Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[GTA|NFS|MP|OTHER] Widescreen Fixes Pack

RW Released III Released VC Released SA Released
2,844 replies to this topic
nlgzrgn
  • nlgzrgn

    dark1337

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2014
  • Turkey

#631

Posted 25 April 2014 - 08:20 PM

Hi, I'm using your widescreen fixes for NFSU2,MW and Carbon. Everything is perfect expect HUD. Can't we make HUDs like console versions of these games (They support widecreen resolutions and don't stretch HUD at all.) I think it can be fixed if we work hard. Or, can we at least make HUD patch to center the hud at 4:3 version of desired WS resolution? (FE: 1024x768 centered hud for 1366x768) I think it's possible, because games have required widescreen files, settings, etc. things (Or, that's my thought after I looked at the exe files from HEX editor. They have WS_(anything).fng or things like WIDESCREEN_MODEHUD). I hate that unequality between console and PC. :D


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#632

Posted 25 April 2014 - 09:01 PM

I would love to see a nice hud too, but currently don't know how to accomplish that.

wip
  • wip

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2014
  • Russia

#633

Posted 26 April 2014 - 03:20 PM

Hello, ThirteenAG. Not so long ago I moved to widescreen and tried your fix remake for III (official Buka/1С localisation). It worked perfectly well. Now i'm trying Vice City (1C Russian box) and all i get is black screen with "unhandled exception" error when starting new game. Does it happen because of unsupported exe-file?


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#634

Posted 26 April 2014 - 03:23 PM

Yes, 1.0 required. But 1.0 may not work with russian fonts correctly, probably this can help, but i'm not sure.
  • wip likes this

wip
  • wip

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2014
  • Russia

#635

Posted 26 April 2014 - 04:24 PM Edited by wip, 26 April 2014 - 04:43 PM.

Well, I got "lil' sumthin' sumthin' " in my stash, so with exe v.1.0 your fix worked pretty good, although some letters are too close to each other (file in previous message worsens the issue in letter spacing). And at my resolution (1920x1080) all seemed to look a little stretched vertically. I might be seeing things, though.


CharlesVercetti
  • CharlesVercetti

    Back to the business...

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2013
  • India

#636

Posted 29 April 2014 - 10:45 AM

There is a bug with Max Payne 1 fix.

 

 Try to Pause the game,Alt+Tab out and in,and re-enter.The HUD and FoV adjust to a smaller resolution,but the game runs on the normal resoution.It corrects the issue automatically,but I want to ask whether it's a small overlook.

 

1.The comics screen looks really messed up.The buttons(play,previous,next,fast forward,etc...) are overlapped onto the comics,which disturbs the comics view IMO.

2.Cutscene borders aren't fixed yet.Do you have plans on fixing it?

3.If the Widescreen HUD.mpm wasn't made by you,then where did you get it?


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#637

Posted 29 April 2014 - 07:34 PM

There is a bug with Max Payne 1 fix.
 
 Try to Pause the game,Alt+Tab out and in,and re-enter.The HUD and FoV adjust to a smaller resolution,but the game runs on the normal resoution.It corrects the issue automatically,but I want to ask whether it's a small overlook.
 
1.The comics screen looks really messed up.The buttons(play,previous,next,fast forward,etc...) are overlapped onto the comics,which disturbs the comics view IMO.
2.Cutscene borders aren't fixed yet.Do you have plans on fixing it?
3.If the Widescreen HUD.mpm wasn't made by you,then where did you get it?

1) That's how i made it, probably there was some reason at the time comics fix was implemented.
2) What's wrong with it?
3) It's made by DrDean, you can always check previous posts in this topic.

CharlesVercetti
  • CharlesVercetti

    Back to the business...

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2013
  • India

#638

Posted 30 April 2014 - 03:12 PM

1) That's how i made it, probably there was some reason at the time comics fix was implemented.

2) What's wrong with it?
3) It's made by DrDean, you can always check previous posts in this topic.

2)Same reason as those GTA games."What's the reason of having borders if we have a widescreen monitor?"

3)Didn't he make the MP2 version?I don't find anything related to MP1 by DrDean here.

 

 Also,what about the bug I mentioned?


