Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[WIP|BETA]2x Object Draw Distance

288 replies to this topic
BLlTZ
  • BLlTZ

    Typical behaviour for someone with your condition.

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2008
  • None

#271

Posted 28 April 2013 - 04:07 PM

Okay, I got back, however it didn't end up how I wanted to because then I realize that it's missing something. My idea was simple. If through STREAM.IPL I have to make 6500+ LOD trees and set their coordinates, why to not try out through cleo method instead. The tree is spawning alright, but then I realize that I have to set the draw distance to 600.

ThirteenAG, is there any possibility to add draw distance to the script you made, if there are any opcodes for that ? It doesn't matter if this doesn't make any sense, but all it have to do is to be there and make this tree having his draw distance to 600 or 800. :-?

I hope, I'm not giving you hard time.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#272

Posted 28 April 2013 - 06:07 PM

QUOTE (-BLITZ- @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:07)
Okay, I got back, however it didn't end up how I wanted to because then I realize that it's missing something. My idea was simple. If through STREAM.IPL I have to make 6500+ LOD trees and set their coordinates, why to not try out through cleo method instead. The tree is spawning alright, but then I realize that I have to set the draw distance to 600.

ThirteenAG, is there any possibility to add draw distance to the script you made, if there are any opcodes for that ? It doesn't matter if this doesn't make any sense, but all it have to do is to be there and make this tree having his draw distance to 600 or 800. :-?

I hope, I'm not giving you hard time.

I don't know. But spawning so many objects through cleo sounds like a bad idea.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#273

Posted 28 April 2013 - 06:11 PM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 18:07)
QUOTE (-BLITZ- @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:07)
Okay, I got back, however it didn't end up how I wanted to because then I realize that it's missing something. My idea was simple. If through STREAM.IPL I have to make 6500+ LOD trees and set their coordinates, why to not try out through cleo method instead. The tree is spawning alright, but then I realize that I have to set the draw distance to 600.

ThirteenAG, is there any possibility to add draw distance to the script you made, if there are any opcodes for that ? It doesn't matter if this doesn't make any sense, but all it have to do is to be there and make this tree having his draw distance to 600 or 800. :-?

I hope, I'm not giving you hard time.

I don't know. But spawning so many objects through cleo sounds like a bad idea.

It would take forever to do that.

BLlTZ
  • BLlTZ

    Typical behaviour for someone with your condition.

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2008
  • None

#274

Posted 28 April 2013 - 06:47 PM Edited by -BLITZ-, 28 April 2013 - 06:49 PM.

I also know that SilverRST, it will kill my me big time. Yes, I did considered that as well ThirteenAG, but for me is only a test for one object to see his result.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#275

Posted 28 April 2013 - 07:38 PM Edited by SilverRST, 28 April 2013 - 07:40 PM.

QUOTE (-BLITZ- @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 18:47)
I also know that SilverRST, it will kill my me big time. Yes, I did considered that as well ThirteenAG, but for me is only a test for one object to see his result.

Yes indeed. Copying and paste the coordinates is a pain in the butt.
And GTA SA has 100.000s of coordinates and trees all placed over the map and most
of users here have custom trees modpacks. It would differ very much.
It's just too much to sit all day and copy+paste the coordinates and also copy+paste the opcodes in cleo.

Ivey
  • Ivey

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2013

#276

Posted 28 April 2013 - 08:43 PM

This might be a bit much request wise but I noticed that the IDE_DD_Tweaker posted above crashes my SAMP almost immediately when you set the multiplier to 2 or above. Wondering if there could be a fix for that.

c:

Methical
  • Methical

    Gramps

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#277

Posted 28 April 2013 - 08:46 PM

Don't play SAMP then blush.gif

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#278

Posted 28 April 2013 - 08:51 PM

QUOTE (methodunderg @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:46)
Don't play SAMP then blush.gif

What he said.

I don't see the point in using the DD Tweaker for SAMP as you
only mostly focus on other players.
And the ping also playsa factor in perfroamce. (I could be wrong)

Ivey
  • Ivey

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2013

#279

Posted 28 April 2013 - 08:54 PM

QUOTE (SilverRST @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:51)
QUOTE (methodunderg @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:46)
Don't play SAMP then  blush.gif

What he said.

I don't see the point in using the DD Tweaker for SAMP as you
only mostly focus on other players.
And the ping also playsa factor in perfroamce. (I could be wrong)

True you may focus on players more than anything else, however I've spent countless hours already modding my game to be compatible with samp. I saw that the tweaker was able to show a larger range of objects in the distance and I was super excited until I saw that it crashed.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#280

Posted 28 April 2013 - 09:01 PM

QUOTE (Ivey @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:54)
QUOTE (SilverRST @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:51)
QUOTE (methodunderg @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:46)
Don't play SAMP then  blush.gif

What he said.

