Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How to add GIF on a sig ?

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
10 replies to this topic
The Leones
  • The Leones

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2013

#1

Posted 02 April 2013 - 07:47 PM

Like this

user posted image

Slave Boy
  • Slave Boy

    Enslaved

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Finland
  • Most Talented GFX Artist 2013

#2

Posted 03 April 2013 - 07:18 AM Edited by Graven, 03 April 2013 - 07:28 AM.

Tools: Gimp, gimp plugins/scripts: anitools by Lars, combine with background by Saulgoode, all layers to image size by RobA

I'm on mobile so this comes from memory, only thing I can' t remember is anitools location in menu.

Open gif and signature image. Unoptimize gif (filters>animation) and convert it to RGB mode from image menu.
Copy/paste signature as new layer to gif image, place that layer to bottom.
Resize canvas to your liking, menu>layer>all layers to image size.
Activate bottom layer by selecting it, then Filters>animation>combine with background.
Delete the bottom layer.
Filters>animation>optimize gif.
Change frame timings to what You like by typing them to layer attributes: (80ms) (combine) or use anitools plugin/script.
File>export, select gif and tick animation box.

Creating smooth animated good-looking sig requires lot of optimizing to get under 80kb.

The Leones
  • The Leones

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2013

#3

Posted 03 April 2013 - 07:50 AM

Couldn't get you icon13.gif

Slave Boy
  • Slave Boy

    Enslaved

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Finland
  • Most Talented GFX Artist 2013

#4

Posted 03 April 2013 - 08:34 AM

Which part did You not get?
I use Gimp to animate, combining a background with gif ani like spinning logo takes half a minute.
You need patience if You want to do anything, it does not happen in single click.

Good luck if You want to do it with PS...

FCortez
  • FCortez

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2012

#5

Posted 03 April 2013 - 08:52 AM Edited by FCortez, 03 April 2013 - 08:55 AM.

user posted image

I reckon all you need are the commands

So make a gif, upload it to a website like Imageshack, copy the BBCode (that's the one with the commands ) and put it in your sig.
(and don't forget to make it the apropriate size as specified in the forum rules)

Slave Boy
  • Slave Boy

    Enslaved

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Finland
  • Most Talented GFX Artist 2013

#6

Posted 03 April 2013 - 09:04 AM

Aaaaah did the OP mean how to use gif as a signature? Well in that case, upload it to a host and copy the BBcode to your sig field. But it must be under 80kb.

I thought he wanted to add a gif to still image.

The Leones
  • The Leones

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2013

#7

Posted 03 April 2013 - 11:41 AM

QUOTE (Graven @ Wednesday, Apr 3 2013, 09:04)
Aaaaah did the OP mean how to use gif as a signature? Well in that case, upload it to a host and copy the BBcode to your sig field. But it must be under 80kb.

I thought he wanted to add a gif to still image.

Didn't you saw my first post ? I mean , adding a GIF on image tounge.gif

Devyl
  • Devyl

    Wait; I have a .GIF for that.

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 13 May 2004

#8

Posted 03 April 2013 - 12:03 PM

He's saying that he wants a static image with a portion of it being animated, like this one I made for a photoshop thread on the Something Awful forums:

user posted image

If you have photoshop I can explain it.

Slave Boy
  • Slave Boy

    Enslaved

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Finland
  • Most Talented GFX Artist 2013

#9

Posted 03 April 2013 - 01:48 PM

Yeah I was on mobile and did not see the gif, no support on old phone.
But yes, like I explained in my first reply I make these with Gimp. Itīs fast and easy.

The Leones
  • The Leones

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2013

#10

Posted 04 April 2013 - 06:29 AM

QUOTE (Devyl @ Wednesday, Apr 3 2013, 12:03)
He's saying that he wants a static image with a portion of it being animated, like this one I made for a photoshop thread on the Something Awful forums:

user posted image

If you have photoshop I can explain it.

Yeah I don't want any other kind of f*ckin software in my PC. I would like to learn from PS. Please post a TUT icon14.gif

Devyl
  • Devyl

    Wait; I have a .GIF for that.

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 13 May 2004

#11

Posted 04 April 2013 - 12:31 PM Edited by Devyl, 04 April 2013 - 12:50 PM.

In this quick Tutorial, I'll be using two files. Van Gogh's classic "Starry Night" as a static image, and a trippy spiraling GIF of the same image, but in a smaller size.

user posted image


user posted image





Step 1: Find your animated GIF and static (not moving) image and save them somewhere you can find them.


Step 2: Open your static image:

user posted image

Step 3: Open your GIF image. When you open your GIF image, you HAVE to use File > Import > Video Frames To Layers; otherwise you can't adjust the individual frames in the GIF if you need to.

user posted image

You'll be presented with an option to select certain parameters such as length of the GIF. Since we'll be using the entire GIF file, make sure "From Beginning To End" is chosen. Also, make sure "Make Frame Animation" is checked.

user posted image

Step 4: Find the canvas size of the static image. With the static image selected, go to Image > Canvas Size. I prefer my information in pixels for digital work, so I switched the selector over. By default it is in inches.

user posted image

Step 5: Now, we are going to be expanding the canvas size of the GIF to fit the static image and put it "behind" it. The GIF is actually going to be sitting on top of the static image. First, expand your timeline. This gives you easy access to each frame animation in the GIF file. Select your static image and using the Rectangular Marquee Tool, Select the entire image and then Edit > Copy.

user posted image

Step 6: Now we have to adjust the canvas size of the GIF image to fit the static image into it. Image > Canvas Size (switch to pixels again), and put in the new canvas size. In this case, it will be 800 pixels wide by 500 pixels tall.

user posted image

You will now notice you have transparency all around the GIF image. That's because there is nothing there... Yet.

user posted image

Step 7: Paste the static image into the GIF. With the GIF selected, go to Edit > Paste. Now you'll see the static image pasted into the GIF. However, you'll notice the GIF isn't visible. We need to fix that. If you look on the right side in the picture below, you'll see the static image is above one of the layers in the animation. Each layer is one frame of the animation, so we need the frame of the static image to be the one on the bottom.

user posted image


Step 8: All you have to do is drag the layer to the bottom by clicking & dragging it to the bottom. Now you'll see the animation sitting above it.

user posted image

However, if you hit the preview button (The play button in your timeline), the static image will only be present for one frame and then disappear. To fix this, Select the static image layer and click on the Unify Layer Visibility icon (an eye with chain link under it). This makes the layer visible through the entire GIF. When you click the button, a pop-up message will appear asking if you want to make the visibility in other frames match the current. That's what we want, of course, so click on "Match".

user posted image

user posted image

Step 9: Save! Once you've previewed and like what you see, Go to File > Save For Web and save as you need to. Adjusting color amount and so on will adjust image quality and image file-size.

And that's all there is to it! Hope that helps you out smile.gif

user posted image




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users