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#639

Posted 30 April 2014 - 04:08 PM

2)Same reason as those GTA games."What's the reason of having borders if we have a widescreen monitor?"
3)Didn't he make the MP2 version?I don't find anything related to MP1 by DrDean here.
 
 Also,what about the bug I mentioned?

2) A lot of games have borders these days. Don't have plans to do anything with the borders atm, will see.
3) He made both.

Alt-Tab thing? Can't reproduce.

Deox95
  • Deox95

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2014
  • Italy

#640

Posted 01 May 2014 - 01:51 PM

Is there a way to get this to work with the GInput mod? http://www.gtagarage...ow.php?id=24272 I'm using VIce City on Steam, and if I use the widescreen fix with this mode the game hangs while loading and I get an error.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#641

Posted 01 May 2014 - 01:57 PM

It works just fine with GInput. But it doesn't work with steam exe, you'll have to use v1.0 exe, downgrader is here.

rich-7
  • rich-7

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#642

Posted 03 May 2014 - 06:50 AM

Hello. I have a question. For NFSUG2 you say: "Change HUD_PATCH option inside nfsu2_res.ini to fix hud stretching." Okay I'd love to change it, but change to what? I tried different numbers but the hud just became really small.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#643

Posted 03 May 2014 - 09:33 AM

It can be only 1 or 0. If hud became really small - you got it. Best i can do atm.

CharlesVercetti
  • CharlesVercetti

    Back to the business...

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2013
  • India

#644

Posted 03 May 2014 - 02:51 PM

Hello. I have a question. For NFSUG2 you say: "Change HUD_PATCH option inside nfsu2_res.ini to fix hud stretching." Okay I'd love to change it, but change to what? I tried different numbers but the hud just became really small.

Mostly because they use 2D images for HUD instead of drawn by code,and I think the HUD values are stored in some EA-specific file archive.

 

I do have a EA game,the Cricket 07.It has a data archive named data.gob which stores the HUD values.I dunno whether Need For Speed games use the same algorithm though.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#645

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:26 PM

While working on a steam executable support for GUN, i found something else:

Hdgp.jpg
  • Alt likes this

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#646

Posted 05 May 2014 - 04:34 PM

And released - http://thirteenag.gi..._fixes_pack#gun
Added steam exe support, thanks Blackbird88 for tests, and FOV customization setting added to ini file.

HdS5.jpg HdS7.jpg HdS9.jpg

P.S. Gun is on sale now, as far as i can say.
  • Alt likes this

nlgzrgn
  • nlgzrgn

    dark1337

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2014
  • Turkey

#647

Posted 06 May 2014 - 06:01 PM

 

Hello. I have a question. For NFSUG2 you say: "Change HUD_PATCH option inside nfsu2_res.ini to fix hud stretching." Okay I'd love to change it, but change to what? I tried different numbers but the hud just became really small.

Mostly because they use 2D images for HUD instead of drawn by code,and I think the HUD values are stored in some EA-specific file archive.

 

I do have a EA game,the Cricket 07.It has a data archive named data.gob which stores the HUD values.I dunno whether Need For Speed games use the same algorithm though.

 

I think NFS games have a Widescreen option which had hidden/removed/corrupted on PC versions. I tried to make some hex-editing and moved TRAX thingy left like console WS (but the HUD is still stretched). Console versions present a Widescreen option on display settings. I think there must be a way to implement/enable this setting.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#648

Posted 06 May 2014 - 07:41 PM

I think there must be a way to implement/enable this setting.

Doubt that.

I tried to make some hex-editing and moved TRAX thingy left like console WS (but the HUD is still stretched). Console versions present a Widescreen option on display settings.

Actually this is interesting, i might take another look, but later.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#649

Posted 07 May 2014 - 10:39 AM

Found a way to change FOV:
Hg4k.jpg

Perhaps it will work on other NFS' too.
  • Tomasak and Mega like this

nlgzrgn
  • nlgzrgn

    dark1337

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2014
  • Turkey

#650

Posted 07 May 2014 - 05:52 PM

OK. That's what I made: (Actually nothing)

 

What happens when you swapped NORMAL_MODEHUD w/ WIDESCREEN_MODEHUD and NORMAL_MODE w/ WIDESCREEN_MODE?

