Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

PC Version of GTA V Discussion

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
20,084 replies to this topic
Stopped
  • Stopped

    Epsilon Follower

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2012

#2071

Posted 16 June 2013 - 02:27 AM

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:24)
QUOTE (Stopped @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:21)
QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:08)
QUOTE (Happyness @ Saturday, Jun 15 2013, 17:29)
IF PC = 0 then PRINT "IN DEVELOPMENT" else PRINT "NOT IN DEVELOPMENT" ... Easy, no?

You forgot ENDIF.

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 01:49)
Lol I just got me a new computer. biggrin.gif


What are it's specs? I hope it's not an Alienware.

It probably is, that's the sad thing.

Goddamit, it's NOT a ALIENWARE! mad.gif

So dude, I heard you bought an Alienware. How's it treating you?

GTAction99
  • GTAction99

    R*

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2011
  • None

#2072

Posted 16 June 2013 - 02:30 AM

QUOTE (Stopped @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:27)
QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:24)
QUOTE (Stopped @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:21)
QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:08)
QUOTE (Happyness @ Saturday, Jun 15 2013, 17:29)
IF PC = 0 then PRINT "IN DEVELOPMENT" else PRINT "NOT IN DEVELOPMENT" ... Easy, no?

You forgot ENDIF.

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 01:49)
Lol I just got me a new computer. biggrin.gif


What are it's specs? I hope it's not an Alienware.

It probably is, that's the sad thing.

Goddamit, it's NOT a ALIENWARE! mad.gif

So dude, I heard you bought an Alienware. How's it treating you?

Alright, that's it, I quit, when I get my PC hooked up, i'll be back.

HP HP HP HP HP
NOT ALIENWARE! angry.gif

Happyness
  • Happyness

    Li'l G Loc

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2013

#2073

Posted 16 June 2013 - 04:33 AM

QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 05:08)
QUOTE (Happyness @ Saturday, Jun 15 2013, 17:29)
IF PC = 0 then PRINT "IN DEVELOPMENT" else PRINT "NOT IN DEVELOPMENT" ... Easy, no?

You forgot ENDIF.

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 01:49)
Lol I just got me a new computer. biggrin.gif


What are it's specs? I hope it's not an Alienware.

God damn yes! I had "computer" exam a few days ago, only theory, they still teach us QuickBasic as the only programming language, and not even in detail. Motherf*ckers, that sh*t game out 25 years ago, education in Jordan sucks!

Ferocious Banger
  • Ferocious Banger

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2012
  • India

#2074

Posted 16 June 2013 - 10:05 AM Edited by Ferocious Banger, 16 June 2013 - 10:10 AM.

The gtx760 is launching, possiblely on 25th.

I've cancelled my order of gtx660 - Wise move?

Kipsta77
  • Kipsta77

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2012
  • Australia

#2075

Posted 16 June 2013 - 12:16 PM

QUOTE (Ferocious Banger @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 21:05)
The gtx760 is launching, possiblely on 25th.

I've cancelled my order of gtx660 - Wise move?

Yes.

nigelhere9901
  • nigelhere9901

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2013

#2076

Posted 16 June 2013 - 12:24 PM

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:20)
QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:08)
QUOTE (Happyness @ Saturday, Jun 15 2013, 17:29)
IF PC = 0 then PRINT "IN DEVELOPMENT" else PRINT "NOT IN DEVELOPMENT" ... Easy, no?

You forgot ENDIF.

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 01:49)
Lol I just got me a new computer. biggrin.gif


What are it's specs? I hope it's not an Alienware.

