Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Official PS4 Topic

3,205 replies to this topic
Audiophile
  • Audiophile

    Soothe us with sweet lies...

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2012
  • Canada

#1591

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:47 AM

So I pre-ordered the PS4 online at EB Games Canada just now.

$470 with tax and shipping.

Not sure how launch will go considering apparently GameStop/EB are only getting an assigned amount of consoles from Sony and it's first come, first serve. Even less sure since I pre-ordered online but the console will come from their warehouse, not store so I guess I'll be fine.

Hope it doesn't release the first week of Dec. since I'll have final exams at that time at uni. I won't be able to stay home to accept the package and no one else can do it for me. Still early days so we'll see how it all goes.

Sgt. Foley
  • Sgt. Foley

    Big Homie

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 23 Oct 2011

#1592

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:56 AM

In a newspaper it said it would launch November 21st.

Gonna try to find the article.

Audiophile
  • Audiophile

    Soothe us with sweet lies...

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2012
  • Canada

#1593

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:58 AM

QUOTE (Sgt. Foley @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 03:56)
In a newspaper it said it would launch November 21st.

Gonna try to find the article.

Yeah I saw that article and then I saw another that a supplier leaked the date of Nov. 26th.

Who knows, I guess we'll see soon. Really hoping it's not the first week of Dec.

JOSEPH X
  • JOSEPH X

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008

#1594

Posted 19 June 2013 - 08:31 AM

wrong topic blush.gif

YukiEiri
  • YukiEiri

    l33t nekkid skillz...

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 May 2007

#1595

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:45 AM

Did you guys already see this?


Everything is perfect in Sonylandia.
So perfect it is almost impossible to watch. tounge.gif

•¿F¡ññ4L¡ƒ£?•
  • •¿F¡ññ4L¡ƒ£?•

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#1596

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:52 AM

QUOTE (YukiEiri @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 20:45)
Did you guys already see this?


Everything is perfect in Sonylandia.
So perfect it is almost impossible to watch. tounge.gif

Oh My gosh! I love it, I love the f*cking Sony Logo on Start-up! And I love the sound, it Reminds me of Gran Turismo on PS1.

josephene123
  • josephene123

    No

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2013

#1597

Posted 19 June 2013 - 11:48 AM

QUOTE (finn4life @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 09:52)
QUOTE (YukiEiri @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 20:45)
Did you guys already see this?


Everything is perfect in Sonylandia.
So perfect it is almost impossible to watch. tounge.gif

Oh My gosh! I love it, I love the f*cking Sony Logo on Start-up! And I love the sound, it Reminds me of Gran Turismo on PS1.

"Dude, buy this 60$ game so you can come help me out"

"Okay man! Just for you!"

bluetops
  • bluetops

    Chupacabra

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2010

#1598

Posted 19 June 2013 - 12:55 PM

QUOTE (josephene123 @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 11:48)
QUOTE (finn4life @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 09:52)
QUOTE (YukiEiri @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 20:45)
Did you guys already see this?


Everything is perfect in Sonylandia.
So perfect it is almost impossible to watch. tounge.gif

Oh My gosh! I love it, I love the f*cking Sony Logo on Start-up! And I love the sound, it Reminds me of Gran Turismo on PS1.

"Dude, buy this 60$ game so you can come help me out"

"Okay man! Just for you!"

Will is a rich scumbag without a proper house lol.

Amazing video, but only shows the connected stuff. Well, they haven't showed any online play before anyway so it's fine smile.gif

karaokequeen3
  • karaokequeen3

    O.A.P.

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2002

#1599

Posted 19 June 2013 - 01:12 PM

I must add Sarah Greene to my PSN friend list.

iNero
  • iNero

    Black Tiger Sex Machine

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2012
  • Germany

#1600

Posted 19 June 2013 - 02:01 PM

Hands-on article :

http://www.eurogamer...h-playstation-4


that doesnt sound good at all.. (to me)

- Warframe did run 20FPS
- Killzone 25-30FPS and huge Input Lag
- 30 FPS seems to become the standard again
(-) the leaked BF 4 Alpha Files show 720p with low-high settings for Next Gen


There is time to optimize but tbh, I doubt that these game will magicly be 100% better.

Especially Warframe which can be played 1080p@60FPS on almost every rig...

Ill wait till release but 30fps is already a reason to not get a Next Gen, to me at least... especially if its unstable... everyone who has ever played FC3 on current gen knows how horrible it is.

•¿F¡ññ4L¡ƒ£?•
  • •¿F¡ññ4L¡ƒ£?•

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#1601

Posted 19 June 2013 - 02:24 PM

Latency between frames is just as important as FPS. If the latency is good, 30FPS is fine.

iNero
  • iNero

    Black Tiger Sex Machine

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2012
  • Germany

#1602

Posted 19 June 2013 - 02:58 PM

30 FPS in a shooter is horrible. no matter what...

you cant get the responsivness and crisp controlls as you would have when its running on 60 FPS...

