Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Rockstar confirms the trailer used in-game footage

80 replies to this topic
ViceCityFTW
  • ViceCityFTW

    nutjob

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2009

#61

Posted 22 November 2012 - 07:23 PM

QUOTE (ioN @ Friday, Nov 16 2012, 19:16)
QUOTE (MosquitoSmasher @ Friday, Nov 16 2012, 13:43)
QUOTE (KTR @ Friday, Nov 16 2012, 18:36)
QUOTE (MosquitoSmasher @ Friday, Nov 16 2012, 18:29)
QUOTE (KTR @ Friday, Nov 16 2012, 18:10)
Quaz51 from Beyond3D (same guy who broke news about GTA4 & RDR being sub-hd on PS3) says the trailer uses "post process AA is exactly the same than PS3 Max Payne 3, different to the MP3 X360 post process AA."

http://forum.beyond3...&postcount=3476

I am kinda confused about what he means, maybe it's just me but he worded this wrong.

There were plenty of parts where it didn't show a cutscene, like right after Michael's intro, we see the sight of Los Santos, with the bus on the road and the train, that is most definitely how it looks when you walk/drive/fly around. Same with the car chase, that is most definitely a mission, but they never show it in third person.

R* games renders their cutscenes in-game. Prerender means you render the cutscene on a more powerful hardware, record it as video, and playback the video on the less powerful hardware. Therefore, whatever scene you see, being cutscene or actual playable scenes, it is all rendered the same way.

Nah i know that, that's not what i meant. I was asking about the post process stuff. About PS3 and Xbox 360. That part seemed like it was worded wrong.

The AA stuff? Yeah the PS3 uses a different type of AA than the 360. I think the PS3's is similar to that of 16x AA when used right. One of the first games to use it was the Saboteur, and it really shows how amazing it can be

As you can see here and here the PS3 version much better AA. Pretty much it blurs the edges without blurring the entire texture. Not sure if GTA V will use this technique, or if it will use one of the many other options available for AA on the PS3, but this one would be the better option.

Also I think the guy he's quoting is stating that the trailer is from the PS3 version.

Saboteur uses MLAA, R* uses FXAA on their games (used MSAA before). Both, PS3 and 360 versions of MP3 used FXAA but 360 had different implantation. More agressive, less aliasing more blur.

Lock N' Stock
  • Lock N' Stock

    U WOT M8

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#62

Posted 22 November 2012 - 07:50 PM

Good thing too, unlike that misleading CGI Saints Row 3 trailer.

Finn 7 five 11
  • Finn 7 five 11

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#63

Posted 24 November 2012 - 02:42 AM

QUOTE (Okin @ Saturday, Nov 17 2012, 05:15)
Just because it wasn't "pre-rendered" does not mean it was not a cut scene. They deliberately avoid the question of whether it is gameplay or a cut scene and answer it in terms of gameplay vs pre-rendered on software.

It doesn't matter if it is a cut-scene, it is still rendered by the game engine. In GTA everything in cutscenes is the same as it is in normal gameplay for the most part, they might focus on making facial animations better and movements more subtle, but it's still part of the game, it's not pre-recorded footage being played back. I don't think you understand what pre-rendering is.

It's making something on more powerful hardware and playing it back on less powerful hardware, it's basically like recording high quality game footage from a high end PC then playing it back on your sh*tty laptop.

PlaystationGamer266
  • PlaystationGamer266

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2012

#64

Posted 24 November 2012 - 02:34 PM

This all but confirms the ps3 version is lead

Dystopia
  • Dystopia

    ?

  • Awaiting Authorization
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2011

#65

Posted 24 November 2012 - 04:15 PM

Cut-scenes are in-game footage when it comes to Rockstar. Don't think they mean all footage is gameplay, some footage IS from cutscenes because of the scripted lines.

Andreas
  • Andreas

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 27 May 2012
  • Austria
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2014
    Best Avatar 2013
    Best New Member 2012
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#66

Posted 24 November 2012 - 04:33 PM

QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 14:34)
This all but confirms the ps3 version is lead

GTA V has no lead-platform because the game is developed seperatly for each platform at least this goes for the consoles. The same goes most likely for the PC version. In any case there is no lead-platform.

