Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

"vintage" gaming PC question..

7 replies to this topic
corvettelover
  • corvettelover

    Still D.R.E.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2008

#1

Posted 04 July 2013 - 12:41 AM

Rivia TNT2 8MB AGP

Duron 700MHZ

256MB Ram

Windows XP (Originally ME)

Okay, I cannot get Windows ME to install on my old gaming PC, and in XP the GPU detects as "Unknown" which doesn't allow me to play any games.

It has no internet, used to have a 56k Modem but it's long gone, no ethernet.

Any way to get the GPU to detect so it'll play old games again? I'm really wanting to play some Thief on it or Dangerous Hunts, especially Dangerous Hunts since it does NOT work on newer PC's (textures don't render).

I installed GPU Drivers (both Nvidia from their website and ones from Compaq's site) but it doesn't change anything at all.

nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004

#2

Posted 04 July 2013 - 09:36 AM

Doesn't compatibility mode to run the games work?

Finn 7 five 11
  • Finn 7 five 11

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#3

Posted 04 July 2013 - 10:36 AM

QUOTE (nightwalker83 @ Thursday, Jul 4 2013, 20:36)
Doesn't compatibility mode to run the games work?

I don't think so nightwalker.

LeVelocar
  • LeVelocar

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013
  • Vietnam

#4

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:17 PM

Are you sure the card is working? I think my TNT2 worked out of the box when I slapped it into an XP machine, not sure though.

Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#5

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:44 PM

edit-- Nevermind-- Didn't read the above thoroughly.

corvettelover
  • corvettelover

    Still D.R.E.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2008

#6

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:56 PM Edited by corvettelover, 04 July 2013 - 06:05 PM.

QUOTE (LeVelocar @ Thursday, Jul 4 2013, 17:17)
Are you sure the card is working? I think my TNT2 worked out of the box when I slapped it into an XP machine, not sure though.

Outputs video great, no onboard GPU on the PC.

Oddly, by default it used 32bit and native res without any drivers, but it won't play games and windows won't detect it.

Hopefully if I can get Windows ME to work it'll show up okay.

Any way to easily get it to work? I partitioned one half of the HD as NTFS for XP, and the other half as FAT32. The FAT32 should work with ME right?

I remember back in the day on ME it "maxed" NFS HP2 out except one setting that required a 16mb card, I think it was partical effects or something. For what it was it played old games great, and I'd like to use it again for old games, partially for nostalgia since it was our first PC, bought in like 2000 or 2001 used.

Dangerous Hunts gave me a error, and other games don't do anything, no error, nothing.

LeVelocar
  • LeVelocar

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013
  • Vietnam

#7

Posted 04 July 2013 - 06:24 PM

Might as well go to 98.

corvettelover
  • corvettelover

    Still D.R.E.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2008

#8

Posted 04 July 2013 - 07:42 PM

QUOTE (LeVelocar @ Thursday, Jul 4 2013, 18:24)
Might as well go to 98.

I still have a ME cd, and IIRC ME has alot of improvements over 98 in the useablility area anyways. Not to mention the PC has a ME product code right on it, just used that one.

Got ME to install! Disc drive was insanely dusty. Hopefully the TNT2 detects right.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users