Alienware?
F*ck no.
It's a HP, I will post the specs tommorow hopefully.
All I know so far is that it has 6GB RAM DDR3 (I think it's DDR3)

6GB RAM? well, if you're hoping for that computer to run games at their maximum settings for the next 6-7 years, you're in for some disappointment, but I'm more curious to know more about the GPU. Seriously though, it's better to build your own rig. That's the sh*t I love about PC, you have the choice.

r34ld34l
  • r34ld34l

    PC Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2012
  • Slovenia

#2077

Posted 16 June 2013 - 04:42 PM

QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 12:24)
QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:20)
QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:08)
QUOTE (Happyness @ Saturday, Jun 15 2013, 17:29)
IF PC = 0 then PRINT "IN DEVELOPMENT" else PRINT "NOT IN DEVELOPMENT" ... Easy, no?

You forgot ENDIF.

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 01:49)
Lol I just got me a new computer. biggrin.gif


What are it's specs? I hope it's not an Alienware.

Alienware?
F*ck no.
It's a HP, I will post the specs tommorow hopefully.
All I know so far is that it has 6GB RAM DDR3 (I think it's DDR3)

6GB RAM? well, if you're hoping for that computer to run games at their maximum settings for the next 6-7 years, you're in for some disappointment, but I'm more curious to know more about the GPU. Seriously though, it's better to build your own rig. That's the sh*t I love about PC, you have the choice.

He fells like Superman for not buying Alienware, but he then buys HP... Which I could say it is kinda worse.

killdonkey
  • killdonkey

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2013

#2078

Posted 16 June 2013 - 08:18 PM

QUOTE (R.F. @ Tuesday, Oct 30 2012, 18:26)
pc gamers always get bs.. every f*n time. there are either really bad ports or no ports whatsoever...

If they do make a pc version I believe the port is going to be quite exceptional. Look what they did with the port of max payne 3. That game played exceptionally well and looked really amazing. I think the history of bad ports is behind them now.

Andreas
  • Andreas

    GTAV Forum Leader

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 27 May 2012
  • Austria
  • Best Avatar 2013
    Best New Member 2012
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#2079

Posted 16 June 2013 - 08:41 PM

QUOTE (Ferocious Banger @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 12:05)
The gtx760 is launching, possiblely on 25th.

I've cancelled my order of gtx660 - Wise move?

If the price differences aren't all that big, then that was a very wise move. The GTX760 looks very promising with its performance that is similar to the one of the GTX670. I'm not sure though, if the prices will stay the same in all segments, especially now that nVidia has basically no competition. AMD pushed back the release of their new graphic-cards generation from summer to around fall this year.

brian.
  • brian.

    Possible Descendant Of Kraff

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012

#2080

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:06 PM

QUOTE (r34ld34l @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 12:42)
QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 12:24)
QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:20)
QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:08)
QUOTE (Happyness @ Saturday, Jun 15 2013, 17:29)
IF PC = 0 then PRINT "IN DEVELOPMENT" else PRINT "NOT IN DEVELOPMENT" ... Easy, no?

You forgot ENDIF.

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 01:49)
Lol I just got me a new computer. biggrin.gif


What are it's specs? I hope it's not an Alienware.

Alienware?
F*ck no.
It's a HP, I will post the specs tommorow hopefully.
All I know so far is that it has 6GB RAM DDR3 (I think it's DDR3)

6GB RAM? well, if you're hoping for that computer to run games at their maximum settings for the next 6-7 years, you're in for some disappointment, but I'm more curious to know more about the GPU. Seriously though, it's better to build your own rig. That's the sh*t I love about PC, you have the choice.

He fells like Superman for not buying Alienware, but he then buys HP... Which I could say it is kinda worse.

But an alienware is a dell, and I'd rather have an HP than a dell, you know, with all the bundled crap removed and replaced on both of them, I'd want the HP. Couple years ago, I'd want the Dell, but now, the HP lol, if I didn't build my own these days tounge.gif

GTAction99
  • GTAction99

    R*

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2011
  • None

#2081

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:32 PM

QUOTE (r34ld34l @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 16:42)
QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 12:24)
QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:20)
QUOTE (nigelhere9901 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 02:08)
QUOTE (Happyness @ Saturday, Jun 15 2013, 17:29)
IF PC = 0 then PRINT "IN DEVELOPMENT" else PRINT "NOT IN DEVELOPMENT" ... Easy, no?

