Photo

Wanting to learn to Script

1 reply to this topic
OldWorldGaming
  • OldWorldGaming

Player Hater

• BUSTED!

Posted 05 March 2013 - 08:49 PM

Hey guys. Apologies if this is the wrong place, but I really need some help. I know there's lots of different programming languages, Java, C++ etc; but I don't know which one to choose. I'm also unsure how the programs work. I have no knowledge of scripting, I did make a Flash game in College but I don't remember much. In Flash at least, there is a coding section as well as actually importing images, etc. Is it the same for other languages?

Say you were using Notepad+ or something to script, and wanted to make a ball bounce up and down, would you use another program to design the ball? I'm unsure how you'd actually combine an object and a string of code.

I don't suppose anyone could just give me some advice on which language would be best to start off with, and if anyone had any links to tutorials I could follow to get the basics of the program.

My dream would be to create a zombie survival game ("wow, original!"). Scripting would start off just as my own little hobby, constantly improving my skills over time. I know you'd start of small, probably making something as basic as a point-and-click game, but just getting the basics would help improve my confidence and knowledge to move onto bigger and better things.

Thanks in advance, it is much appreciated.

K^2
  • K^2

Vidi Vici Veni

• United-States
  • Most Knowledgeable [Web Development/Programming] 2013
    Most Knowledgeable [GTA Series] 2011
    Best Debater 2010

Posted 06 March 2013 - 03:58 AM