Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[VICE CITY] GXT Query

6 replies to this topic
toonskull
  • toonskull

    Necromancer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2009

#1

Posted 13 July 2013 - 12:10 PM

I dived into the Cleo of VC yesterday in hopes to build some mods. I am starting a lottery ticket mod. I normally add text using this method to "pop" it into the textbox for San Andreas;

CODE
:USEDCAR_940
//Find text memory block and read it
0A9F: 18@ = current_thread_pointer
18@ += 16
0A8D: 18@ = read_memory 18@ size 4 virtual_protect 0
return

:USEDCAR_950
//SA example NOT used in Vice City
//Game Version Check
wait 0
0AA9:   is_game_version_original
jf @USEDCAR_960
0AA5: call 0x588BE0 num_params 4 pop 4 0 0 0 18@ //Place text into textbox  
return
:USEDCAR_960
0AA5: call 0x5893B0 num_params 4 pop 4 0 0 0 18@ //Place text into textbox  
return

:TEXT_01
hex
"Hello,_ Welcome_ to_ Coutt_ and_ Schutz." 00
end
:TEXT_02
hex
"Let's_ stop_ clowning_ around_ and_ look" 20 "at_ some_ cars." 00
end


If I use the above in VC I would need the textbox memory locations. Even then I am not certain the Cleo allows the usage of opcode 0AA5 to call the address? I also realize the limits of the GXT entries. I suppose FXT is out of the question, so does anyone here have a snazzy way to get custom text to show using Cleo for Vice City?

Thanks for the support.

maurice16
  • maurice16

    Modder to the Maxx

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2013

#2

Posted 14 July 2013 - 09:30 AM

So did you compile this mod for vc and take the script from sa mod. Did it work at all

Jabhacksoul
  • Jabhacksoul

    Retired

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2007

#3

Posted 14 July 2013 - 11:26 AM

QUOTE (toonskull @ Saturday, Jul 13 2013, 07:10)

If I use the above in VC I would need the textbox memory locations. Even then I am not certain the Cleo allows the usage of opcode 0AA5 to call the address? I also realize the limits of the GXT entries. I suppose FXT is out of the question, so does anyone here have a snazzy way to get custom text to show using Cleo for Vice City?

Thanks for the support.

Didn't the Cleo for VC come with example scripts at all?
Why is fxt out of the question?

ZAZ posted this here that bug knows too much.

BTW Thanks for getting that thread straight, now I can sleep better at night. No more random phone calls from people asking me how to install my mods and what weapons do better DPS... everyone know spoons are the best weapon in any video game. ph34r.gif


Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#4

Posted 14 July 2013 - 12:29 PM

Why can't you use FXT?

Besides, there's no 0AA5, 0A9F nor 0AA9 in game. They're 05E1, 05EC and 05E5 respectively.

toonskull
  • toonskull

    Necromancer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2009

#5

Posted 14 July 2013 - 11:31 PM

QUOTE (SilentPL @ Sunday, Jul 14 2013, 12:29)
Why can't you use FXT?

Besides, there's no 0AA5, 0A9F nor 0AA9 in game. They're 05E1, 05EC and 05E5 respectively.

Yes, I just started working in VC Cleo, and figured that out. I was comparing it to my old SA codes, not knowing about a few things they changed to actually make it better than the SA coding.

Just for future refference; This is apparently how the FXT works now for VC Cleo.

I make up 2 txt files, one in the CLEO directory for my script C:\path to GTA VC\CLEO\myscript.txt
The other is save in; C:\path to GTA VC\CLEO\CLEO_TEXT\myscript.fxt

myscript.txt contains something like this;

CODE

{$CLEO}
thread 'MYCODE'
//Generic startup and checks
:MYCODE_100
wait 0
if
$onmission == 0
jf @MYCODE_100
if
Player.Defined($player_char)
jf @MYCODE_100
if
Player.Controllable($player_char)
jf @MYCODE_100
//Wait for M button (13th letter + 64 = VK 77)
:MYCODE_200
wait 0
if
05EE:  key_pressed 77
jf @MYCODE_200
//Add text
03E5: text_box 'TNSK1'  
wait 5000
03E5: text_box 'TNSK2'  
wait 5000
03E5: text_box 'TNSK3'  
wait 5000
jump@MYCODE_100


myscript.fxt contains something like this;

CODE

TNSK1 Hey! Toonskull, you are a freakin' moron always asking lame questions you know.
TNSK2 Yes, I know Tommy, making mountains out of mole hills yet again.
TNSK3 Can I get back to killing people? I love killing people!


So thanks for the INPUT biggrin.gif

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#6

Posted 14 July 2013 - 11:41 PM

Just a bit of advice, don't use 05EE:, it doesn't work properly, most times it doesn't work at all.
Check the keyboard state instead.

toonskull
  • toonskull

    Necromancer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2009

#7

Posted 15 July 2013 - 10:43 AM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Sunday, Jul 14 2013, 23:41)
Just a bit of advice, don't use 05EE:, it doesn't work properly, most times it doesn't work at all.
Check the keyboard state instead.

Thanks for the advice, but no problems with it here so far. wink.gif There aren't enough keys on the keyboard for me not to use virtual keys.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users