You forgot ENDIF.

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 01:49)
Lol I just got me a new computer. biggrin.gif


What are it's specs? I hope it's not an Alienware.

Alienware?
F*ck no.
It's a HP, I will post the specs tommorow hopefully.
All I know so far is that it has 6GB RAM DDR3 (I think it's DDR3)

6GB RAM? well, if you're hoping for that computer to run games at their maximum settings for the next 6-7 years, you're in for some disappointment, but I'm more curious to know more about the GPU. Seriously though, it's better to build your own rig. That's the sh*t I love about PC, you have the choice.

He fells like Superman for not buying Alienware, but he then buys HP... Which I could say it is kinda worse.

You meant "feels", and I don't have the time to build my own PC dammit, I wasn't planning on playing very new games anyway. bored.gif
I mainly got it, because I want to be able to install mods on games that my old PC couldn't even handle, or play games that my old PC could only get 20FPS tops on. whatsthat.gif

brian.
  • brian.

    Possible Descendant Of Kraff

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012

#2082

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:59 PM

You're fine anyway dude. You'll be able to toss in a video card (if it doesn't come with one/doesn't come with a good one) and be fine for a while, and I'm quite sure your PC will also have more room for more DDR3 ram, or bigger sticks in themselves, and that ram is cheap right now and for the foreseeable lifespan of that platform as far as I know, I don't see it going up - DDR2 is crazy though, it's better to get a new mobo and ddr3 ram for the same price or cheaper than just the same amount of ddr2 ram itself these days icon14.gif

One thing, this is not a laptop right?

K20
  • K20

    Woooo-rah

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2012

#2083

Posted 17 June 2013 - 01:27 PM

planning on getting this spec for when/if they release it on pc. [barely keeping current PC alive]

i7 4770k
16gb vengeance
asus Z87-PRO
asus GTX 770 2gb
blue-ray player

this enough to max out a possible GTA V to ultra settings?

DlZZEE
  • DlZZEE

    PC peasant

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#2084

Posted 17 June 2013 - 01:28 PM

QUOTE (kb2084 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 16:27)
planning on getting this spec for when/if they release it on pc. [barely keeping current PC alive]

i7 4770k
16gb vengeance
asus Z87-PRO
asus GTX 770 2gb
blue-ray player

this enough to max out a possible GTA V to ultra settings?

Why would you even ask? Do you even know what you're buying?

GTAction99
  • GTAction99

    R*

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2011
  • None

#2085

Posted 17 June 2013 - 02:15 PM

QUOTE (brian. @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 23:59)
You're fine anyway dude. You'll be able to toss in a video card (if it doesn't come with one/doesn't come with a good one) and be fine for a while, and I'm quite sure your PC will also have more room for more DDR3 ram, or bigger sticks in themselves, and that ram is cheap right now and for the foreseeable lifespan of that platform as far as I know, I don't see it going up - DDR2 is crazy though, it's better to get a new mobo and ddr3 ram for the same price or cheaper than just the same amount of ddr2 ram itself these days icon14.gif

One thing, this is not a laptop right?

Nope, it's a desktop.

I am not playing it yet, because I need to get a cord to connect it to the TV. confused.gif

r34ld34l
  • r34ld34l

    PC Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2012
  • Slovenia

#2086

Posted 17 June 2013 - 02:21 PM

QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 14:15)
QUOTE (brian. @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 23:59)
You're fine anyway dude. You'll be able to toss in a video card (if it doesn't come with one/doesn't come with a good one) and be fine for a while, and I'm quite sure your PC will also have more room for more DDR3 ram, or bigger sticks in themselves, and that ram is cheap right now and for the foreseeable lifespan of that platform as far as I know, I don't see it going up - DDR2 is crazy though, it's better to get a new mobo and ddr3 ram for the same price or cheaper than just the same amount of ddr2 ram itself these days icon14.gif

One thing, this is not a laptop right?

