Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA SA remodeled (only a project)

20 replies to this topic
Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#1

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:40 PM Edited by Rex21712, 15 January 2013 - 01:29 PM.

RSA (Remodeled San Andreas)
Hi, I want to remodel GTA SA and later Vice City (or vice versa) and for people to take me seriously because I am a noob I leave a picture:
user posted image
This part is of LAn (Los Santos North) and the name of the model is staples_lan.dff
It's only a example, a little bit of the map
and i know that the progress is too slow so, I decide to post this to find help or support sad.gif to form team and start seriously
with the project. turn.gif


Thanks tounge.gif

But now I begin with a new one
(not GTA:SA) check the look down quotes.

AB0333
  • AB0333

    ___________

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2009

#2

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:33 PM

That looks fancy. icon14.gif

Seems you got skills, but why don't you use them for something better? I mean, what you're doing now is cool, but takes lots of time and it's almost hardly noticeable. Why not do something better, example, making a whole new map? Why not use your time for something better? HD models without HD textures are nothing anyways. confused.gif
Also, I suggest re-sizing those pics a bit, or giving links to them, they stretch the page, looks very uncomfortable.

ALMOST610
  • ALMOST610

    Have you driven a Ford... Lately?

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2009
  • Australia

#3

Posted 08 January 2013 - 03:22 AM

It seems like you are wasting alot of memory on all those useless squares, an open flat car park area should not need a couple hundred polys for well what is essentially nothing.

Who would not a road that would make the game lag, try to be more efficient.

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#4

Posted 12 January 2013 - 05:19 PM

QUOTE (ALMOST610 @ Tuesday, Jan 8 2013, 03:22)
It seems like you are wasting alot of memory on all those useless squares, an open flat car park area should not need a couple hundred polys for well what is essentially nothing.

Who would not a road that would make the game lag, try to be more efficient.

Yes that its true, but the HD models needs more polygons to be more defined, if not, download a model of a car well modeled of GTA IV / GTA SA and look at the number of the polygons.

My computer it's a scrap, mainly if trying to use GTAIV and work, most of the serious lag due to high load map and high polygon count models and then the graphics engine
 
So the lag depends on your computer and the level you want to bring the game

Thaks.

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#5

Posted 12 January 2013 - 05:21 PM

QUOTE (AB0333 @ Monday, Jan 7 2013, 17:33)
That looks fancy. icon14.gif

Seems you got skills, but why don't you use them for something better? I mean, what you're doing now is cool, but takes lots of time and it's almost hardly noticeable. Why not do something better, example, making a whole new map? Why not use your time for something better? HD models without HD textures are nothing anyways. confused.gif
Also, I suggest re-sizing those pics a bit, or giving links to them, they stretch the page, looks very uncomfortable.

Mmmmm what you propose to me, have you got an idea?

AB0333
  • AB0333

    ___________

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2009

#6

Posted 12 January 2013 - 06:52 PM

I dunno, start making your own map. Here you have 100 level design ideas, maybe you'll get inspired by some of them, take a look, give it a shot.

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#7

Posted 13 January 2013 - 01:17 AM

QUOTE (AB0333 @ Saturday, Jan 12 2013, 18:52)
I dunno, start making your own map. Here you have 100 level design ideas, maybe you'll get inspired by some of them, take a look, give it a shot.

Thaks but i want to do it realistic, so I decide to start dowloading Google earth and and set parts of miami for my project (as a model for Vice City) but I have a big problem, i don't know how to program IDE parts to make traffic and main.scm for put vehicles and events... :S sad.gif

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    PingPang

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None

#8

Posted 13 January 2013 - 04:20 AM Edited by Frank.s, 13 January 2013 - 04:29 AM.

QUOTE (Rex21712 @ Saturday, Jan 12 2013, 17:19)
QUOTE (ALMOST610 @ Tuesday, Jan 8 2013, 03:22)
It seems like you are wasting alot of memory on all those useless squares, an open flat car park area should not need a couple hundred polys for well what is essentially nothing.Who would not a road that would make the game lag, try to be more efficient.
Yes that its true, but the HD models needs more polygons to be more defined, if not, download a model of a car well modeled of GTA IV / GTA SA and look at the number of the polygons.
You're missing the point, you've used loads of faces/polys needlessly, you could get the same level of detail in your "HD" carpark with 1/5th of the amount of polys used. Loads of polys are being added needlessly.

