday, Aug 1 2013, 22:59)
QUOTE (TumbleDwarf @ Thursday, Aug 1 2013, 22:14)
The crashing isn't a problem anymore, but when I'm driving around in a modded vehicle, almost all the other vehicles are taxis or the vehicle I'm driving. Is there a fix for this?

That's a very common problem when modding cars. And annyoing as f*ck. So far, I think there is no 100% fix, but there are quite alot of scripts which aim to reduce the number of taxis by adding more cars and stuff liek that. Google "GTA IV taxi bug fix" and you should find something.

it is a good script that help to get rid of this problem:
http://www.gtainside...le&id=37248&t=1

TumbleDwarf
  • TumbleDwarf

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2013

#8

Posted 02 August 2013 - 11:28 AM

Thanks, it works perfectly. You've been very helpful.
Do you have a link to a BMW Sentinel replacement? I've tried many, but they don't seem to work.

TumbleDwarf
  • TumbleDwarf

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2013

#9

Posted 02 August 2013 - 02:09 PM

It still crashes -.-
Sick of these problems. Am I the only one experiencing this?

Alihunter
  • Alihunter

    Never meant to be so cold...

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2012
  • Iran

#10

Posted 03 August 2013 - 05:47 AM Edited by Alihunter, 03 August 2013 - 06:47 AM.

QUOTE (TumbleDwarf @ Friday, Aug 2 2013, 14:09)
It still crashes -.-
Sick of these problems. Am I the only one experiencing this?

for car:http://www.gtainside.com/en/download.php?do=getfile&id=50132&t=1
also,you can replace the car with any game car!!(except boats,airplanes,bikes)
by renaming the wft and wtd(like sentinel.wft & sentinel.wtd to banshee.wft and banshee.wtd)

for error:only thing we can advice to you,is to reinstall the game,install the modding unlock package,then install the cars manually.because i have this problem too.but when i add them manually to vehicles.img,game after a couple minutes crash.i dont know why.
here is the manual installation guide:
1: first install the modding unlock package.then,install patch 1.0.4.0( http://www.gamefront.com/files/14266711/gtaiv_patch_1040.zip ).
2: then,in mod's rar,choose what vehicle you want to replace for example:sentinel.extract the wft and wtd of you car to somewhere.then use spark IV( http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CCwQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.gamefront.com%2Ffiles%2F13914788&ei=6ZX8UadIhvLIAemZgaAJ&usg=AFQjCNEjOyCIhHyNve5XhzcDVn0a0UrfJw&sig2=5STPkmUSAyDYswMH0IV2nQ&bvm=bv.50165853,d.aWc )then,open the spark iv,click browse go to pc,models,cdimages,vehicles.img .then click import,select wtd and wft of the car.then click save.
3: go to common,data and select handling,vehicle,carcolors and right click properties and uncheck the read-only section.
then add the car color,handling vehicle of your car to it.EX:
Carcolor :(Tampa 22,78, 22,33 To Tampa 66,77, 44,55(these line in your mod's readme))
Handling :(TAMPA 1300.0 14.0 85 0.0 0.0 -0.70 0.0 3 0.13 050 50.0 0.1 0.40 0.5 20.0 1.15 0.80 14.0 0.8 0.30 1.4 0.8 0.8 0.8 -0.18 0.0 0.5 1.0 1.0 0.8 5 0.0 15000 00440000 00010000 0 To: TAMPA 1750.0 7.4 80 0.0 0.0 -0.415 0.0 4 0.14 1.0 138.0 0.15 0.643 0.29 30.0 1.05 0.70 13.5 0.15 0.4818 2.2 1.0 1.1 0.12 -0.15 -0.01 0.5 1.0 0.6 1.2 1.5 0.0 22000 240000 0 2)
Vehicle :(tampa, tampa, car, TAMPA, Tampa, VEH@STD, NULL, 10, 1, 0.2071, 0.2071, 0, 2, 1.0 ,1, -
To :tampa, tampa, car, TAMPA, Tampa, VEH@STD, NULL, 100, 999, 0.2356, 0.2356, 0.5 4, 1.0 ,1, ext_sunroof
)
then save them and re-enable the read only again.

ENJOYYY!
If you want to spawn car,download simple native trainer.

Costar
  • Costar

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2006

#11

Posted 08 August 2013 - 10:16 PM

Yea it seems like different things affects this. I've found issues w/ models (you cant always go by ratings on the cars) and sometimes it is in their settings. Sometimes parking these in front of your safe houses causes problems especially on reload. I've never really found anything absolutely specific that is the one single problem. I'd reinstall my game like Alihunter suggests.
I use SparkIV, I have the steam version of IV, I think mine is 1.0.7.0.

Its best to always make a backup of your files first before any modding.
For vehicle modding I'll backup carcols.dat, handling.dat, vehicles.ide, vehOff, cdimages.img etc.
This way you can at least restore these files BUT as I say, IF those modded cars are parked in your safe house spots, when you go to reload the game, it MIGHT crash, sometimes it will crash once and then load ok the next time... IV seems to have a mind of its own...
Generally when putting in new vehicles, if the game crashes on load, check the text values say in your handling file for example. I've copy/pasted some bad values in handling before & the game crashed, replaced w/ original handling, game loaded so I knew that was the problem.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users