Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV Display Driver has stopped responding

15 replies to this topic
Cody5699
  • Cody5699

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2012

#1

Posted 26 July 2013 - 05:46 PM

Hello I am playing GTA IV on Intel GMA X3100 / Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family but the only issue is my screen flickers inside the 69th diner and alot of other spots and i noticed when it does it says this on my desktop...

"Display Driver has stopped responding and has recovered"

Any idea how i can solve this cause on mny laptops flat panel screen it goes very dark when it does it and ti have to restart the whole computer to fix it.

CCPD
  • CCPD

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2006
  • None

#2

Posted 26 July 2013 - 06:40 PM

  1. Where did you get your game from?
  2. Are you using any mods, cracks or trainers?
  3. Do you have the latest version of the game?
  4. Have you tried re-installing the game?
  5. Have you manually removed games's installation folder (C:\Program Files (x86) OR C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\) before installing the game again?
  6. Have you tried launching the game in different compatibility modes and/or as administrator (RMB click on games's .exe --> Properties --> Compatibility)?
  7. Have you tried deleting your game's settings file (click here to see how)?

Intel doesn't work very well with GTAIV unfortunately.

Cody5699
  • Cody5699

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2012

#3

Posted 27 July 2013 - 03:01 AM

QUOTE (CCPD @ Friday, Jul 26 2013, 18:40)
  1. Where did you get your game from?
  2. Are you using any mods, cracks or trainers?
  3. Do you have the latest version of the game?
  4. Have you tried re-installing the game?
  5. Have you manually removed games's installation folder (C:\Program Files (x86) OR C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\) before installing the game again?
  6. Have you tried launching the game in different compatibility modes and/or as administrator (RMB click on games's .exe --> Properties --> Compatibility)?
  7. Have you tried deleting your game's settings file (click here to see how)?
Intel doesn't work very well with GTAIV unfortunately.

1. I got a retail copy from walmart.
2. Just simple trainer
3. yes
4. yes
5. yes
6. yes
7. yes

This isnt a game related issue. It happens to other games such as GTA San Andreas, GTA III or VC and GTA IV and other random games.

CCPD
  • CCPD

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2006
  • None

#4

Posted 27 July 2013 - 11:27 AM Edited by CCPD, 27 July 2013 - 07:08 PM.

As I suspected the problem is with your setup and not the game. Since this section is only for game related issues you better ask for help in Tech & PC Chat.

Cody5699
  • Cody5699

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2012

#5

Posted 27 July 2013 - 02:55 PM

Ok, anyway i can move this topic to that chat then? Don't want to repeat everything

Cody5699
  • Cody5699

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2012

#6

Posted 31 July 2013 - 04:09 AM

I need help

nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004

#7

Posted 31 July 2013 - 05:20 AM

Have you tried re-installing the display drivers?

Edit:

Which operating system are you using?

Cody5699
  • Cody5699

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2012

#8

Posted 03 August 2013 - 10:28 AM

QUOTE (nightwalker83 @ Wednesday, Jul 31 2013, 05:20)
Have you tried re-installing the display drivers?

Edit:

Which operating system are you using?

Yes and I use Windows Vista

DE4TH
  • DE4TH

    Go big or go home

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2012
  • Sweden

#9

Posted 03 August 2013 - 11:25 AM

Do you have Daemon tools installed?

Cody5699
  • Cody5699

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2012

#10

Posted 05 August 2013 - 12:13 AM

QUOTE (DE4TH @ Saturday, Aug 3 2013, 11:25)
Do you have Daemon tools installed?

no, and dont know what daemon tools are

Th3MaN1
  • Th3MaN1

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Apr 2011
  • Romania

#11

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:13 AM

You problem is with graphics card. I dunno how you got GTA 4 to run on that, but the game does not support Intel Chipsets, so the only thing you can do is to get a dedicated GFX like Nvidia or ATI Radeon.

Cody5699
  • Cody5699

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2012

#12

Posted 06 August 2013 - 03:46 AM

QUOTE (Th3MaN1 @ Monday, Aug 5 2013, 08:13)
You problem is with graphics card. I dunno how you got GTA 4 to run on that, but the game does not support Intel Chipsets, so the only thing you can do is to get a dedicated GFX like Nvidia or ATI Radeon.

cannot do that for laptops and also its the driver, not the hardware. But this is only driver i can get to not get TEXP70 error

Th3MaN1
  • Th3MaN1

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Apr 2011
  • Romania

#13

Posted 06 August 2013 - 05:52 AM

Then you're kinda out of luck. Also drivers don't really matter, because I cannot imagine running an Nvidia or ATI Radeon gfx card with Intel gfx drivers.

Cody5699
  • Cody5699

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2012

#14

Posted 06 August 2013 - 05:57 PM

QUOTE (Th3MaN1 @ Tuesday, Aug 6 2013, 05:52)
Then you're kinda out of luck. Also drivers don't really matter, because I cannot imagine running an Nvidia or ATI Radeon gfx card with Intel gfx drivers.

There is always luck. I been playing MTA SA and it crashes aftrer the display driver stops responding and revovered, and it says its coming from c:\windows\system32\d3dx9_42.dll or d3d9.dll

Th3MaN1
  • Th3MaN1

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Apr 2011
  • Romania

#15

Posted 06 August 2013 - 06:07 PM

That's because you should install the correct drivers.

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Die Hoodrat DIE!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010

#16

Posted 12 August 2013 - 12:04 AM

QUOTE
I been playing MTA SA and it crashes aftrer the display driver stops responding and revovered, and it says its coming from c:\windows\system32\d3dx9_42.dll or d3d9.dll

because that is san andreas game engine, much different and less resource hogging than gta iv game engine. and now you have established that you will keep playing a game when the game causes game crashing errors - you are lucky you haven't burnt your laptop up trying to play gta iv




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users