QUOTE
but the HD models needs more polygons to be more defined
Nope, it's possible to make a carpark model in higher definition than the one you made by using half as many polys as you made.

QUOTE
try to be more efficient.
This. icon14.gif

Also, lol @ you talking down to ALMOST610 when it's actually the other way around.

QUOTE
i don't know how to program IDE parts to make traffic and main.scm for put vehicles and events... :S
Ped/Vehicle paths are easy on SA, if you make a new SA map mod (from scratch, removing SA) then i can do the vehicle+ped paths for you. smile.gif I know i probably sounded like an arse at the start of this post but that's because i wanna be harsh on crap mods and help good mods succeed.

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#9

Posted 13 January 2013 - 12:55 PM

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Sunday, Jan 13 2013, 04:20)
QUOTE (Rex21712 @ Saturday, Jan 12 2013, 17:19)
QUOTE (ALMOST610 @ Tuesday, Jan 8 2013, 03:22)
It seems like you are wasting alot of memory on all those useless squares, an open flat car park area should not need a couple hundred polys for well what is essentially nothing.Who would not a road that would make the game lag, try to be more efficient.
Yes that its true, but the HD models needs more polygons to be more defined, if not, download a model of a car well modeled of GTA IV / GTA SA and look at the number of the polygons.
You're missing the point, you've used loads of faces/polys needlessly, you could get the same level of detail in your "HD" carpark with 1/5th of the amount of polys used. Loads of polys are being added needlessly.

QUOTE
but the HD models needs more polygons to be more defined
Nope, it's possible to make a carpark model in higher definition than the one you made by using half as many polys as you made.

QUOTE
try to be more efficient.
This. icon14.gif

Also, lol @ you talking down to ALMOST610 when it's actually the other way around.

QUOTE
i don't know how to program IDE parts to make traffic and main.scm for put vehicles and events... :S
Ped/Vehicle paths are easy on SA, if you make a new SA map mod (from scratch, removing SA) then i can do the vehicle+ped paths for you. smile.gif I know i probably sounded like an arse at the start of this post but that's because i wanna be harsh on crap mods and help good mods succeed.

Mmmm it's sound interesting, can you teach me to do "more efficieint" and "LOW poly HD models" ?maybe, we can do a mod...
I think in Miami map or something like this

PD: Isn't a sarcasm biggrin.gif

AB0333
  • AB0333

    ___________

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2009

#10

Posted 14 January 2013 - 11:15 AM

QUOTE (Rex21712)
can you teach me to do "more efficieint" and "LOW poly HD models"

By saying 'efficient', they meant making good looking models with small number of vertex/polys. Surplus of polys won't bring anything - except making game slower and laggy.
There's no need for ultimate intelligency to understand that - keep making nice models, but keep number of vertex low as possible.

Example, you can make one single road two ways:
First way is too high poly road, and second to make same road, make it look equally good, but with 'normal' number of polygons. The one with more polys won't look much better than the one with less.
Shortly, surplus of polys doesn't mean HD. You can make low poly road look HD.

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#11

Posted 14 January 2013 - 01:54 PM

QUOTE (AB0333 @ Monday, Jan 14 2013, 11:15)
QUOTE (Rex21712)
can you teach me to do "more efficieint" and "LOW poly HD models"

By saying 'efficient', they meant making good looking models with small number of vertex/polys. Surplus of polys won't bring anything - except making game slower and laggy.
There's no need for ultimate intelligency to understand that - keep making nice models, but keep number of vertex low as possible.

Example, you can make one single road two ways:
First way is too high poly road, and second to make same road, make it look equally good, but with 'normal' number of polygons. The one with more polys won't look much better than the one with less.
Shortly, surplus of polys doesn't mean HD. You can make low poly road look HD.

Mmmm ok so example, 1 piece of road = 2 poligons, thats you mean , no?
But with mountains? it needs more poligons no?

AB0333
  • AB0333

    ___________

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2009

#12

Posted 14 January 2013 - 02:35 PM Edited by AB0333, 14 January 2013 - 02:37 PM.

Lol, well, if the road is straight, without curves, one polygon is enough.

