Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

what just happened?

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic
Flynny
  • Flynny

    Where is Jessica Hyde?

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2012
  • Chad

#1

Posted 06 March 2013 - 04:35 AM

The forums were just down as well as GTANet but when I went on downforeveryoneorjsutme.com it said the forums were up and that GTANet was up
and obviously my internet was fine as I was able to do this test smile.gif
and less members online than normal (as of when I got back on)

can someone please tell me what happened? UK or EU server crash or something like that?

thanks in advance smile.gif

Shou
  • Shou

    y

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2012
  • Jamaica
  • Best Signature 2013
    Best Signature 2012

#2

Posted 06 March 2013 - 05:02 AM

I guess it was a temporary IP Range ban in the UK or EU or maybe a UK or EU server crash like you said, everything was fine where I am.

Master of San Andreas
  • Master of San Andreas

    Leaving with a big bang, you guys rock.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2012

#3

Posted 06 March 2013 - 05:05 AM

Yeah Every thing is fine here in Asia. smile.gif

MIKON8ERISBACK
  • MIKON8ERISBACK

    My real name is Michael. #FACT.

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2011

#4

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:53 AM

Everything running as normal in Canada. smile.gif

Flynny
  • Flynny

    Where is Jessica Hyde?

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2012
  • Chad

#5

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:34 PM

k thanks guys, seems to be working fine except for a few hiccups where I have to close the tab and re-open the forums when browsing

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#6

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:36 PM

Whatever it is, it's on your end.

Adriaan
  • Adriaan

    Uncut

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • None
  • Most Helpful [GTA Series] 2012
    Most Knowledgeable [GTA Series] 2012
    Most Respected 2012
    Most Helpful 2012
    Best Returning Member 2012
    Best Contributor [GTA Series] 2012
    Best Forum Ledby 2012
    Best Moderator 2012

#7

Posted 06 March 2013 - 07:14 PM

Happened to me too at the same time period. I too checked proxies and it worked... so wasn't sure what was up.

Switched to a different ISP and suddenly it worked. The whole issue was resolved a bit later though, as it was for you. Was possibly just some DNS changes that took place, which take differing times to propagate around the world.

Tank
  • Tank

    Gangsta

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2001
  • None

#8

Posted 06 March 2013 - 07:27 PM

Thanks for letting us know.

We haven't made any DNS changes so it's probably a temporary routing issue - nothing to worry about.

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    I know you've been complaining, but you weren't ready.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Contribution Award [GTA V]

#9

Posted 06 March 2013 - 07:32 PM

QUOTE (shoumic @ Wednesday, Mar 6 2013, 05:02)
I guess it was a temporary IP Range ban in the UK or EU

That doesn't happen without warning. A ban isn't issued by a server. Probably a routing issue as Tank said.

Flynny
  • Flynny

    Where is Jessica Hyde?

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2012
  • Chad

#10

Posted 06 March 2013 - 09:50 PM

QUOTE (Ryan @ Wednesday, Mar 6 2013, 18:36)
Whatever it is, it's on your end.

I did say it may have been a UK or EU problem, so would not expect people in North America or Asia to have it, unless Canada moved turn.gif

anyway thanks tank and adriaan, I'll go with you two.
still a few problems persisting when i refresh a page and it does not really load prooperly (the spinning wheel persists) but that's not major. that might be the browser (firefox)

thanks for your help smile.gif

Adriaan
  • Adriaan

    Uncut

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • None
  • Most Helpful [GTA Series] 2012
    Most Knowledgeable [GTA Series] 2012
    Most Respected 2012
    Most Helpful 2012
    Best Returning Member 2012
    Best Contributor [GTA Series] 2012
    Best Forum Ledby 2012
    Best Moderator 2012

#11

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:16 PM

QUOTE (NateShaw92 @ Wednesday, Mar 6 2013, 23:50)
still a few problems persisting when i refresh a page and it does not really load prooperly (the spinning wheel persists) but that's not major. that might be the browser (firefox)

Does it happen with other non-GTAnet websites - too? Or is this GTAnet/GTAforums specific? Try other sites on the server and see if it happens, as well:

http://www.gtanet.com/

Flynny
  • Flynny

    Where is Jessica Hyde?