Booze
  • Booze

    Backlashing with a bullet full of love

  • Angels of Death MC
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2008
  • Netherlands

#1603

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:41 PM

(About Driveclub):
QUOTE
It is noted that 60fps is something the team strives for, but no promises can be made


F*ck that. Of course promises can be made, it's about priorities. Especially for a racing game, you should prioritize framerate and responsiveness. First, make sure it runs at 60 fps, then try to spruce up the visuals. If a particular effect causes the framerate to drop below the targe, DON'T USE IT.

And then there's people saying that not a lot of graphical improvements can be made anymore on videogames nowadays. Then why does Minecraft still look like that? Why is it when I'm building a map with Halo's forge mode that if forces me to stop building because I've used up the memory? Why is there awesome stuff like instant replay and a video editor in GTA IV on PC, but not on consoles? And why is 60 fps still such an elusive goal? Seems to me, we're a good few generations off from the point of "no graphical improvements possible anymore".

Trund
  • Trund

    I'm all of ach fo her

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2004

#1604

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:49 PM

All games are still very early alpha versions though. It's nothing shocking yet, and 30fps is fine if you play with a controller, with keyboard/mouse it's a different story.

No one knows the specs of the dev kits used either. Are they the final hardware? No one knows that. At least the games did run on dev kits. lol.gif

UtricularEwe001
  • UtricularEwe001

    I am a Pirate

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012
  • None

#1605

Posted 19 June 2013 - 05:56 PM

QUOTE
User Gennosuke asked on today’s EU store post whether or not he’ll be able to play online in Romania. Fred Dutton answered apologetically.

“Unfortunately at this time gamers in countries which do not have a Store cannot access online multi-player features. However, we are considering every measure to offer PlayStation Store services to these territories as soon as possible. To clarify, the affected territories are: Bahrain, Lebanon, Romania, Oman, Slovakia, Malta, Cyprus and Iceland.”

As this is the EU-specific store, there’s likely to be other areas where this is an issue


http://www.gamesrevi...ithout-a-store/

confused.gif

Happyness
  • Happyness

    Li'l G Loc

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2013

#1606

Posted 19 June 2013 - 05:59 PM

There goes my plan of getting a ps4.

I guess that I eill build my own PC.

AndyGanteks
  • AndyGanteks

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005
  • Jamaica
  • Contribution Award [Sports]
    Most Skilled Player 2013
    Best Event 2013 "GTAF Gang League 2013"
    Most Valuable Player 2012
    Best Contributor [Multiplayer] 2012
    Most Valuable Player 2011
    Winner of World Cup 2010 Prediction League
    Best Event 2010 "GTAF Gang League 2010"
    Most Valuable Player 2010
    Best Team Player 2010

#1607

Posted 19 June 2013 - 06:03 PM Edited by AndyGanteks, 19 June 2013 - 06:15 PM.

QUOTE (UtricularEwe001 @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 19:56)
QUOTE
User Gennosuke asked on today’s EU store post whether or not he’ll be able to play online in Romania. Fred Dutton answered apologetically.

“Unfortunately at this time gamers in countries which do not have a Store cannot access online multi-player features. However, we are considering every measure to offer PlayStation Store services to these territories as soon as possible. To clarify, the affected territories are: Bahrain, Lebanon, Romania, Oman, Slovakia, Malta, Cyprus and Iceland.”

As this is the EU-specific store, there’s likely to be other areas where this is an issue


http://www.gamesrevi...ithout-a-store/

confused.gif

If i recall it well, only around 20ish countries have their PSN Store/region/thing...which is equal to the amount of countries where XBOX 1 will work....which means....

Eh...

right?

'Course assuming it's all not fake...

DarthShinobi
  • DarthShinobi

    The fall is FAST and STEEP

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2012
  • United-States

#1608

Posted 19 June 2013 - 06:08 PM

But since it isn't region locked couldn't they just get one from England or something?

Trund
  • Trund

    I'm all of ach fo her

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2004

#1609

Posted 19 June 2013 - 06:17 PM

QUOTE (AndyGanteks @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 19:03)
QUOTE (UtricularEwe001 @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 19:56)
QUOTE
User Gennosuke asked on today’s EU store post whether or not he’ll be able to play online in Romania. Fred Dutton answered apologetically.

“Unfortunately at this time gamers in countries which do not have a Store cannot access online multi-player features. However, we are considering every measure to offer PlayStation Store services to these territories as soon as possible. To clarify, the affected territories are: Bahrain, Lebanon, Romania, Oman, Slovakia, Malta, Cyprus and Iceland.”

