Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[Q] Why would mod'd IPL cause crash in other IPL?

16 replies to this topic
Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#1

Posted 02 May 2013 - 04:43 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 05:03 AM.

 

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#2

Posted 02 May 2013 - 06:10 AM

Did you placed the modded ipl lines at the end of the 'inst' entries?
post the the lines inklusiv the 'end' and the last origin ipl line,
like that from my origin CountryN.ipl:
CODE
3342, lodtrail_lg4_01, 0, -1825.203125, 2043.335938, 7.2109375, 1.667910787e-008, -5.722343133e-008, -0.9600498676, -0.2798289955, -1
3339, lodtrail_lg2_01, 0, -1801.773438, 2035.796875, 8.140625, 0, 0, -0.8549121022, 0.5187728405, -1
11676, lod_subst_grid, 0, -1825.40625, 2057.289063, 7.9375, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
end

QUOTE (Lazlo_ @ Thursday, May 2 2013, 05:43)
EDIT: Sea-rocks (mentioned later) have been isolated as causing crash; still unknown whether it is objects or their user-made LOD objects, but I naturally suspect it is the user-made LODs. It remains unclear why they work fine but affect play outside of IPL.
what means "user-made LOD objects" ?
The LOD connection is done by CountryN.ipl and CountryN_stream012345.ipl
the stock objects of stream ipl's have a number to give the line number of CountryN.ipl where to find the LOD model ipl
then the LOD model don't need a collisions model, but if you add lines inside of the origin 'inst' entries block would any LOD connection fail,
because the LOD model ipl would be read as stock model but crashes because of missing colllisions model

QUOTE
Modified CountryN.ipl contains entries for 5 re-imported objects (a lounger, a table and 3 LODs for 3 types of sea rocks) added to GTA3.img and the CountryN.ide
what means 5 re-imported objects? lounger and table exist already
do you have object doulbes? 2 IDE lines with same model name?

Did you added 5 object definitions?
Does all new models have a col model?
Placing LOD model can cause crash because of missing col model
adding 5 object definitions needs to run limit adjuster, i think
read more at IDE-IPL/Basic Information:
and about LOD objects:

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#3

Posted 02 May 2013 - 06:45 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 06:31 AM.

 

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#4

Posted 02 May 2013 - 08:40 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 06:31 AM.

 

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#5

Posted 02 May 2013 - 11:23 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 06:31 AM.

 

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#6

Posted 03 May 2013 - 10:05 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 05:02 AM.

 

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#7

Posted 03 May 2013 - 09:38 PM

Don't wonder about crashes when you set the draw distance to 2999
set it to 1500 like R* did, then you will be on the safe side (for LOD models)
You should have more experience in mapmodding if you wanna place LOD models

I'll tell you about my experience: At any time i started to fix the problems of the SanVice TC and found tons of misstakes.
One of the problem was that we couldn't add more objects otherwise the game crashed.
I worked a year to overhaul the mapsystem totally and then it worked fine, it's nice to see that MeD always load it very quick
Then i made a test to see how many additional objects can be placed and could add hundreds of objects, without LimitAdjuster
Then i did the same by placing dynamic objects, these which have an entry in object.dat
it was much less possible to add
but i could add more if i spread the objects over the map so that the game don't need to apply alltogether at same time
Then i tried to add the SA interior world but it crashed, so i did following:
I converted all IPL's as stream ipl unless LOD and could then load the SanVice TC and additional the whole SA interior world.

btw. here i posted content of my ini file for Limit Adjuster: click

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#8

Posted 04 May 2013 - 08:43 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 05:02 AM.

 

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#9

Posted 04 May 2013 - 11:00 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 05:02 AM.

 

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#10

Posted 04 May 2013 - 04:30 PM


did you install col models for each new object?
please post again the ipl's and the ide's or is it still the same as in your second post?

one more test: create a new ipl file for the mod ipl lines and insert a line for it in gta.dat

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#11

Posted 05 May 2013 - 01:30 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 05:02 AM.

 

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#12

Posted 05 May 2013 - 02:18 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 05:01 AM.

 

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#13

Posted 05 May 2013 - 06:13 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 05:01 AM.

 

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#14

Posted 05 May 2013 - 06:58 AM Edited by ZAZ, 05 May 2013 - 07:47 AM.

