Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Custom PC Requirements

30 replies to this topic
tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#1

Posted 17 June 2013 - 01:12 AM

Hey Guys im in the process of building a Custom PC For Gaming, Well anyways im wondering whats ideas on specs i need to have a great experience on GTA IV i would like to run GTA IV with the LCPDFR on their and have no lag or Buffering Time in the game.

So if their is any Recommendations for it please let me know i would greatly appreciate it

Thanks,


Sorry for the grammer lol

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Die Hoodrat DIE!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010

#2

Posted 17 June 2013 - 01:33 AM

all these guys love to spend money to upgrade or build new computers, so you should be able to find what you're looking for. but at least tell them what country you are from, how much money you want to spend, and what are your monitor's/monitors' resolution... *leaves thread alone*

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#3

Posted 17 June 2013 - 02:02 AM

rule of thumb when building a gaming pc... spend as muc as you can afford and find a good balance of parts.... give me your budget and country and ill get to work for you.

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#4

Posted 17 June 2013 - 02:19 AM

QUOTE (SlaveZer0 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 02:02)
rule of thumb when building a gaming pc... spend as muc as you can afford and find a good balance of parts.... give me your budget and country and ill get to work for you.

i live in the united states and i kinda dont have a budget my opinions is do it right the first time lol. so im open budget lol. i got my case on order, and my motherboard is a intel board and will require a i7 processor it can support two graphic cards i was gonna get the AMD Ghost Cards two of the same. but people say its good to have AMD ghost and a nvida card also.

K20
  • K20

    Woooo-rah

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2012

#5

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:41 AM

QUOTE (tcmose01 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 01:12)
Hey Guys im in the process of building a Custom PC For Gaming, Well anyways im wondering whats ideas on specs i need to have a great experience on GTA IV i would like to run GTA IV with the LCPDFR on their and have no lag or Buffering Time in the game.

So if their is any Recommendations for it please let me know i would greatly appreciate it

Thanks,


Sorry for the grammer lol

it depends if you want it just for IV or also to play other games in the future?

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#6

Posted 17 June 2013 - 10:09 AM

QUOTE (kb2084 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 08:41)
QUOTE (tcmose01 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 01:12)
Hey Guys im in the process of building a Custom PC For Gaming, Well anyways im wondering whats ideas on specs i need to have a great experience on GTA IV i would like to run GTA IV with the LCPDFR on their and have no lag or Buffering Time in the game.

So if their is any Recommendations for it please let me know i would greatly appreciate it

Thanks,


Sorry for the grammer lol

it depends if you want it just for IV or also to play other games in the future?

I kinda want to be able to run other games also but my main concern is GTA.

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#7

Posted 17 June 2013 - 11:43 AM

then make sure your motherboard supports sli. my mobo supports both sli and crossfire, but that does you no good

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#8

Posted 17 June 2013 - 12:52 PM

QUOTE (SlaveZer0 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 11:43)
then make sure your motherboard supports sli. my mobo supports both sli and crossfire, but that does you no good

Just making sure i mean would it be better to just stick with two AMD Ghost Cards? so its compadible with the whole system?

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#9

Posted 18 June 2013 - 01:38 AM Edited by SlaveZer0, 18 June 2013 - 01:41 AM.

QUOTE (tcmose01 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 12:52)
QUOTE (SlaveZer0 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 11:43)
then make sure your motherboard supports sli. my mobo supports both sli and crossfire, but that does you no good

Just making sure i mean would it be better to just stick with two AMD Ghost Cards? so its compadible with the whole system?

overall nvidia makes a better card, and if you have an intel board, it is probably sli only anyways.... intel doesnt like supporting its rival.... and what makes one more compatible than the other in your eyes? that point has no merit.


i hope the case you bought lets you route the cables and wires behind the motherboard, it does wonders for airflow

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013

#10

Posted 18 June 2013 - 09:06 PM

Why do you want SLi while GTA4 doesn't support SLi properly?
Unless I have missed something.

luceberg
  • luceberg

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#11

Posted 19 June 2013 - 12:25 AM

The OP wants a dual card set up for other games.

