Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA III Steam & windows 8 error

17 replies to this topic
onetwo27
  • onetwo27

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2012

#1

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:51 PM

Okay so i recently purchased the Steam GTA bundle and i downloaded GTA III first and started it and it gave me a error saying

unhandled exception c0000005
At address 00630000

And this is my config

Intel i7 2600
GTX 570
Windows 8
12gigs of ram
1tb hdd
Steam

Please help me out. Want to play this game. The worse part is GTA 2 runs fine bored.gif


P.S.

Have tried all the possible methods like compatibility mode, adding it in DEP.

Thanks in advance

mat9461
  • mat9461

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2010

#2

Posted 31 December 2012 - 03:02 AM Edited by mat9461, 31 December 2012 - 04:54 AM.

today I also bought GTA III and vice city I am getting the exact same error on the steam version

my specs:

AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
16gb of ram
1TB hard drive

GTA 3 shows: unhandled exception c0000005
At address 00630000

but vice city shows: unhandled exception c0000005
At address 006f5330

could someone help me too.

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#3

Posted 31 December 2012 - 02:34 PM

I see that you are using Windows 8. Try changing the compatibility mode to Windows XP Service Pack 3

onetwo27
  • onetwo27

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2012

#4

Posted 31 December 2012 - 02:37 PM

did that it didnt work

mat9461
  • mat9461

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2010

#5

Posted 31 December 2012 - 05:08 PM

that didn't even worked for me too.

Міro
  • Міro

    Time Killa™

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009
  • None
  • GTANet Contribution Award [Newbie Guide]
    Most Improved 2010

#6

Posted 31 December 2012 - 05:30 PM

Unhandled exception errors occur when you're using mods that replace the main.scm. Solution would be to either uninstall the mods or simply start a new game. Do any of you two use any kind of mods?
Alternatively, for Window Blinds users, you may have to disable it. Window Blinds sometimes causes conflict with GTAIII.

@ mat9461 : Again, the same solution as for GTA III. Alternatively, open the Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL or right-click the Task Bar -> Task Manager) and end all non-essential processes. It is reported that Window Blinds in particular causes issues with Vice City if running alongside it - you may need to end its process.

Hope this helps. icon14.gif

onetwo27
  • onetwo27

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2012

#7

Posted 31 December 2012 - 05:38 PM

no no such mods i just bought the game from steam and its untouched. I just run the game it dosent run and it gives me unhandled run. Somehow disabling the compatibility mode i get the game to run but all i get is black screen and when i press enter it says the program stopped working.

Міro
  • Міro

    Time Killa™

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009
  • None
  • GTANet Contribution Award [Newbie Guide]
    Most Improved 2010

#8

Posted 31 December 2012 - 05:43 PM

Try running the game in Windows 98 compatibility mode. (right click on gta3.exe -> Properties -> Compatibility). In case that doesn't work try removing the gta3.set file located in the GTA3 User Files folder, though I don't think there does exist a gta3.set file at all.

onetwo27
  • onetwo27

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2012

#9

Posted 31 December 2012 - 05:48 PM

ya about that i dont have the set file in my gta 3 user folder

onetwo27
  • onetwo27

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2012

#10

Posted 31 December 2012 - 06:02 PM

And the strange thing is the cracked version of GTA III works fine with no problems bored.gif

Міro
  • Міro

    Time Killa™

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009
  • None
  • GTANet Contribution Award [Newbie Guide]
    Most Improved 2010

#11

Posted 31 December 2012 - 06:07 PM

Meh cracks aren't allowed to be discussed about here. Just try that compatibility mode thing I suggested you.

onetwo27
  • onetwo27

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2012

#12

Posted 31 December 2012 - 06:18 PM

no im not talking abt the crack. Its just that it worked fine but my steam game is not working confused.gif

mat9461
  • mat9461

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2010

#13

Posted 31 December 2012 - 06:55 PM Edited by mat9461, 31 December 2012 - 06:59 PM.

First of all. I bought the game off STEAM and it NEVER work before. so there is NO MODIFICATIONS with the OS or game. so next person who replies should fully know there is no mods involved in this situation.

Міro
  • Міro

    Time Killa™

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009
  • None
  • GTANet Contribution Award [Newbie Guide]
    Most Improved 2010

#14

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:02 PM

Okay I understand, yet none of both of you told me if the Windows 98 Compatibility mode fixed anything or not. And for Window Blinds users, in case any of you is, you may have to disable it. Window Blinds sometimes causes conflict with GTAIII.

mat9461
  • mat9461

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2010

#15

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:06 PM

Windows 98 Compatibility mode fixed nothing, and I am not using windows blinds.

onetwo27
  • onetwo27

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2012

#16

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:10 PM

Im sorry i will tell you what worked for me.


Downloaded the gta 3 from torrent file. Installed it took the exe file and copied it to the steam folder of GTA 3 and it worked fine. Now i can play at last biggrin.gif

Міro
  • Міro

    Time Killa™

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009
  • None
  • GTANet Contribution Award [Newbie Guide]
    Most Improved 2010

#17

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:20 PM

I have one last suggestion, try to re-install the game. I have, however, also found this. I don't know if it works, but try it nonetheless!

mat9461
  • mat9461

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2010

#18

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:25 PM Edited by mat9461, 31 December 2012 - 07:32 PM.

I previously done the DEP and it did not work. as for the reinstall. since I am using steam I did Verify integrity of game cache. and all files successfully validated. which means all files are there untouched, unmodified, not missing, and etc. and my game still has the same issue.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users