» «
Photo

[Q] Veteran modder with questions.

2 replies to this topic
Jay.
  • Jay.

3-D Modeler

• Members

Posted 26 March 2013 - 04:35 AM Edited by Jay., 10 April 2013 - 01:43 AM.

It's been awhile since I've done any modding for GTA and lately I've had the itch with lots of new ideas. I've helped with converting GTAIII's map to VC, MTA:H, Blood Gulch conversion for VC, many Halo conversions including Master Chief player model and I was one of the first people to release a vehicle mod for GTA:SA shortly after it's release(Halo warthog mod) thanks to Kam's script. I'm a gfx designer, 3d modeler and animator. I was part of "Crazy Modding Crew" with "jacob."- one of the developers for SAMP. Enough of my life story-

Some of my ideas include converting Matrix Online's map, maps from SW:TOR, or even WoW maps to GTAIV. I've also been looking into converting playable characters and vehicles. I just need someone to open the door for me here, it's been a couple years since I've modded and I am new to GTAIV's modding scene.

My questions are primarily map based at the moment and I've done searching only to find confusion and left with more questions.

(X) What are the new most commonly used stable tools for map modding? (Export, Import, Placement...)
3dsmax 2012(GIMS IV Script), OpenIV

(X) Are all models and textures still archived in one file?
/maps/<mapname>/<name>.img[<name>.wtd]

(X) How different is the layout compared to GTAVC or SA? (IDE, IPL files...)
Rockstar/GTA/common/data/"gta.dat";"images.txt"
Rockstar/GTA/pc/maps/<folder>/IDE(Item Definitions);WPL(Item Placement);IMG(Archive)>TXD(Texture);WDR(Model);WBN(Collision)

(X) Is it possible to have custom 3d mesh inside GTAIV? (Saw a lot of "map mods" with already existing models from in game on YouTube, just moved around...)
( )

(X) How many new models can I ADD to the game? Is there a limit?
I've added 100+ and the game still works.

-J

Deadly Target
  • Deadly Target

Rat

• Members