GTA 4 plays best on nvidia cards.

So, a 2 x gtx660ti set up would be the best of both worlds.

Personally, I would prefer just one card, but it's not me who's buying it.


SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013

#12

Posted 19 June 2013 - 01:39 AM

QUOTE (luceberg @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 00:25)
The OP wants a dual card set up for other games.

GTA 4 plays best on nvidia cards.

So, a 2 x gtx660ti set up would be the best of both worlds.

Personally, I would prefer just one card, but it's not me who's buying it.

Oh I see.
I'd prefer one card too, even when people advising me to get dual GPU, I would refuse.
Whatever he wants, it's his money.

@OP, why not going for a single GTX770? It's slightly better and it's a rebranded GTX680.

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#13

Posted 19 June 2013 - 12:48 PM

QUOTE (SilverRST @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 01:39)
QUOTE (luceberg @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 00:25)
The OP wants a dual card set up for other games.

GTA 4 plays best on nvidia cards.

So, a 2 x gtx660ti set up would be the best of both worlds.

Personally, I would prefer just one card, but it's not me who's buying it.

Oh I see.
I'd prefer one card too, even when people advising me to get dual GPU, I would refuse.
Whatever he wants, it's his money.

@OP, why not going for a single GTX770? It's slightly better and it's a rebranded GTX680.

so its better to have just one card? cause i was thinking about just putting one card in and let it go. so if its better to have just one ill just do that it will save me alot of money. i just want to do it right one time and let it go its my first time building one by my-self i never build one before so it will be complicated on putting two in. so yea

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#14

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:40 PM

QUOTE (SilverRST @ Tuesday, Jun 18 2013, 21:06)
Why do you want SLi while GTA4 doesn't support SLi properly?
Unless I have missed something.

yeah you missed something, the op said he wants to play other games too... so either you didnt read it, or your comprehension failed

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#15

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:45 PM

QUOTE (SlaveZer0 @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 15:40)
QUOTE (SilverRST @ Tuesday, Jun 18 2013, 21:06)
Why do you want SLi while GTA4 doesn't support SLi properly?
Unless I have missed something.

yeah you missed something, the op said he wants to play other games too... so either you didnt read it, or your comprehension failed

LOL Ha biggrin.gif

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#16

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:51 PM

QUOTE (tcmose01 @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 12:48)
QUOTE (SilverRST @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 01:39)
QUOTE (luceberg @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 00:25)
The OP wants a dual card set up for other games.

GTA 4 plays best on nvidia cards.

So, a 2 x gtx660ti set up would be the best of both worlds.

Personally, I would prefer just one card, but it's not me who's buying it.

Oh I see.
I'd prefer one card too, even when people advising me to get dual GPU, I would refuse.
Whatever he wants, it's his money.

@OP, why not going for a single GTX770? It's slightly better and it's a rebranded GTX680.

so its better to have just one card? cause i was thinking about just putting one card in and let it go. so if its better to have just one ill just do that it will save me alot of money. i just want to do it right one time and let it go its my first time building one by my-self i never build one before so it will be complicated on putting two in. so yea

whether you buy one card or two get nvidia. they make the best cards. also why would you think an AMD video card is native or proper on an intel board, that would be like buying a a race car with a lawnmower engine in it.

luceberg
  • luceberg

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#17

Posted 19 June 2013 - 08:45 PM Edited by luceberg, 19 June 2013 - 10:05 PM.

To have GTA at it's best, you should overclock the cpu to 4Ghz or more. So, plan on a custom cpu cooler. A fairly basic air cooler is all you need for a moderate overclock, like this. You can add another 120mm pwm fan here for push/pull and you will also need one of these

If I may ask, what motherboard and case have you already bought and what do you plan to buy for the psu and ram etc?

