Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Xbox News: 360 Will be able to install entire game

167 replies to this topic
lazloisdavrock
  • lazloisdavrock

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2008
  • None

#1

Posted 10 July 2013 - 02:52 AM Edited by lazloisdavrock, 23 July 2013 - 01:49 AM.

Last week I shot mouthoff an email simply asking if we will be able to install disc 2 as well. I figured it would be obvious since the 360 lets you install games 100%, but anything thats confirmed is good info these days. they got back to me today.

I ASKED FOR THE FEW PEOPLE WHO WERE WONDERING. ITS OBVIOUS I KNOW


user posted image

Tobias_Rieper
  • Tobias_Rieper

    Silent Assassin

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2013

#2

Posted 10 July 2013 - 02:54 AM

That's a LOT of GTA...

cbiscuit93
  • cbiscuit93

    Pink Bandana

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2011

#3

Posted 10 July 2013 - 02:55 AM

Very helpful!

I was actually going to make a topic a few days ago asking this question.

Thanks for posting.

italics560
  • italics560

    Stormtrooper

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 May 2008

#4

Posted 10 July 2013 - 02:55 AM

Jesus Christ, 15 gigs? That'll keep me busy.

DanieljJ
  • DanieljJ

    Supersonic Bassman

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2008

#5

Posted 10 July 2013 - 02:56 AM

QUOTE (Tobias_Rieper @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 19:54)
That's a LOT of GTA...

How big relative to IV?

Monty Mantis
  • Monty Mantis

    Resident F*ckin' Professional

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 May 2013

#6

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:00 AM

I don't get it. What does he mean by, "It will not have to spin,"?

lance22
  • lance22

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2012

#7

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:02 AM

QUOTE (Monty Mantis @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:00)
I don't get it. What does he mean by, "It will not have to spin,"?

when you install a game on your xbox you still have to have the disc in to play it, but it wont spin, the only benefit you get from it is less noise because its not spinning

Tobias_Rieper
  • Tobias_Rieper

    Silent Assassin

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2013

#8

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:04 AM Edited by Tobias_Rieper, 10 July 2013 - 03:07 AM.

QUOTE (DanieljJ @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 02:56)
QUOTE (Tobias_Rieper @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 19:54)
That's a LOT of GTA...

How big relative to IV?

GTA IV is only... 6.8

@Monty Mantis: The Xbox needs to read the disc, but after that it reads information from the storage device. Takes some strain off of the CPU from having to pull resources and power loading files, scripts and all that technical stuff. Still need disc 2 inside it though.

gr8griffin
  • gr8griffin

    I have five of broats

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Sep 2010

#9

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:05 AM

QUOTE (Monty Mantis @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:00)
I don't get it. What does he mean by, "It will not have to spin,"?

It still needs to be there for piracy-protection reasons but since the data is installed, the disc wont need to run.

Mr. Darko
  • Mr. Darko

    My lies are better.

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2011

#10

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:06 AM

QUOTE (DanieljJ @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 02:56)
QUOTE (Tobias_Rieper @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 19:54)
That's a LOT of GTA...

How big relative to IV?

Since IV was only one disc, the console version couldn't have been bigger than 8 gigs. The PC version was like 16 gigs I think, though, but that's because of the improved textures and audio and such in the PC version -- V's PC version will be even larger. So that's almost twice as much.

EDIT: As per Tobias_Rieper's post, GTA V is over twice as big.

Futo
  • Futo

    Yeah i'm busy, call me back!

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2013

#11

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:07 AM

QUOTE (lance22 @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:02)
QUOTE (Monty Mantis @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:00)
I don't get it. What does he mean by, "It will not have to spin,"?

when you install a game on your xbox you still have to have the disc in to play it, but it wont spin, the only benefit you get from it is less noise becenause its not spinning

It's what I always do and would've been doing anyway. Always install discs to prolong my disc drives life.

But I suppose this is helpful to peeps who are unsure.

smokeNdrank
  • smokeNdrank

    Barksdale Crew: Corner Hustla

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2013

#12

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:08 AM

QUOTE (DanieljJ @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 02:56)
QUOTE (Tobias_Rieper @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 19:54)
That's a LOT of GTA...

How big relative to IV?

Grand Theft Auto IV - Xbox 360
6.4 GB (NTSC)
6.6 GB (PAL)

Source: GTAIV Game Install Size

It should be noted that it was much bigger on PC, about 13 GB.

That is some good info overall though for 360 owners with the larger hard drives. And people always say that R* never give new info in MouthOff emails. rolleyes.gif

DaRkL3AD3R
  • DaRkL3AD3R

    Ghetto Star

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2013

#13

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:10 AM

OP I freaking love you. I was seriously concerned about this and wanted to know if I could do the same thing.

Glad to know I won't have to deal with slow load times or annoying CD-ROM spinning smile.gif thanks man.

lazloisdavrock
  • lazloisdavrock

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2008
  • None

#14

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:16 AM

QUOTE (Monty Mantis @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 23:00)
I don't get it. What does he mean by, "It will not have to spin,"?

it wont have to spin....

lazloisdavrock
  • lazloisdavrock

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2008
  • None

#15

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:32 AM

This is great for Xbox users as the console doesnt have to read anything from the disc while you play hours on end!

abrownboy15
  • abrownboy15

    In it to win it - Zac Efron

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#16

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:32 AM

QUOTE (lazloisdavrock @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:16)
QUOTE (Monty Mantis @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 23:00)
I don't get it. What does he mean by, "It will not have to spin,"?

it wont have to spin....