I don't see the point in using the DD Tweaker for SAMP as you
only mostly focus on other players.
And the ping also playsa factor in perfroamce. (I could be wrong)

True you may focus on players more than anything else, however I've spent countless hours already modding my game to be compatible with samp. I saw that the tweaker was able to show a larger range of objects in the distance and I was super excited until I saw that it crashed.

Yeah, when I tried SAMP, I only was focused on other players and it was kind of a derby match.
Make sure to push the other players off a bridge etc.
Singe player, yes, then the DD really needs to be tweaked because it's too annoying
to see the HQ trees popping out when driving within their distance.
Those objects needs to be loaded before you can see them popping out.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#281

Posted 28 April 2013 - 09:04 PM

QUOTE (Ivey @ Monday, Apr 29 2013, 00:43)
This might be a bit much request wise but I noticed that the IDE_DD_Tweaker posted above crashes my SAMP almost immediately when you set the multiplier to 2 or above. Wondering if there could be a fix for that.

c:

No idea, samp may change a ton of code in the functions i patch.

Methical
  • Methical

    Gramps

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#282

Posted 29 April 2013 - 08:44 AM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 15:55)
It shouldn't do anything with holes, i think.

Thats weird .. Because even starting a new-game on default/vanilla game, i get holes around LS Airport, Harbour, and Skyscrapers ..
Using the latest version, starting a new game, there are no holes .. but get weird alpha bugs on trees.

Cam
  • Cam

    Cam

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2003
  • United-States

#283

Posted 29 April 2013 - 08:01 PM Edited by Cam, 29 April 2013 - 08:07 PM.

QUOTE (Ivey @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:43)
This might be a bit much request wise but I noticed that the IDE_DD_Tweaker posted above crashes my SAMP almost immediately when you set the multiplier to 2 or above. Wondering if there could be a fix for that.

c:

Really? What's the crash address? I can run this perfectly fine with SA:MP. Here are a couple of screen shots: Screen 1 Screen 2

I have to lower the multiplier from 3 to 2-2.5 or so to reduce some weird'ness, but as you can see, my game is heavily modded so I suspect it's not as a direct result of ThirteenAG's mod alone, but others as well... The only strange side effect I get from time to time are some alpha issues in the trees (maybe the game's alpha pool needs increased?). Otherwise stability is great, even with TOBJs being patched (I have not tested SP though).

Great work on the mod though ThirteenAG. Most impressive! icon14.gif

Ivey
  • Ivey

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2013

#284

Posted 29 April 2013 - 11:40 PM

QUOTE (Cam @ Monday, Apr 29 2013, 20:01)
QUOTE (Ivey @ Sunday, Apr 28 2013, 20:43)
This might be a bit much request wise but I noticed that the IDE_DD_Tweaker posted above crashes my SAMP almost immediately when you set the multiplier to 2 or above. Wondering if there could be a fix for that.

c:

Really? What's the crash address? I can run this perfectly fine with SA:MP. Here are a couple of screen shots: Screen 1 Screen 2

I have to lower the multiplier from 3 to 2-2.5 or so to reduce some weird'ness, but as you can see, my game is heavily modded so I suspect it's not as a direct result of ThirteenAG's mod alone, but others as well... The only strange side effect I get from time to time are some alpha issues in the trees (maybe the game's alpha pool needs increased?). Otherwise stability is great, even with TOBJs being patched (I have not tested SP though).

Great work on the mod though ThirteenAG. Most impressive! icon14.gif

Weird. I did a little more research but I found that it has to do with: patch_lod_distance.

When I set this to 1 it crashes the game.

Here's the exception screenshot:
user posted image

Here's the full text:
CODE
SA-MP 0.3x-R1-2
Exception At Address: 0x00553927
Base: 0x04110000

Registers:
EAX: 0x04BCFEC8 EBX: 0x00000000 ECX: 0x00000000 EDX: 0x0085BBF0
ESI: 0x00000074 EDI: 0x0000001A EBP: 0x76C23524 ESP: 0x0028FD8C
EFLAGS: 0x00010297

