Quantcast

» «
Photo

Building a PC

2 replies to this topic
Audiophile
  • Audiophile

And your joy will turn to ashes in your mouth...

• Zaibatsu
  • Canada

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:29 AM Edited by Audiophile, 25 May 2013 - 02:32 AM.

So I have decided that I am sick of my gaming laptop and I want to get a PC. It's finally time....

I have never built a PC before and I want to do so this time round rather than purchase one in store. I don't want some powerful nuclear reactor PC but I want one that's going to last me a few years and play games decently.

I am a total noob when it comes to this so I am asking my fellow forum members for help. In terms of CPU and GPU I prefer Intel and NVidia.

I've been looking at this site to get the parts: http://www.canadacomputers.com/

I don't really want to order online because I am never home to accept the delivery when it comes and the depot is a good hour away from me on a decent day. So from Canada Computers I will be able to get it in-store.

I have about $700 free right now but at the end of September I will have a budget of about $1.5k.....

So...wat do? Should I just get a store-bought one or try to build it myself even though I am a total noob at that and will more than likely f*ck it up and get a wrong part.

Oh and right now the laptop that I have is:
Intel® Core™ i7 CPU Q 740 @ 1.73GHz with turbo-boost
6.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M 1536 MB dedicated graphics
Windows 8

So as long as it's better than that, I will be happy.

loony979
  • loony979

Homie

• Members

Posted 25 May 2013 - 03:29 AM Edited by loony979, 25 May 2013 - 09:12 PM.

Heya Audiophile

I also prefer Intel and NVidia.
Congrads on now thinking of moving to PC ,for me lappies are shocking .

So you want to build a PC with a budget NP what so ever i have also done this.

--------tower-------
Ok lets get you started the 1st thing you will need to Build you're 1st PC is a Tower