QUOTE (Lazlo_ @ Sunday, May 5 2013, 02:30)

There are COLS for the lounger and table, but none for the LOD

I'm shure that it crashes because your LOD link numbers are wrong

QUOTE
as my understanding is that LODs use the COL for the object they are joined with.

No, The LODs can only use a col which have same name. They would need own col models like all the other models too.
The LOD don't need a col because the LOD will be disabled if you come into the range of the stock model
But then the LODs must be linked correct by the their stock model, otherwise the game crashes
Therefore i asked for posting the ipl lines

The first ipl line of CountryN.ipl is at linenumber 0
The last origin ipl line of CountryN.ipl is at linenumber 146
adding 3 searocks and 3 LOD_rocks should look like that:

CODE
11676, lod_subst_grid, 0, -1825.40625, 2057.289063, 7.9375, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
896, searock06, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, 150
896, searock06, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, 151
896, searock06, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, 152
19004, lod_searock6, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, -1
19004, lod_searock6, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, -1
19004, lod_searock6, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, -1
end


The line numbers of the text editior is not the same as you need for LOD link numbering because....
...text editor beginns with line number 1
...the entry 'inst' is placed at the first line
so the first ipl line of CountryN.ipl is at linenumber 2 of text editior, but at linenumber 0 for the LOD corresponding

with line numbers of text editor would it look like that:
CODE
146 11676, lod_subst_grid, 0, -1825.40625, 2057.289063, 7.9375, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
147 896, searock06, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, 150
148 896, searock06, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, 151
149 896, searock06, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, 152
150 19004, lod_searock6, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, -1
151 19004, lod_searock6, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, -1
152 19004, lod_searock6, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, -1
end
and if your CountryN.ipl beginns with this: # IPL generated from Max file countryn.max
then the text editor line numbering will be increased by one

in a new custom ipl should it look like that:
CODE
inst
896, searock06, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, 3
896, searock06, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, 4
896, searock06, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, 5
19004, lod_searock6, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, -1
19004, lod_searock6, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, -1
19004, lod_searock6, 0, -1798.78, 2337.02, 68.0734, -0.387948702861, -0.475671320505, 0.268925093273, 0.742234392228, -1
end


-------------------

QUOTE
The LODs have worked fine in the IPL

you wrote following in previous post:
"When I removed all the LOD entries, once it did not crash then once it did. When I removed half the LOD entries, once it did not crash and once it did. When I re-added the LOD entries one by one and tested it, it did not crash until a certain entry was added. When I left that entry but removed the two above it, it did not crash. It has not been consistent. When I left a few LOD entries but deleted many more other entries far outnumbering the total LOD entries, it still crashed, seeming to imply that it was not the total number of entries causing the crash, but somehow specific to the Sea Rocks and their LOD analogs, since it would create the same crash even if the Sea Rocks remained but all the LOD entries were deleted"

did you also changed the link number when you removed a LOD model ?

----------------------

The error dump gives just the last loaded file. Somestimes can it help to find the error, when the last loaded file have a misstake.
But your error dump is useless, unless if you modified audio files at anytime

------------------------

Col models:
You could install col models for the LOD objects, then it won't crash.
Just install an empty col like this of CJ_BEAR_BOTTLE inside of dynamic2.col
But then the LOD object will not be disabled
The LOD object will only be disabled if the LOD link numbering is correct

______________________________________________________________

EDIT

The bushes are also ingame
user posted image user posted image

A big part of the vegation will be proceed by follwing method:
The vegation will be placed randomly on the surface material by considering the data of procobj.dat
open data\procobj.dat
you will find there allocation for vegations, sealife and also the seerocks to the surface material of the landscapes

the surface material is given by the collisions model of the landscapes
did you ever worked with colleditor?


Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#15

Posted 05 May 2013 - 08:41 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 05:01 AM.

 

Lazlo_
  • Lazlo_

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2012

#16

Posted 05 May 2013 - 09:32 AM Edited by Lazlo_, 06 May 2013 - 05:00 AM.

 

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#17

Posted 05 May 2013 - 12:22 PM

QUOTE (Lazlo_ @ Sunday, May 5 2013, 10:32)
user posted image

your searock lod linking looks right but why do you have so much ipl's
my countryN.ipl inst block ends at texteditors line number 149
your "Afterwards, the Sea-Rock entries" beginn at 156

btw. it's better to see if you post the content instead screenshots
just insert it at pastebin com and post the link

the originally countryN.ipl: click




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users