MODDING 101

6 replies to this topic
Mega_Byte
  • Mega_Byte

Snitch

• Members

Posted 05 July 2013 - 03:33 PM

Hey guys,

What would somebody need in order to begin modding GTA games?

I am very green on this subject; as I've only recently discovered that such a thing exists. And prior to reading some of these posts I thought it was a much simpler task. I didn't realize it was more in-depth than just choosing from some onscreen menus.

By the way, I am a quasi-established programmer. I've written a lot of code in VBA (mainly for Excel); plus I'm pretty handy at debugging/changing code when necessary. I'm just curious to know the basics of Modding GTA Games.

What would someone need in order to begin modding GTA Games?
What is it like modifying games? What dangers are involved with doing such a thing?

Thanks in advance.

julionib
  • julionib

Coder

• Feroci Racing
  • Brazil

Posted 06 July 2013 - 01:44 PM

the danger is get adicted hehe

i started modding gta in october of 2012 modifying a telekinesis vb.net script, things evolved and i created very interesting scripts (im my opinion)

i guess that as a begin an nice language and a nice editor are welcome, C# its the favorite of the modders, i use VB.net because i see no sense in some case sensitive things like folder/file names and programming languages ^^, also its easy to read and understand the code because we have more words than symbols.

for editor Visual studio basic 2012 its a free and good choice, the code completion will help a lot

i started an series of tutorials about scripting for gta iv with vb.net and scripthook some time ago but now im very busy to create new ones, you can find it here:

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=529784

also you can try to create SCO scripts or ASI scripts (i have no idea how), if im not wrong they use c++ or something like that, the good of SCO is that may be compatible with consoles, but its harder to test if compared to scripthook method

pedro2555
  • pedro2555