About mountain, you can make curvy road, along with terrain, then split it into parts if needed (one object must be smaller than a grind in 3ds max to work properly, without COL bugs), and import into game. One object (.dff/.col) must have below 2000 vertex (5000 faces), else the game will crash.

Off-topic: Resize your image in signature before mods disable it. Maximum resolution is 500x150.

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#13

Posted 14 January 2013 - 02:38 PM

QUOTE (AB0333 @ Monday, Jan 14 2013, 14:35)
Lol, well, if the road is straight, without curves, one polygon is enough.

About mountain, you can make curvy road, along with terrain, then split it into parts if needed (one object must be smaller than a grind in 3ds max to work properly, without COL bugs), and import into game. One object (.dff/.col) must have below 2000 vertex (5000 faces), else the game will crash.

I use Zmodeler , and if you excced this factor? (5000 faces) you can increase the stream memory, or not?

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    PingPang

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None

#14

Posted 14 January 2013 - 03:27 PM Edited by Frank.s, 14 January 2013 - 03:30 PM.

QUOTE
Off-topic: Resize your image in signature before mods disable it. Maximum resolution is 500x150.
+1


Here, i edited the pic to make it fit within GTAF's size limits and added a fade effect.

user posted image

CODE
[IMG]http://i.imgur.com/wPU5P.png[/IMG]

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#15

Posted 14 January 2013 - 03:51 PM

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Monday, Jan 14 2013, 15:27)
QUOTE
Off-topic: Resize your image in signature before mods disable it. Maximum resolution is 500x150.
+1


Here, i edited the pic to make it fit within GTAF's size limits and added a fade effect.

user posted image

CODE
[IMG]http://i.imgur.com/wPU5P.png[/IMG]

Oh, thaks biggrin.gif

AB0333
  • AB0333

    ___________

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2009

#16

Posted 14 January 2013 - 05:49 PM

Nice one, Frank, looks sexy. icon14.gif

Zmodeler is OK. Yeah, the limit is 5000 faces, and if you overpass it, the game will crash.
However, there is a program named Limit Adjuster. You can increase faces limit using it, although I suggest you not to use it, because it's safer to keep limits as they are in the original game. San Andreas was designed for maximum of about 5000 faces, that is its natural limit, and if you ask me, it shouldn't be touched.

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#17

Posted 15 January 2013 - 01:26 PM

QUOTE (AB0333 @ Monday, Jan 14 2013, 17:49)
Nice one, Frank, looks sexy. icon14.gif

Zmodeler is OK. Yeah, the limit is 5000 faces, and if you overpass it, the game will crash.
However, there is a program named Limit Adjuster. You can increase faces limit using it, although I suggest you not to use it, because it's safer to keep limits as they are in the original game. San Andreas was designed for maximum of about 5000 faces, that is its natural limit, and if you ask me, it shouldn't be touched.

Mmmm ok, if it's unsafely tio work i won't touch it smile.gif
Nice, I begin with "a new project" , its a map completly created from scratch, I will try to do vice city 2 or something inspiring me in Miami (but the map will be small compared with the real), now I have 2 borderlands (not maped) and today I will do other 2.
And obiviously they are LOW poly models, (20x20 surface)
AlthoughI need other modders to help me programming and other thinks, so anyone are interested?

AB0333
  • AB0333

    ___________

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2009

#18

Posted 15 January 2013 - 01:30 PM

Good luck on your project.

Well, I guess you'll first have to show some progress to attract people. Nobody wants to put hard work in a mod that isn't stable.

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#19

Posted 15 January 2013 - 02:56 PM

QUOTE (AB0333 @ Tuesday, Jan 15 2013, 13:30)
Good luck on your project.

Well, I guess you'll first have to show some progress to attract people. Nobody wants to put hard work in a mod that isn't stable.

yah, I know it, I will do it when the map was a little advanced
Thanks for all your advices

AB0333
  • AB0333

    ___________

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2009

#20

Posted 15 January 2013 - 04:23 PM

No problem, man, any time. If you need anything, feel free to ask me. smile.gif

Rex21712
  • Rex21712

    Rex 21

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2012

#21

Posted 16 January 2013 - 02:34 PM

QUOTE (AB0333 @ Tuesday, Jan 15 2013, 16:23)
No problem, man, any time. If you need anything, feel free to ask me. smile.gif

Hey, I begin with a big beach and I want to know that what is better, more little piece of maps or less large pieces




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users