Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Screen goes black unexpectedly

17 replies to this topic
ElPaisa
  • ElPaisa

    GFX Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2011
  • Mexico

#1

Posted 31 December 2012 - 03:44 AM

Hello guys, well i just recently did a clean install of Windows 7 Ultimate (Legit) on my 3 year old Acer, and well everything started to run perfectly installed some programs, but then the screen just went black and i couldn't get it to say turn on again, even though the power light was on and i could hear my facebook chat notification sound. Do you know what could be causing this issue? It never happened before! Not even after i installed the same Windows 7 on Windows vista about 7-8 months ago! and i know it has nothing to do with my visual card or fan because the PC isn't getting too hot and i dont play too powerful games on my PC! i dont even have any games installed other than the default ones, any help would be nice, thanks. icon14.gif

Girish
  • Girish

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India

#2

Posted 31 December 2012 - 04:31 AM

What happens when you hard reboot the system? Does the screen come back on then? If yes, at what point does it go black again - before the login screen or after it?

ElPaisa
  • ElPaisa

    GFX Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2011
  • Mexico

#3

Posted 31 December 2012 - 04:38 AM

Yeah, the screen turns on again and everything works, ad then after 20 minutes, 15 minutes to an hour , the screen will go black again. It doesn't have a consistent time within the reboot and when it goes black

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None

#4

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:16 AM

Try a different monitor

Narcis_speed6
  • Narcis_speed6

    The Saint

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2008

#5

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:26 AM

Same thing happened when I installed windows 7 on my Acer laptop, turns out it was some power saving option that made it go into hibernate at certain times.

ElPaisa
  • ElPaisa

    GFX Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2011
  • Mexico

#6

Posted 31 December 2012 - 01:28 PM

QUOTE (Narcis_speed6 @ Monday, Dec 31 2012, 02:26)
Same thing happened when I installed windows 7 on my Acer laptop, turns out it was some power saving option that made it go into hibernate at certain times.

How did you fix it? I just went and changed the settings in the power options to never sleep or dim the display, but there isn't anything about hibernation?

Narcis_speed6
  • Narcis_speed6

    The Saint

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2008

#7

Posted 31 December 2012 - 01:34 PM

QUOTE (ElMafias @ Monday, Dec 31 2012, 13:28)
QUOTE (Narcis_speed6 @ Monday, Dec 31 2012, 02:26)
Same thing happened when I installed windows 7 on my Acer laptop, turns out it was some power saving option that made it go into hibernate at certain times.

How did you fix it? I just went and changed the settings in the power options to never sleep or dim the display, but there isn't anything about hibernation?

Do you still have the issue? check the "put computer to sleep" option.

ElPaisa
  • ElPaisa

    GFX Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2011
  • Mexico

#8

Posted 31 December 2012 - 01:45 PM Edited by ElMafias, 31 December 2012 - 05:17 PM.

Well, it hasn't turned off at all, and i set that to never. but i got basketball practice in 20 minutes so i'll leave the computer on and wee what happens when i get back! Thanks! icon14.gif im going to edit this to tell you if it worked or not, so please check back at about noon central time! if you can of course! if you cant, thanks for the help! cookie.gif
EDIT: I got back and it was still on! Hopefully it's fixed
EDIT2: The screen went back off again! like a couple of minutes ago

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None

#9

Posted 31 December 2012 - 10:02 PM

The power save modes should only kick in when the system is idle. So if you screen is going black while you're doing something then it shouldn't be the power save options.

ElPaisa
  • ElPaisa

    GFX Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2011
  • Mexico

#10

Posted 31 December 2012 - 10:07 PM

Yeah, the screen only seems to go black while I'm using it, it goes to sleep mode,because I close the lid and waited for like 3-5 minutes and I turned it on again. But then I stop using it and its fine!

Narcis_speed6
  • Narcis_speed6

    The Saint

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2008

#11

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:05 PM

Too bad that didn't got it fixed, what are your temps? (both idle and games)

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None

#12

Posted 01 January 2013 - 02:48 AM

This is a laptop?
How about some details to the system to make it easier to help you better.

ElPaisa
  • ElPaisa

    GFX Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2011
  • Mexico

#13

Posted 01 January 2013 - 02:55 AM

Well i dont know about the temperature, but i know it doesnt heat up that much, and well i havnt played, nor installed any games, the only programs i have are Photoshop CS6, Google Chrome, and Spotify. none of those programs make a huge difference when it comes to temperature. And right now i'm not home but i will check and update this once i get back.

Shiva.
  • Shiva.

    Formerly shiva s

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2011

#14

Posted 01 January 2013 - 03:11 AM Edited by shiva s, 01 January 2013 - 03:21 AM.

(Sorry if I am acting weird.)

Can you see the mouse curson atleast or it has vanished too?

ElPaisa
  • ElPaisa

    GFX Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2011
  • Mexico

#15

Posted 01 January 2013 - 10:09 AM

The screen just goes *puff* black screen! then i have to close the lid down and wait about 3 minutes for it to shut down/go in sleep mode completly then i keep doing what i was doing, and no i dont see the cursor. Here are the specs
Processor: Genuine Intel®CPU U2700 @1.30GHz
1.30 GHz
RAM: 2.00 GB
System Type: 32-bit

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None

#16

Posted 02 January 2013 - 12:59 AM

Does this happen when it is plugged in or unplugged or both?
What is the make and model number?

ElPaisa
  • ElPaisa

    GFX Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2011
  • Mexico

#17

Posted 29 January 2013 - 05:09 PM

I just updates to windows 8! With the offer for about 30 bucks and the problem is gone. Thank you for everything

ElPaisa
  • ElPaisa

    GFX Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2011
  • Mexico

#18

Posted 25 May 2013 - 04:53 PM

Sorry to bump the old topic, but the problem showed up again! I thought it was windows 8 and so I then put windows 7 on it, but the problem kept going on for some reason! And no, it hasn't gotten overheated or anything!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users