MosquitoSmasher
  • MosquitoSmasher

    Moonwalker like MJ

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2012

#67

Posted 24 November 2012 - 08:13 PM

QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 14:34)
This all but confirms the ps3 version is lead

Jesus dude, no offense..but you seem really almost obsessed with this. It doesn't confirm a thing, wow. People should f*cking quit with saying 'confirmed' in pretty much every freaking thread, holy crap. It has clearly been said that there's no lead platform this time, both versions are developed simultaneously and that should be great news for both parties, now just quit it, lol.

jumper2011
  • jumper2011

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2011

#68

Posted 25 November 2012 - 01:59 AM

QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 14:34)
This all but confirms the ps3 version is lead

No it doesnt.

Jestic
  • Jestic

    Chris

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2005
  • Netherlands
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Conversion 2014 [ViIV for GTANY Contribution]
    Best Map 2011 [IVSA]
    Modding Milestone [IVSA/Ped Paths]
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition][Contribution]

#69

Posted 25 November 2012 - 03:37 AM

QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 16:34)
This all but confirms the ps3 version is lead

PS3 is almost never lead.

For multiplatform games it has either no lead platform or Xbox 360. Why? Because a) xbox is easier to program and b) ps3 is a bit stronger, so it could end up being too 'weak' for xbox, also xbox has limited storage on a dvd.

PlaystationGamer266
  • PlaystationGamer266

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2012

#70

Posted 25 November 2012 - 04:41 AM

QUOTE (Blaster_nl @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 03:37)
QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 16:34)
This all but confirms the ps3 version is lead

PS3 is almost never lead.

For multiplatform games it has either no lead platform or Xbox 360. Why? Because a) xbox is easier to program and b) ps3 is a bit stronger, so it could end up being too 'weak' for xbox, also xbox has limited storage on a dvd.

Battlefield 3 was a ps3 lead "on consoles" assassins creed 3 was hitman was sleeping dogs was and so on

this isn't 2007 anymore, plus games perform better on both consoles when the ps3 is a lead

llllI1llllI1
  • llllI1llllI1

    Ghetto Star

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#71

Posted 25 November 2012 - 02:01 PM

QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 22:41)
games perform better on both consoles when the ps3 is a lead

L.A. Noire is a great example of this.

simonp92
  • simonp92

    Whodunit?

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2009

#72

Posted 25 November 2012 - 02:23 PM

QUOTE (sibs44 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 14:01)
QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 22:41)
games perform better on both consoles when the ps3 is a lead

L.A. Noire is a great example of this.

The XBOX version of L.A Noire was the inferior one, so I would hardly call that statement correct.

llllI1llllI1
  • llllI1llllI1

    Ghetto Star

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#73

Posted 25 November 2012 - 02:29 PM

QUOTE (simonp92 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 08:23)
QUOTE (sibs44 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 14:01)
QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 22:41)
games perform better on both consoles when the ps3 is a lead

L.A. Noire is a great example of this.

The XBOX version of L.A Noire was the inferior one, so I would hardly call that statement correct.

Yes, but while it was inferior, it didn't look as bad as an Xbox to PS3 port. That's the point.

simonp92
  • simonp92

    Whodunit?

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2009

#74

Posted 25 November 2012 - 02:33 PM

QUOTE (sibs44 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 14:29)
QUOTE (simonp92 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 08:23)
QUOTE (sibs44 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 14:01)
QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 22:41)
games perform better on both consoles when the ps3 is a lead

L.A. Noire is a great example of this.

The XBOX version of L.A Noire was the inferior one, so I would hardly call that statement correct.

Yes, but while it was inferior, it didn't look as bad as an Xbox to PS3 port. That's the point.

Compared to other R* games like RDR it's roughly the same, only this time the PS3 version is the better looking one.

cp1dell
  • cp1dell

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2008
  • None

#75

Posted 25 November 2012 - 05:54 PM

GTA IV's trailers were mostly made up of cutscenes with short scenes of gameplay scattered about. Looking at them now you can tell the difference between the cutscenes and the actual gameplay in the trailer.

carloff1212
  • carloff1212

    King Dingaling

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2012

#76

Posted 25 November 2012 - 07:57 PM

In chemistry terms, Xbox 360 is the limiting reactant.

jumper2011
  • jumper2011

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2011

#77

Posted 28 November 2012 - 03:56 AM Edited by jumper2011, 28 November 2012 - 03:59 AM.