As this is the EU-specific store, there’s likely to be other areas where this is an issue


http://www.gamesrevi...ithout-a-store/

confused.gif

If i recall it well, only around 20ish countries have their PSN Store/region/thing...which is equal to the amount of countries where XBOX 1 will work....which means....

Eh...

'Course assuming it's all not fake...

But Xbox One games don't work period (also for Singleplayer) if you are in an unsupported region! Plus, you can always create an account for a different country, it was no hassle on the PS3 and it most likely will work on the PS4 as well, and Plus Membership cards can be ordered online as well.

iNero
  • iNero

    Black Tiger Sex Machine

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2012
  • Germany

#1610

Posted 19 June 2013 - 06:18 PM

QUOTE (AndyGanteks @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 20:03)
QUOTE (UtricularEwe001 @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 19:56)
QUOTE
User Gennosuke asked on today’s EU store post whether or not he’ll be able to play online in Romania. Fred Dutton answered apologetically.

“Unfortunately at this time gamers in countries which do not have a Store cannot access online multi-player features. However, we are considering every measure to offer PlayStation Store services to these territories as soon as possible. To clarify, the affected territories are: Bahrain, Lebanon, Romania, Oman, Slovakia, Malta, Cyprus and Iceland.”

As this is the EU-specific store, there’s likely to be other areas where this is an issue


http://www.gamesrevi...ithout-a-store/

confused.gif

If i recall it well, only around 20ish countries have their PSN Store/region/thing...which is equal to the amount of countries where XBOX 1 will work....which means....

Eh...

right?

'Course assuming it's all not fake...

Xbox wont work at all in these Countries.

You can still play SP on PS4 though

AndyGanteks
  • AndyGanteks

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005
  • Jamaica
  • Contribution Award [Sports]
    Most Skilled Player 2013
    Best Event 2013 "GTAF Gang League 2013"
    Most Valuable Player 2012
    Best Contributor [Multiplayer] 2012
    Most Valuable Player 2011
    Winner of World Cup 2010 Prediction League
    Best Event 2010 "GTAF Gang League 2010"
    Most Valuable Player 2010
    Best Team Player 2010

#1611

Posted 19 June 2013 - 06:25 PM

QUOTE (Trund @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 20:17)
Plus, you can always create an account for a different country, it was no hassle on the PS3 and it most likely will work on the PS4 as well, and Plus Membership cards can be ordered online as well.

Yes, thats what im not sure & worried about. If they do IP checking of some sort to see if you're in a region which has a store, then that's that, but if its the same way as on the PS3, then it's all good.

kudoboi
  • kudoboi

    HI

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2009

#1612

Posted 19 June 2013 - 07:05 PM

so that means that unless you are from these countries, you can't play MP? well that sucks
http://en.wikipedia....re#Availability

Trund
  • Trund

    I'm all of ach fo her

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2004

#1613

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:10 PM

QUOTE (AndyGanteks @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 19:25)
QUOTE (Trund @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 20:17)
Plus, you can always create an account for a different country, it was no hassle on the PS3 and it most likely will work on the PS4 as well, and Plus Membership cards can be ordered online as well.

Yes, thats what im not sure & worried about. If they do IP checking of some sort to see if you're in a region which has a store, then that's that, but if its the same way as on the PS3, then it's all good.

I don't think they do this, they never did it on the PS3. The only thing that could happen is that you get kicked due to lag if the servers are too far away, or that some developers decide to let people not play if they're out of a region, but I can't see something like this happen for the main PSN Network.

AndyGanteks
  • AndyGanteks

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005
  • Jamaica
  • Contribution Award [Sports]
    Most Skilled Player 2013
    Best Event 2013 "GTAF Gang League 2013"
    Most Valuable Player 2012
    Best Contributor [Multiplayer] 2012
    Most Valuable Player 2011
    Winner of World Cup 2010 Prediction League
    Best Event 2010 "GTAF Gang League 2010"
    Most Valuable Player 2010
    Best Team Player 2010

#1614

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:16 PM

Yes, mrpain, those, assuming my suspicions are true.

@Trund - Well, seeing the latest X1 news, nothing surprises me anymore. We'll just have to wait and see when it's out i guess.

nigelhere9901
  • nigelhere9901

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2013

#1615

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:18 PM

QUOTE (iNero @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 14:01)
Ill wait till release but 30fps is already a reason to not get a Next Gen, to me at least... especially if its unstable... everyone who has ever played FC3 on current gen knows how horrible it is.

Frame rate never increased whenever a new generation of console hardware arrived, instead, resolution and graphical fidelity did along with other incentives such as physics and more use of RAM and compute workloads.

Expecting frame rate to increase whenever a new generation of console is releasing is not what a smart person would do.

