Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[GTA|NFS|MP|OTHER] Widescreen Fixes Pack

1,125 replies to this topic
ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#91

Posted 27 March 2013 - 08:30 PM

QUOTE (Zera @ Thursday, Mar 28 2013, 00:04)
Really? I haven't experienced a crash with it yet, and I do use the US exe. Maybe it's because I haven't played through the whole game yet.

Yep, for example it crashes in Cesar Vialpando mission, when lowriders minigame starts. Works perfectly with EU exe though. So i ended up with multipatch as most stable fix.

Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#92

Posted 27 March 2013 - 08:45 PM Edited by SilentPL, 27 March 2013 - 10:27 PM.

The June Widescreen Fix is most likely going to feature 16:9 resolutions on 1.0 EXE though tounge.gif

</self_advertising>

Edit:
@down
Yes, I know that, but not sure if the others do.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#93

Posted 27 March 2013 - 08:53 PM

QUOTE (SilentPL @ Thursday, Mar 28 2013, 00:45)
The June Widescreen Fix is most likely going to feature 16:9 resolutions on 1.0 EXE though tounge.gif

</self_advertising>

That's why i named my fix lite, to not to do all thing you already did smile.gif

johnny404
  • johnny404

    (ノゝ∀・)~キラ☆

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2007

#94

Posted 27 March 2013 - 11:37 PM

I found a bug on the SA WS fix, just pause and go to the map and then start zooming in and out, notice anything odd?

_DK
  • _DK

    Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2009
  • Ukraine

#95

Posted 27 March 2013 - 11:45 PM

Try to zoom with PgUp/PgDown and see if you'll have this problem tounge.gif

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#96

Posted 28 March 2013 - 12:01 AM

QUOTE (Jony. @ Thursday, Mar 28 2013, 03:37)
I found a bug on the SA WS fix, just pause and go to the map and then start zooming in and out, notice anything odd?

I've included all unknown functions to patch in this release, so try to catch any other bugs like this and i'll fix them.

johnny404
  • johnny404

    (ノゝ∀・)~キラ☆

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2007

#97

Posted 28 March 2013 - 12:17 AM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Thursday, Mar 28 2013, 01:01)
QUOTE (Jony. @ Thursday, Mar 28 2013, 03:37)
I found a bug on the SA WS fix, just pause and go to the map and then start zooming in and out, notice anything odd?

I've included all unknown functions to patch in this release, so try to catch any other bugs like this and i'll fix them.

Sure... you see... theres this bug where the FOV is not working properly, giving out a Vert- space instead of Hor+ tounge.gif

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#98

Posted 28 March 2013 - 09:17 AM Edited by ThirteenAG, 28 March 2013 - 09:25 AM.

I've uploaded a new version, just menu map and radio icons fixed:
user posted image

UPD. Hm, seems like my calculations from 3/vc versions are correct afterall:
user posted image >>> user posted image

johnny404
  • johnny404

    (ノゝ∀・)~キラ☆

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2007

#99

Posted 28 March 2013 - 02:00 PM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Thursday, Mar 28 2013, 10:17)


UPD. Hm, seems like my calculations from 3/vc versions are correct afterall:
user posted image >>> user posted image

wow.gif

The FOV!

gtasadude
  • gtasadude

    Stunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Oct 2005

#100

Posted 28 March 2013 - 02:25 PM

Looking good biggrin.gif

Nhoise
  • Nhoise

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2013

#101

Posted 29 March 2013 - 01:09 AM

I just bought the GTA pack on Steam and after getting seriously annoyed at how the stretched the HUD was on high res widescreen i went searching for a fix, and i ended up here. Never thought i'd find a still active modding community but i'm really glad there is.

Tried both the GTA III and VC fix but i get these errors
user posted image

I can run the game and mess around in the menus but whenever i start/load a game it stops at about 85% of the load bar, and i have to alt+tab out to the error message.
GTA III is v1.1 / VC is v? (I'm guessing it's the newest since it's coming from Steam)
Both completely unmodded.
I'm playing on a laptop with Radeon HD 4200 512mb vcard. Screen resolution of 1366/768.

Even though it's not working for me i'd still like to say; Thank you for sharing your work with us.
I hope you can help me fix these issues i'm having.



ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#102

Posted 29 March 2013 - 04:43 AM Edited by ThirteenAG, 29 March 2013 - 10:18 AM.