Brainsick
  • Brainsick

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Sep 2011

#18

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:50 PM

I can vouch for the Cooler Master Hyper 212+, I have it and my [email protected] maintains optimal temps. icon14.gif

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#19

Posted 22 June 2013 - 12:12 AM

whats the best case? i was interested raidmax case. but people say a cooler Master Case is better?im like really confused right now lol

luceberg
  • luceberg

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#20

Posted 22 June 2013 - 10:54 AM

I don't know about raidmax cases. It is probably best to buy a known good make like coolermaster, corsair or antec. I have the coolermaster haf 912+, which is decent on the whole.

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#21

Posted 22 June 2013 - 01:37 PM

QUOTE (luceberg @ Saturday, Jun 22 2013, 10:54)
I don't know about raidmax cases. It is probably best to buy a known good make like coolermaster, corsair or antec. I have the coolermaster haf 912+, which is decent on the whole.

Right thats what everyone is telling me to do is buy a cooler master case, but idk bout the pricing of it also. i mean if its strongly recommended to get a cooler master then ill find one. i found that other case on the internet brand new for like 60.00 with see through windows on both sides and its black and yellow and the windows are like baby blue type. with neon lights in it.

luceberg
  • luceberg

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#22

Posted 22 June 2013 - 02:41 PM

Do you mean this one?

It's ok, but really style over function. Not very good airflow and no cable management.

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#23

Posted 22 June 2013 - 06:36 PM

Yea,

People say the cooler Master is bigger and will have more room for the parts and alot more better air flow in the tower.

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Die Hoodrat DIE!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010

#24

Posted 22 June 2013 - 08:06 PM

raidmax cases are okay, just don't buy their power supplies, unless something has changed (rosewill - newegg's house brand used to be crap that made a close friend's PC catch fire (while it was turned off), but they have cleaned up their act... judging from on-line reviews
edit: man, that case is ugly as sin

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#25

Posted 23 June 2013 - 01:07 AM

i went ahead and bought a cooler master case, i dont know what watt power supply i need to get lol. im finding a good nvida graphics card, i got a i5 processor my board supports up to 32gb system memory and i got a standard cd/dvd drive. etc

luceberg
  • luceberg

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#26

Posted 23 June 2013 - 02:11 AM

It is worth having a power supply unit that you can rely on. I bought this one recently and would recommend it. Makes like corsair, antec or ocz are also good.

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#27

Posted 23 June 2013 - 01:49 PM

Right , Right Well my co-workers are saying to get a 1,000 watt power supply but i think its to much for what im doing, but i could be wrong i was thinking a 800 watt but if i need a 1000 then ill get one.

whats opinions on that?

luceberg
  • luceberg

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#28

Posted 23 June 2013 - 05:09 PM

For a single graphics card, say a gtx 770, about 550 watts is enough. I would add a bit of insurance and say 650 watt. You do not need more than that unless you plan on multiple graphics cards. In practice, your total power consumption during gameplay will be less than 350 watts mostly and never over 400 watts, so there is a lot of headroom allowed for. By the way, a more powerful psu will not use more power to run than a less powerful one. Look for one with an 80 plus efficiency rating.

tcmose01
  • tcmose01

    OPSGAMER0889

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2013

#29

Posted 24 June 2013 - 01:40 AM

QUOTE (luceberg @ Sunday, Jun 23 2013, 17:09)
For a single graphics card, say a gtx 770, about 550 watts is enough. I would add a bit of insurance and say 650 watt. You do not need more than that unless you plan on multiple graphics cards. In practice, your total power consumption during gameplay will be less than 350 watts mostly and never over 400 watts, so there is a lot of headroom allowed for. By the way, a more powerful psu will not use more power to run than a less powerful one. Look for one with an 80 plus efficiency rating.

heres my specs im gonna be doing i got a plan standard cd/dvd drive, intel motherboard prob 16gb ram, nvida graphics card, intel i5 processor standard cpu fan. prob water coolant but later project. my co-worker told today i could get by with a 850 watt power block.

luceberg
  • luceberg

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#30

Posted 24 June 2013 - 12:33 PM

OK, no harm in going bigger than needed.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users