It's quieter right? Or something like that?

lazloisdavrock
  • lazloisdavrock

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2008
  • None

#17

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:34 AM

QUOTE (abrownboy15 @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 23:32)
QUOTE (lazloisdavrock @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:16)
QUOTE (Monty Mantis @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 23:00)
I don't get it. What does he mean by, "It will not have to spin,"?

it wont have to spin....

It's quieter right? Or something like that?

quieter, faster, and your optical drive doesnt have to spin for hours and hours like the ps3 does.

Hotband
  • Hotband

    Cheesehead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013
  • Iran

#18

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:39 AM

Thanks for info.

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    I know you've been complaining, but you weren't ready.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Contribution Award [GTA V]

#19

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:40 AM

GTA IV was around 6 gigs on the consoles, and 16 on the PC. I can really see the PC version hitting 35-40 GB, surpassing Max Payne 3.

TheGreenSadler
  • TheGreenSadler

    Born in sin, COME ON IN.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2013
  • United-States

#20

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:41 AM Edited by TheGreenSadler, 10 July 2013 - 04:00 AM.

Could you be able to put this on two separate 16gb flash drives or does it have to be HDD or 32gb flash drive?

Update: you can use two 16gb flash drives to add up to 32gb of storage to your xbox, so have two of those and you're good to go.

lazloisdavrock
  • lazloisdavrock

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2008
  • None

#21

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:42 AM

QUOTE (TheGreenSadler @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 23:41)
Could you be able to put this on two separate 16gb flash drives or does it have to be HDD or 32gb flash drive?

no.

TheGreenSadler
  • TheGreenSadler

    Born in sin, COME ON IN.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2013
  • United-States

#22

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:44 AM

QUOTE (lazloisdavrock @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:42)
QUOTE (TheGreenSadler @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 23:41)
Could you be able to put this on two separate 16gb flash drives or does it have to be HDD or 32gb flash drive?

no.

Well as far as we know the first disc which is 8gb can be put on a flash drive, so the rest should be able too.

PHOENIXZERO
  • PHOENIXZERO

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

#23

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:44 AM Edited by PHOENIXZERO, 10 July 2013 - 03:47 AM.

You can't use a 8GB flash drive to install the first disc and 16GB flash drive won't be enough for both either. A 16GB flash drive is really around 14.9GB due to how binary works and on top of that there's the files the XB360 installs on it.

QUOTE (Mr. Darko @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 23:06)
QUOTE (DanieljJ @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 02:56)
QUOTE (Tobias_Rieper @ Tuesday, Jul 9 2013, 19:54)
That's a LOT of GTA...

How big relative to IV?

Since IV was only one disc, the console version couldn't have been bigger than 8 gigs. The PC version was like 16 gigs I think, though, but that's because of the improved textures and audio and such in the PC version -- V's PC version will be even larger. So that's almost twice as much.

EDIT: As per Tobias_Rieper's post, GTA V is over twice as big.

It was also 11GB on PS3 and the complete edition is 16GB. Probably thanks to less compressed and the TV stuff.

MLGTA
  • MLGTA

    Espionage

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2012

#24

Posted 10 July 2013 - 03:48 AM

o Thanks OP this is great news. 15 gigs thats alot. So i guess the second disc which (will be the game is around) 7 gigs?

tinman187
  • tinman187

    DoUgHbOi

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2007

#25

Posted 10 July 2013 - 04:14 AM

15GB of GTA is all you need in life biggrin.gif

DaRkL3AD3R
  • DaRkL3AD3R

    Ghetto Star

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2013

#26

Posted 10 July 2013 - 04:16 AM

QUOTE (Spider-Vice @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:40)
GTA IV was around 6 gigs on the consoles, and 16 on the PC. I can really see the PC version hitting 35-40 GB, surpassing Max Payne 3.

It doesn't work that way. Not at all.

cheritto
  • cheritto

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2013

#27

Posted 10 July 2013 - 04:20 AM

Hi...i have a question...i have a pendrive of 16g new with speed of write and read....about 30. Read spead. And another 16g old with 10 of read speed...this last one work fo instal the second cd???
Sorry my english...thanks for read and answer.

Sept17th2013
  • Sept17th2013

    White-skinned N-word.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2013
  • None

#28

Posted 10 July 2013 - 04:23 AM

But on PS3 there's only the 8GB option? Or there's also this 8GB + 15GB option? Cuz I have 165GB free...

Josh410
  • Josh410

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2012
  • None

#29

Posted 10 July 2013 - 04:44 AM

QUOTE (lazloisdavrock @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 02:52)
Last week I shot mouthoff an email simply asking if we will be able to install disc 2 as well. I figured it would be obvious since the 360 lets you install games 100%, but anything thats confirmed is good info these days. they got back to me today.


user posted image

Notice how he says more info coming later this MONTH. interactive website?????

Chukkles
  • Chukkles

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2007

#30

Posted 10 July 2013 - 04:49 AM

QUOTE (lance22 @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:02)
QUOTE (Monty Mantis @ Wednesday, Jul 10 2013, 03:00)
I don't get it. What does he mean by, "It will not have to spin,"?

when you install a game on your xbox you still have to have the disc in to play it, but it wont spin, the only benefit you get from it is less noise because its not spinning

Less noise and less wear on your laser reader.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users