One more thing, Far Cry 3 does NOT run at a consistent 30FPS. It has an average of 24FPS and suffers from dips often. It was a complete nightmare on my PS3.

30FPS is fine for a controller, not for a mouse and keyboard. 45FPS is the minimum I prefer for FPSes on PC. But on consoles, I'd much rather have a locked 30FPS for FPSes. Spot on Trund.

iNero
  • iNero

    Black Tiger Sex Machine

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2012
  • Germany

#1616

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:35 PM

QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 23:18)
QUOTE (iNero @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 14:01)
Ill wait till release but 30fps is already a reason to not get a Next Gen, to me at least... especially if its unstable... everyone who has ever played FC3 on current gen knows how horrible it is.

Frame rate never increased whenever a new generation of console hardware arrived, instead, resolution and graphical fidelity did along with other incentives such as physics and more use of RAM and compute workloads.

Expecting frame rate to increase whenever a new generation of console is releasing is not what a smart person would do.

One more thing, Far Cry 3 does NOT run at a consistent 30FPS. It has an average of 24FPS and suffers from dips often. It was a complete nightmare on my PS3.

30FPS is fine for a controller, not for a mouse and keyboard. 45FPS is the minimum I prefer for FPSes on PC. But on consoles, I'd much rather have a locked 30FPS for FPSes. Spot on Trund.

A smart person would know the facts and wouldnt say that resolution gets better...

most Games today run sub HD. At the start of the 360 and PS3, Game did run 720p or even 1080p on PS3. Now they run 680p like RDR on PS3...

nigelhere9901
  • nigelhere9901

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2013

#1617

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:55 PM

QUOTE (iNero @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 21:35)
QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 23:18)
QUOTE (iNero @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 14:01)
Ill wait till release but 30fps is already a reason to not get a Next Gen, to me at least... especially if its unstable... everyone who has ever played FC3 on current gen knows how horrible it is.

Frame rate never increased whenever a new generation of console hardware arrived, instead, resolution and graphical fidelity did along with other incentives such as physics and more use of RAM and compute workloads.

Expecting frame rate to increase whenever a new generation of console is releasing is not what a smart person would do.

One more thing, Far Cry 3 does NOT run at a consistent 30FPS. It has an average of 24FPS and suffers from dips often. It was a complete nightmare on my PS3.

30FPS is fine for a controller, not for a mouse and keyboard. 45FPS is the minimum I prefer for FPSes on PC. But on consoles, I'd much rather have a locked 30FPS for FPSes. Spot on Trund.

A smart person would know the facts and wouldnt say that resolution gets better...

most Games today run sub HD. At the start of the 360 and PS3, Game did run 720p or even 1080p on PS3. Now they run 680p like RDR on PS3...

Are you implying that the resolution of PS360 games is still lower than the PS2/XBOX games'.
Like I said, frame rates don't increase, resolution and other things do.

Here is a list of games and their rendering resolutions. http://beyond3d.com/...ead.php?t=46241
The majority of the games run at 720p native.

iNero
  • iNero

    Black Tiger Sex Machine

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2012
  • Germany

#1618

Posted 19 June 2013 - 10:06 PM

What do you want me to tell now?

give me such a list sorted by date... CoD even runs only at 600p.

and everything under 720p is sub HD...

games on current gen started with 720p. now we are sub HD

if you really think that they will increase it from 1080p to an even higher resolution...

BF4 still runs 720p...

redx165
  • redx165

    Making the GTA fanboys dance

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2012
  • None

#1619

Posted 19 June 2013 - 11:03 PM

QUOTE (iNero @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 22:06)
What do you want me to tell now?

give me such a list sorted by date... CoD even runs only at 600p.

and everything under 720p is sub HD...

games on current gen started with 720p. now we are sub HD

if you really think that they will increase it from 1080p to an even higher resolution...

BF4 still runs 720p...

From what I heard BF4 is suppose to be 1080p 60fps on PS4. If that's true Call of Duty is finish.

iNero
  • iNero

    Black Tiger Sex Machine

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2012
  • Germany

#1620

Posted 19 June 2013 - 11:05 PM

QUOTE (redx165 @ Thursday, Jun 20 2013, 01:03)
QUOTE (iNero @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 22:06)
What do you want me to tell now?

give me such a list sorted by date... CoD even runs only at 600p.

and everything under 720p is sub HD...

games on current gen started with 720p. now we are sub HD

if you really think that they will increase it from 1080p to an even higher resolution...

BF4 still runs 720p...

From what I heard BF4 is suppose to be 1080p 60fps on PS4. If that's true Call of Duty is finish.

I know. Thats what everyone thinks. But DICE did not mention the Resolution on any vid.

The leaked Next Settings from the PC Alpha FIles say its 720p with low-high settings and many graphic features are disabled. Posted them in the BF4 Thread




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users