Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

What happens when a pc doesn't meet requirements

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic
lucid121
  • lucid121

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2013

#1

Posted 06 April 2013 - 06:22 AM

I am not sure if this is for trouble shooting or gameplay,but mods are welcome to move it.Anyway what happens?How do you know if it is a error of the game,or your computer just doesn't meet hardware requirements?

lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#2

Posted 06 April 2013 - 06:29 AM

If the machine 'totally' doesn't meet the specs the game just won't run.
If the machine is 'weak' on the specs you can expect running problems: Lag in game play, Textures don't appear correctly, frequent lock up or plain crashes, et cetera.

Minimum System Requirements
1GHz Intel Pentium III or AMD Athlon Processor
256MB of RAM
8x DVD-ROM Drive
3.6 GB of free Hard Disk space for a minimal install
64MB Video Card with DirectX 9 compatible drivers ("GeForce3" or better)
DirectX 9 compatible Stereo Sound Card
Keyboard & Mouse

Recommended System Requirements:
Intel Pentium 4 or AMD Athlon XP processor (or better)
 384(+) MB of RAM
 16x DVD-ROM drive
 4.7 GB of free Hard Disk space for a full install
 128(+) MB Video Card with DirectX 9 compatible drivers ("GeForce4" or better)
 DirectX 9 compatible Surround Sound Card
 Game pad** with twin axis analog controls (USB or Joystick Port)
 Keyboard & Mouse
** I suggest 12 buttons minimum. I use the Logitech Dual Action , as it works straight from the box without any special drivers. Seitek also nice. Attempting to use console controllers may take hours to find the right driver(s) and then still not work.



lucid121
  • lucid121

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2013

#3

Posted 06 April 2013 - 07:04 AM

QUOTE (lil weasel @ Saturday, Apr 6 2013, 09:29)
If the machine 'totally' doesn't meet the specs the game just won't run.
If the machine is 'weak' on the specs you can expect running problems: Lag in game play, Textures don't appear correctly, frequent lock up or plain crashes, et cetera.

Minimum System Requirements
1GHz Intel Pentium III or AMD Athlon Processor
256MB of RAM
8x DVD-ROM Drive
3.6 GB of free Hard Disk space for a minimal install
64MB Video Card with DirectX 9 compatible drivers ("GeForce3" or better)
DirectX 9 compatible Stereo Sound Card
Keyboard & Mouse

Recommended System Requirements:
Intel Pentium 4 or AMD Athlon XP processor (or better)
 384(+) MB of RAM
 16x DVD-ROM drive
 4.7 GB of free Hard Disk space for a full install
 128(+) MB Video Card with DirectX 9 compatible drivers ("GeForce4" or better)
 DirectX 9 compatible Surround Sound Card
 Game pad** with twin axis analog controls (USB or Joystick Port)
 Keyboard & Mouse
** I suggest 12 buttons minimum. I use the Logitech Dual Action , as it works straight from the box without any special drivers. Seitek also nice. Attempting to use console controllers may take hours to find the right driver(s) and then still not work.

Ok,thanks.Btw way what do you mean it won't ''run''?Do you mean that the pc won't sense anything at all or will it show an error?

MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Winter Wrap Up!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#4

Posted 06 April 2013 - 12:51 PM Edited by MrMateczko, 06 April 2013 - 03:32 PM.

San Andreas cannot run on Windows 95.
San Andreas requires at least DirectX version 9.0.
San Andreas won't run without an Audio Card.
San Andreas works best with a graphic card of at least 32MB of Video Card memory or more.
The game will either show an error, or cause many strange things happening in the game, such as textures not appearing, stuttering etc.

radioman
  • radioman

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2006

#5

Posted 06 April 2013 - 03:21 PM

QUOTE
It will be severely unplayable if run with a video card with lower than 64MB memory.


That's not really true, as I used to run it on a PC(laptop) that had a VIA/SIS video card w/32mb of vram and the game ran at a steady 25 fps...

Pretty much any PC will run the game(SA) unlike IV, which requires a high spec PC to run properly. The ONLY Video card I have seen that does NOT run SA is the 64mb VIA/SIS cards. Cause I had 2 PC's-one desktop with an AMD Sempron processor @ 2.1 GHZ, 1.18 GB Ram, an VIA/SIS video card w/64mb vram and XP Home SP2...and a laptop with an AMD Sempron processor @ 798MHZ, 1GB Ram, an SIS/VIA video card w/32mb vram and XP Home SP2/SP3 now, and the game ran at a steady 25fps on the laptop, yet refused to run on the desktop-even though it was a little higher on the specs.

Which just goes to show that the Play station ports of the games were a lot better than the X-Box ports(IV/EFLC), as the Playstation ports ran on pretty much any PC whereas the X-Box ports(IV/EFLC) required a lot higher specs to run... confused.gif

MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Winter Wrap Up!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#6

Posted 06 April 2013 - 03:31 PM

Well, it depends on the video card itself too. A good 32MB video card will be better than a crappy 64MB video card. But still, there's no reason to have such old card in a new computer, unless you want to have an old computer to play old games. Like the one in my avatar, can you guess?

josepha916
  • josepha916

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2013

#7

Posted 07 September 2013 - 10:09 AM

I don't know about PCs, but every single notebook (not netbook) manufactured from 2007 run GTA SA perfectly. Just lower the visual fx quality if it lags a lot.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users