QUOTE (Blaster_nl @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 03:37)
QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 16:34)
This all but confirms the ps3 version is lead

PS3 is almost never lead.

For multiplatform games it has either no lead platform or Xbox 360. Why? Because a) xbox is easier to program and b) ps3 is a bit stronger, so it could end up being too 'weak' for xbox, also xbox has limited storage on a dvd.

the ps3 is NOT stronger. When can people finally accept that?

QUOTE (ps3fanboy)
Battlefield 3 was a ps3 lead "on consoles" assassins creed 3 was hitman was sleeping dogs was and so on

this isn't 2007 anymore, plus games perform better on both consoles when the ps3 is a lead

Thats not true... Even if PS3 was the lead platform, sometimes the ps3 version is worse than the 360 version. AssCreed3 is a good example or Farcry3. BF3 too. They probably fix'd BF3 PS3 with the latest 2GB patch.

gta-guru
  • gta-guru

    Powered by euphoria.

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Aug 2004

#78

Posted 28 November 2012 - 11:36 AM

QUOTE (sibs44 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 10:29)
QUOTE (simonp92 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 08:23)
QUOTE (sibs44 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 14:01)
QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 22:41)
games perform better on both consoles when the ps3 is a lead

L.A. Noire is a great example of this.

The XBOX version of L.A Noire was the inferior one, so I would hardly call that statement correct.

Yes, but while it was inferior, it didn't look as bad as an Xbox to PS3 port. That's the point.

We don't know what an xbox to ps3 port of la noire would have looked like

SSBBW
  • SSBBW

    ---

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011

#79

Posted 03 December 2012 - 01:55 PM Edited by SSBBW, 03 December 2012 - 02:00 PM.

Stupids shaders.
QUOTE (simonp92 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 14:33)
QUOTE (sibs44 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 14:29)
QUOTE (simonp92 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 08:23)
QUOTE (sibs44 @ Sunday, Nov 25 2012, 14:01)
QUOTE (PlaystationGamer266 @ Saturday, Nov 24 2012, 22:41)
games perform better on both consoles when the ps3 is a lead

L.A. Noire is a great example of this.

The XBOX version of L.A Noire was the inferior one, so I would hardly call that statement correct.

Yes, but while it was inferior, it didn't look as bad as an Xbox to PS3 port. That's the point.

Compared to other R* games like RDR it's roughly the same, only this time the PS3 version is the better looking one.

When they port a game nothing is downgraded,they do it in PS3 to get better FPS,PS3 GPU is inferior to the XBOX 360 GPU.
Thats why they downgraded the PS3 version of GTA IV cause PS3 cant go 60FPS 720p in IV sly.gif

cal0006
  • cal0006

    Yeah baby, yeah

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2012

#80

Posted 03 December 2012 - 01:57 PM

QUOTE (Freezer89 @ Saturday, Nov 17 2012, 04:03)
It's not a surprise.. they never did any rendered trailers of any GTA game.

Oh to clear up further confusion: ingame = either gameplay or cutscene. And the trailer got both of them.
So, R* did not really answer the question directly.

This.


Guys, go back and watch IV or even SA trailers. It's like 90% cutscenes.

Diecontrollersdie
  • Diecontrollersdie

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2012

#81

Posted 04 December 2012 - 03:32 AM Edited by Diecontrollersdie, 04 December 2012 - 03:40 AM.

I analyzed the trailer myself, It has some AA BUT NOT 0 AA, The motor race scene (Franklin) is actual gameplay, Trevor smashing that guy's head in the bar was actual gameplay and trevor jumping from the train colliding was gameplay too, But the Heist scene in which they breach the vault of that bank or some sh*t is a cutscene, And the characters talking are also cutscene

@ViceCityFTW i do agree that this time too GTA V will use FXAA on Consoles too, Saboteur has way too AA when compared to GTA V, GTA V has more Aliasing.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users