Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Some sort of weird lag!

4 replies to this topic
Outsidebox
  • Outsidebox

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jun 2013

#1

Posted 05 June 2013 - 04:06 AM

I'll play the game, and every ten seconds or so the game will skip a few frames or something. The game runs perfectly, even with the highest settings and all, except for that problem. I tried running at lower res and I still get the lag. tried messing around with other stuff in the settings like lowering them and turning off the frame limiter and that didn't help.

Additional info: Windows 8 (I tried it with XP service pack 3 compatibility mode), no mods, drivers should be up to date and if they're not I updated them not long ago, downloaded via Green Man Gaming.

Any suggestions?

lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#2

Posted 05 June 2013 - 04:29 AM

Windows 8 is not kind to old games:
Usually the problem will be in the Graphics Card dedicated memory.
How does your machine specs compare to these:Minimum System Requirements
1GHz Intel Pentium III or AMD Athlon Processor
256MB of RAM
8x DVD-ROM Drive
3.6 GB of free Hard Disk space for a minimal install
64MB Video Card with DirectX 9 compatible drivers ("GeForce3" or better)
DirectX 9 compatible Stereo Sound Card
Keyboard & Mouse

Recommended System Requirements:
Intel Pentium 4 or AMD Athlon XP processor (or better)
 384(+) MB of RAM
 16x DVD-ROM drive
 4.7 GB of free Hard Disk space for a full install
 128(+) MB Video Card with DirectX 9 compatible drivers ("GeForce4" or better)
 DirectX 9 compatible Surround Sound Card
 Game pad** with twin axis analog controls (USB or Joystick Port)
 Keyboard & Mouse

Outsidebox
  • Outsidebox

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jun 2013

#3

Posted 05 June 2013 - 04:41 AM

according to canyourunit I have: Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz, 2.4 GHz Performance Rated at: 5.52 GHz, 16 GB RAM,
GeForce GTX 670M.

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#4

Posted 06 June 2013 - 06:48 AM

Your system is more than good enough for this game. What you're facing could be a simple driver related issue. SA is an old game and newer drivers are not necessarily optimized to run well with older games. I suggest switching to an older driver version. This is a trial and error method though so you might have to try quite a few drivers before you find one that works well for you. This solution worked for me when I was having texture pop-in issues.

Rizqan7
  • Rizqan7

    Wut wut wut wut wut?

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2013

#5

Posted 06 June 2013 - 06:59 AM Edited by Rizqan7, 06 June 2013 - 06:59 AM.

Just one thing to say: change your Windows to Windows XP




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users