If you get your games from steam, and want to use mods/fixes, first thing to do you need to replace all executables. You can find them in my IV hud installation files(use dropbox links). Use 1.0 or 1.1 for gta 3, 1.0 for vc, 1.0us hoodlum for sa(downgrade procedure might include some other things, i don't really remember). For gta3/vc i recommend to install cleo.asi also, because it's included no cd patch, to avoid any disc requirements.

Methical
  • Methical

    ★★★★★

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand

#103

Posted 29 March 2013 - 06:53 AM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Wednesday, Mar 27 2013, 20:53)
QUOTE (SilentPL @ Thursday, Mar 28 2013, 00:45)
The June Widescreen Fix is most likely going to feature 16:9 resolutions on 1.0 EXE though tounge.gif

</self_advertising>

That's why i named my fix lite, to not to do all thing you already did smile.gif

I'm confused .. Are you guys working on two different mods .. ?

Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#104

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:56 AM

QUOTE (methodunderg @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 07:53)
I'm confused .. Are you guys working on two different mods .. ?

Yes, I'm gonna release the VCS PC Widescreen Support somewhere after BETA3 release, yet ThirteenAG made his own fix. I'm helping him though.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#105

Posted 29 March 2013 - 05:19 PM

SA widescreenfix with FOV hack available for testing on gtagarage.

Zera
  • Zera

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#106

Posted 29 March 2013 - 05:37 PM

There appears to be some weird light in the sky on the sides of the screen when you're at a high speed inside a vehicle. I don't know if it's caused by another mod, can you test it over there?


Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#107

Posted 29 March 2013 - 05:43 PM

QUOTE (Zera @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 18:37)
There appears to be some weird light in the sky on the sides of the screen when you're at a high speed inside a vehicle. I don't know if it's caused by another mod, can you test it over there?

It's caused by widened FOV. Fixable, obviously tounge2.gif

Dani5ooo
  • Dani5ooo

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2009
  • Germany

#108

Posted 29 March 2013 - 06:16 PM Edited by Dani5ooo, 29 March 2013 - 06:18 PM.

QUOTE (SilentPL @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 18:43)
QUOTE (Zera @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 18:37)
There appears to be some weird light in the sky on the sides of the screen when you're at a high speed inside a vehicle. I don't know if it's caused by another mod, can you test it over there?

It's caused by widened FOV. Fixable, obviously tounge2.gif

user posted image

As you know, if you set widescreen in the PS2 version of San Andreas the cutscenes have no borders, but it cuts also a part from the screen.
With your fix it is the same.
user posted image

On a 4:3 resolution the head from Ryder isn't cut from the screen.
Now my question: Is the FOV in the cutscenes also fixable?
  • Nights744 likes this

Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#109

Posted 29 March 2013 - 06:21 PM

I guess that cutscene FOV was untouched on purpose (at least that's why I kept it untouched), because otherwise it would uncover many things which should be done offscreen.

Zera
  • Zera

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#110

Posted 29 March 2013 - 06:29 PM

QUOTE (SilentPL @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 15:21)
I guess that cutscene FOV was untouched on purpose (at least that's why I kept it untouched), because otherwise it would uncover many things which should be done offscreen.

It's weird though, that even after taking the space of the black borders, there's still stuff being cut off. Weren't the cutscenes 16:9 at all?


Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#111

Posted 29 March 2013 - 06:34 PM

They were supposed to be 16:9, but the borders are a bit off. Besides, R* forces 3d stuff to be 5:4 in widescreen (when Widescreen in Display Options is disabled). That's weird and I'm not sure what's the reason, but perhaps that's why such oddities occur.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#112

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:41 PM

QUOTE (Zera @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 21:37)
There appears to be some weird light in the sky on the sides of the screen when you're at a high speed inside a vehicle. I don't know if it's caused by another mod, can you test it over there?

I had a feeling i forgot something smile.gif Silent mentioned that problem before, but i completely forgot about it.

QUOTE
I guess that cutscene FOV was untouched on purpose (at least that's why I kept it untouched), because otherwise it would uncover many things which should be done offscreen.

That is completely correct. In previous cleo ws fixes for gta3 and vc cutscenes fov was also increased and some weird stuff can be seen during them.