Look at that TRAX box. :p (Example of the TRAX thingy that moved left)

d3ac2b325273852.jpg

7d1bef325273856.jpg

 

Another (not) interesting thing! Changed MW_LS_SPLASH.fng to WS_MW_LS_SPLASH.fng! Why the text had changed? Where were all the background?

83fef3325273857.jpg


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#651

Posted 07 May 2014 - 06:46 PM Edited by ThirteenAG, 07 May 2014 - 07:10 PM.

I think hud coordinates are stored in the separate config file, because i haven't found anything related to hud positioning in exe. Some functions which responsible for elements drawing can control only scaling. No idea where and how.

Also, about FOV thing i mentioned, it works exactly as this page says(Racer_S hack), but i have no idea how to calculate those constants properly. By just increasing default stretching values(1.15/0.5), game proportions become incorrect. So i'll add it as an option, which will be disabled by default. Don't know when though, this week or next month probably.

P.S. Almost forgot, i think i fixed that hud stretching-unstretching issue, at least didn't noticed it during the last tests.
  • Concavax and nlgzrgn like this

SaykoHimam
  • SaykoHimam

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2013
  • Turkey

#652

Posted 08 May 2014 - 06:56 AM Edited by SaykoHimam, 08 May 2014 - 06:57 AM.

Can you give any fix about this ? http://www.gtagarage...ow.php?id=24559

 

O2V1rQ.jpg


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#653

Posted 08 May 2014 - 08:06 AM

No. I'd rather wait for DK's V hud. But personally i think square radar doesn't fit in 3rd era games.

ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#654

Posted 10 May 2014 - 05:53 PM

NFS fixes was updated, more ini options to control HUD and FOV. Probably fixed flickering hud bug.

Hjeu.jpg HjeB.jpg
  • Alt, Apu889, Tadzik and 1 other like this

Apu889
  • Apu889

    【=◈‿◈=】

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 May 2010
  • None

#655

Posted 10 May 2014 - 06:39 PM

^ NFSMW too?


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#656

Posted 10 May 2014 - 06:55 PM

Yes, all of them were updated.
HjiS.jpg
  • Apu889 likes this

AtikiN
  • AtikiN

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2012
  • Ukraine

#657

Posted 10 May 2014 - 09:07 PM

I want widesreen fix for Syberia. It's possible?


nlgzrgn
  • nlgzrgn

    dark1337

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2014
  • Turkey

#658

Posted 10 May 2014 - 09:43 PM

efdca2325881896.jpg

 

Awww yea! Thanks for newer fixes! If you disable hud elements on the right side, it's perfect. ;)


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#659

Posted 11 May 2014 - 08:24 AM

I want widesreen fix for Syberia. It's possible?


Anything can happen :)

Awww yea! Thanks for newer fixes! If you disable hud elements on the right side, it's perfect. ;)

Glad you like it, i also discovered this:

int __stdcall sub_5D4B20(int a1)
{
  int result; // [email protected]

  if ( a1 == 3 )
  {
    result = (int)"HUD_Player1.fng";
  }
  else
  {
    if ( a1 == 4 )
      result = (int)"HUD_Player2.fng";
    else
      result = (int)"HUD_SingleRace.fng";
  }
  return result;
}
Definitely seems like game loads hud from external file, but no idea where those .fng files are stored.

nlgzrgn
  • nlgzrgn

    dark1337

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2014
  • Turkey

#660

Posted 11 May 2014 - 11:08 AM Edited by dark1337, 11 May 2014 - 11:09 AM.

 

I want widesreen fix for Syberia. It's possible?


Anything can happen :)

Awww yea! Thanks for newer fixes! If you disable hud elements on the right side, it's perfect. ;)

Glad you like it, i also discovered this:

int __stdcall sub_5D4B20(int a1)
{
  int result; // [email protected]

  if ( a1 == 3 )
  {
    result = (int)"HUD_Player1.fng";
  }
  else
  {
    if ( a1 == 4 )
      result = (int)"HUD_Player2.fng";
    else
      result = (int)"HUD_SingleRace.fng";
  }
  return result;
}
Definitely seems like game loads hud from external file, but no idea where those .fng files are stored.

 

 

I think they're not actual files and I think they're coded in files at GLOBAL folder. (Like GlobalMemoryFile) I memory viewed NFSMW w/ Cheat Engine and found something like this: (Look at the red text at right side)

 

2186eb325967619.jpg





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users