Stack:
+0000: 0x0000001A   0x00000001   0x00000000   0x0053EA03
+0010: 0x44700000   0x44070000   0x0053ECC2   0x00000001
+0020: 0x00619B71   0x0000001A   0x00000001   0x00000001
+0030: 0x0000000A   0x00748DA0   0x0000001A   0x00000001
+0040: 0x758C4BC4   0x00000000   0x0028FF84   0x7FFDE000
+0050: 0x01710000   0x4D8E0038   0x01710EC8   0x00000008
+0060: 0x00000100   0x00000008   0x00000102   0x44700000
+0070: 0x44070000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000780
+0080: 0x00000438   0x00000000   0x00000001   0x0005042A
+0090: 0x00000200   0x00000000   0x021C03C0   0x01B36D4B
+00A0: 0x000003C0   0x0000021C   0x0000002C   0x0028FE28
+00B0: 0x00825EA4   0x0028FF74   0x00825EA4   0x758C4BC4
+00C0: 0x7FFDE000   0x00821D17   0x00000065   0x00000065
+00D0: 0x0028FF84   0x008246F1   0x00400000   0x00000000
+00E0: 0x01AC28ED   0x0000000A   0x00000094   0x00000006
+00F0: 0x00000002   0x000023F0   0x00000002   0x00000000
+0100: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000
+0110: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000
+0120: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000
+0130: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000
+0140: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000
+0150: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000
+0160: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000
+0170: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00824588   0x00000000
+0180: 0x00000000   0x7FFDE000   0xC0000005   0x00000000
+0190: 0x01AC28ED   0x00000044   0x01AD3860   0x01AD3CB0
+01A0: 0x01AD3D80   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000
+01B0: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000
+01C0: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00000000   0xFFFFFFFF
+01D0: 0xFFFFFFFF   0xFFFFFFFF   0x00000000   0x00000000
+01E0: 0x0028FE74   0x0028F948   0x0028FFC4   0x00825EA4
+01F0: 0x00888078   0x00000000   0x0028FF90   0x758C8543
+0200: 0x7FFDE000   0x0028FFD4   0x77CFAC69   0x7FFDE000
+0210: 0xAA273C72   0x00000000   0x00000000   0x7FFDE000
+0220: 0x069090EF   0xFFFFF801   0x00000000   0x00000000
+0230: 0x0028FF9C   0x00000000   0x0028FFE4   0x77D835F2
+0240: 0xDDC12BA6   0x00000000   0x0028FFEC   0x77CFAC3C
+0250: 0x00824570   0x7FFDE000   0xFFFFFFFF   0x77D71D86
+0260: 0x00000000   0x00000000   0x00824570   0x7FFDE000
+0270: 0x00000000   0x78746341   0x00000020   0x00000001

SCM Op: 0x160, lDbg: 0 LastRendObj: 4227

Game Version: US 1.0

State Information: Ped Context: 0

Cam
  • Cam

    Cam

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2003
  • United-States

#285

Posted 05 May 2013 - 11:28 PM Edited by Cam, 05 May 2013 - 11:34 PM.

RE-EDIT:

@ ThirteenAG, not sure if it's intended functionality or a bug, but setting all_dist_multiplier to a value under 2.0 (like 1.5 for example) does not seem to have any effect.

herons2s2
  • herons2s2

    Trailers Maker

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2011

#286

Posted 23 May 2013 - 06:19 AM

news?

Methical
  • Methical

    Gramps

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#287

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:28 AM

Not that I have heard ..

I see dingleman has made a mod similar for III here : http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=558110

I'm not that familiar with modding III, but I notice that he managed to make the light coronas appear from further away in the .ide file under the 2DFX section.
I see in the 'generic' folder in SA, the .ide files have a 2DFX section at the bottom; but they are all empty?

All this mod is missing, is light corona's appearing from further away, and to fix the holes in the map icon14.gif

Dingleman
  • Dingleman

    SA:LC Mod Leader

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2005

#288

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:57 AM

QUOTE (methodunderg @ Monday, May 27 2013, 18:28)
Not that I have heard ..

I see dingleman has made a mod similar for III here : http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=558110

I'm not that familiar with modding III, but I notice that he managed to make the light coronas appear from further away in the .ide file under the 2DFX section.
I see in the 'generic' folder in SA, the .ide files have a 2DFX section at the bottom; but they are all empty?

All this mod is missing, is light corona's appearing from further away, and to fix the holes in the map icon14.gif

San Andreas is tricky. 2DFX's are handled by the DFF files of the objects they work with. Here's a tutorial I used when adding lights to SA:LC.

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=525891

MeatSafeMurderer
  • MeatSafeMurderer

    Avoiding GTA Online at all costs until the grand payout rebuffs.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2012
  • None

#289

Posted 28 May 2013 - 08:19 PM Edited by MeatSafeMurderer, 28 May 2013 - 08:26 PM.

There has been no news because ThirteenAG came up with a much better solution, so I just left it for now and allowed him to use this thread...he may or may not be working on it still...if he is he may well have his own thread by now, I don't know, as I've not looked
The grass DD is hardcoded, most likely as is the draw distance of the 2dfx themselves, as I saw nothing about such things in the tut, and although there are 2dfx sections in the IDE files each and every one is empty. Unfortunately my knowledge on memory hacking is currently very limited, it is something I would like to learn to do though, so you never know smile.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users