Nhoise
  • Nhoise

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2013

#113

Posted 29 March 2013 - 10:51 PM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 04:43)
If you get your games from steam, and want to use mods/fixes, first thing to do you need to replace all executables. You can find them in my IV hud installation files(use dropbox links). Use 1.0 or 1.1 for gta 3, 1.0 for vc, 1.0us hoodlum for sa(downgrade procedure might include some other things, i don't really remember). For gta3/vc i recommend to install cleo.asi also, because it's included no cd patch, to avoid any disc requirements.

Yeah i already read about the extra things you have to do to mod SA but i'll try that later.
I managed to get your widescreen mod working for III and VC, gonna try to add some other ones now.
I saw all your other mods on gtagarage, very nice mods you have there, keep up the great work and thank you for you help.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#114

Posted 30 March 2013 - 12:53 PM

Sky bug was fixed, all thanks to Silent again, so redownload SA version. I will try to add screens soon, and i guess my work here is done, unless someone will found another bug smile.gif

aStiffSausage
  • aStiffSausage

    Formerly Oksu

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2010
  • Finland

#115

Posted 30 March 2013 - 01:19 PM

@ThirteenAG

Great work! Best widescreen fix done!
But, how did you fix the issue? Just make the FOV smaller at high speeds or is it completely fixed so you can set FOV really high without the white bug coming?

Performer
  • Performer

    I'M RICH, BIATCH!

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 May 2010
  • Germany

#116

Posted 30 March 2013 - 01:27 PM

QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Saturday, Mar 30 2013, 12:53)
Sky bug was fixed, all thanks to Silent again, so redownload SA version. I will try to add screens soon, and i guess my work here is done, unless someone will found another bug smile.gif

You could try to add HD resoulutions to the game without multipatch. That would be great.

QUOTE
That is completely correct. In previous cleo ws fixes for gta3 and vc cutscenes fov was also increased and some weird stuff can be seen during them.


For example?

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Soldier

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None

#117

Posted 30 March 2013 - 01:28 PM Edited by ThirteenAG, 30 March 2013 - 01:51 PM.

QUOTE (oksa8 @ Saturday, Mar 30 2013, 17:19)
@ThirteenAG

Great work! Best widescreen fix done!
But, how did you fix the issue? Just make the FOV smaller at high speeds or is it completely fixed so you can set FOV really high without the white bug coming?

That white bug shouldn't appear with FOV values used in the fix anymore, but if FOV will be increased much more than that, it will shown.

QUOTE
You could try to add HD resoulutions to the game without multipatch. That would be great.

Nah, don't wanna look at that issue, let's say it will be Silent's fix killer feature smile.gif

QUOTE
For example?

user posted image user posted image
Guess where cleo fix and where remake smile.gif With nowidescreenborders.txt those legs still visible, but that's completely another problem.

Zera
  • Zera

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2005
  • Brazil

#118

Posted 30 March 2013 - 02:02 PM

Thanks for all your work ThirteenAG and Silent. Rockstar's widescreen method was an eyesore, so it's great to finally see it fixed (it only took 8 years tounge.gif ). Well, I guess it couldn't be helped with older games such as III and VC, but at least SA should have had proper widescreen.

Anyway, if I notice any new bugs, I'll be sure to report them.




Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#119

Posted 30 March 2013 - 02:14 PM

QUOTE (Zera @ Saturday, Mar 30 2013, 15:02)
Thanks for all your work ThirteenAG and Silent. Rockstar's widescreen method was an eyesore, so it's great to finally see it fixed (it only took 8 years  tounge.gif ). Well, I guess it couldn't be helped with older games such as III and VC, but at least SA should have had proper widescreen.

Anyway, if I notice any new bugs, I'll be sure to report them.

You know what's a silly decision of R*s? WIDESCREEN option actually alters the screen to be proper for 16:9 resolutions, yet they didn't allow 16:9 resolutions in 1.0!
Still, 5:4/16:10 and all the other aspect ratios were screwed. I've been playing in 16:10 for ages and never could use Widescreen option from Display Options, it made things just way too flat.


So now, wait till June for another, enhanced fix? tounge2.gif

Kalvin
  • Kalvin

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#120

Posted 30 March 2013 - 02:34 PM

Wow, just wow. I like how you're making the HUD like the mobile versions, small but still very noticeable.

And dat FoV.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users