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2012
  • Chad

#12

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:18 PM Edited by NateShaw92, 06 March 2013 - 10:27 PM.

QUOTE (Adriaan @ Wednesday, Mar 6 2013, 22:16)
QUOTE (NateShaw92 @ Wednesday, Mar 6 2013, 23:50)
still a few problems persisting when i refresh a page and it does not really load prooperly (the spinning wheel persists) but that's not major. that might be the browser (firefox)

Does it happen with other websites - too? Or is this GTAnet/GTAforums specific? Try other sites on the server and see if it happens, as well:

http://www.gtanet.com/

just here

the page content loads, but it jsut has a spinning loading disc on the top tab. but the page does actually load so it is not an issue smile.gif

edit: 'Tis the browser (tra-la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la)
oh well thanks for your help smile.gif

Adriaan
  • Adriaan

    Uncut

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • None
  • Most Helpful [GTA Series] 2012
    Most Knowledgeable [GTA Series] 2012
    Most Respected 2012
    Most Helpful 2012
    Best Returning Member 2012
    Best Contributor [GTA Series] 2012
    Best Forum Ledby 2012
    Best Moderator 2012

#13

Posted 06 March 2013 - 11:02 PM

Yeah something really odd and weird is certainly going on that started for me as well. While on my computer and iPad I don't have any issues anymore, on my phone (blackberry) I'm experiencing the exact same issue as you do... just for me, it's not loading - at all!

Should be noted, that I've never had any issues before, and I connected the phone up via Wi-Fi (so it's using the exact same ISP, just like other home devices). I did a ping on my PC, and got around 200ms.

Did a ping on blackberry... and got over 1000! That's why it doesn't want to load. Even reset DNS settings on phone, same issue. Really strange and odd. Hopefully Tank can report this to the host (recently changed servers) and see if there are similar issues.

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#14

Posted 06 March 2013 - 11:16 PM

QUOTE (Adriaan @ Wednesday, Mar 6 2013, 19:02)
on my phone (blackberry) I'm experiencing the exact same issue as you do... just for me, it's not loading - at all!

Blackberry... there's your problem.

Flynny
  • Flynny

    Where is Jessica Hyde?

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2012
  • Chad

#15

Posted 07 March 2013 - 02:52 AM

QUOTE (Adriaan @ Wednesday, Mar 6 2013, 23:02)
Yeah something really odd and weird is certainly going on that started for me as well. While on my computer and iPad I don't have any issues anymore, on my phone (blackberry) I'm experiencing the exact same issue as you do... just for me, it's not loading - at all!

Should be noted, that I've never had any issues before, and I connected the phone up via Wi-Fi (so it's using the exact same ISP, just like other home devices). I did a ping on my PC, and got around 200ms.

Did a ping on blackberry... and got over 1000! That's why it doesn't want to load. Even reset DNS settings on phone, same issue. Really strange and odd. Hopefully Tank can report this to the host (recently changed servers) and see if there are similar issues.

yeah i changed my broswer to chrome and now it works fine
it was only firefox for me for some reason


theomenofficial
  • theomenofficial

    I'm back as a changed man.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2012
  • United-Kingdom

#16

Posted 07 March 2013 - 08:35 AM

I wasn't awake. sad.gif

Flynny
  • Flynny

    Where is Jessica Hyde?

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2012
  • Chad

#17

Posted 12 March 2013 - 01:51 AM

QUOTE (theomenofficial @ Thursday, Mar 7 2013, 08:35)
I wasn't awake. sad.gif

silly fool, go nocturnal tounge.gif
anyway I think this problem is solved now, probably best to lock tounge.gif

tank you all wink.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users