Nope, it's a desktop.

I am not playing it yet, because I need to get a cord to connect it to the TV. confused.gif

Don't use TV for Desktop, Input lag to high! Buy OLED 24 and you are good to go.

Ferocious Banger
  • Ferocious Banger

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2012
  • India

#2087

Posted 17 June 2013 - 05:19 PM

QUOTE (DizzeeXL @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 18:58)
QUOTE (kb2084 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 16:27)
planning on getting this spec for when/if they release it on pc. [barely keeping current PC alive]

i7 4770k
16gb vengeance
asus Z87-PRO
asus GTX 770 2gb
blue-ray player

this enough to max out a possible GTA V to ultra settings?

Why would you even ask? Do you even know what you're buying?

Sounds more like showing off.

Noclue_42
  • Noclue_42

    How much for the ape?!

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2012

#2088

Posted 17 June 2013 - 06:01 PM

for the PC people from R*: you're the best inlove.gif

Happyness
  • Happyness

    Li'l G Loc

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2013

#2089

Posted 17 June 2013 - 06:40 PM

QUOTE (Ferocious Banger @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 20:19)
QUOTE (DizzeeXL @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 18:58)
QUOTE (kb2084 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 16:27)
planning on getting this spec for when/if they release it on pc. [barely keeping current PC alive]

i7 4770k
16gb vengeance
asus Z87-PRO
asus GTX 770 2gb
blue-ray player

this enough to max out a possible GTA V to ultra settings?

Why would you even ask? Do you even know what you're buying?

Sounds more like showing off.

lol.gif Eh... Posting in two threads about pre-ordering a GTX760 ....

K20
  • K20

    Woooo-rah

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2012

#2090

Posted 18 June 2013 - 07:47 AM

QUOTE (Ferocious Banger @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 17:19)
QUOTE (DizzeeXL @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 18:58)
QUOTE (kb2084 @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 16:27)
planning on getting this spec for when/if they release it on pc. [barely keeping current PC alive]

i7 4770k
16gb vengeance
asus Z87-PRO
asus GTX 770 2gb
blue-ray player

this enough to max out a possible GTA V to ultra settings?

Why would you even ask? Do you even know what you're buying?

Sounds more like showing off.

showing off? when/if V is out on PC this is the spec im getting. or better at the time [depending on availability and costs]

what i got right now is q9550, 3.5GB ram and 1GB GT9000 on winXP. i have a 2GB of RAM that works when it feels like, and BSOD appearing when it feels like. barely functioning.

saved enough to buy a pc to whatever spec i feel like. just waiting for the announcement of PC version. if there is one.


DlZZEE
  • DlZZEE

    PC peasant

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#2091

Posted 18 June 2013 - 08:14 AM Edited by DizzeeXL, 18 June 2013 - 08:17 AM.

According to nVidia PC is the most important gaming platform:

user posted image

Yet It's probable one of the least profitable thanks to developers who think we're second-rate gamers.

Redwood Cigarettes
  • Redwood Cigarettes

    The R★ Games Collector.

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007

#2092

Posted 18 June 2013 - 08:20 AM Edited by Sam_S_Rosevelt, 18 June 2013 - 08:31 AM.

QUOTE
showing off? when/if V is out on PC this is the spec im getting. or better at the time [depending on availability and costs]

what i got right now is q9550, 3.5GB ram and 1GB GT9000 on winXP. i have a 2GB of RAM that works when it feels like, and BSOD appearing when it feels like. barely functioning.

saved enough to buy a pc to whatever spec i feel like. just waiting for the announcement of PC version. if there is one.


You should do your research and save yourself money.
You do realise the Q9550 has more cache (12MB) and can be clocked as high as that i7 chip's stock?
The old Q's although running hotter are still good as they are true physical cores without any HT.

The thing holding you back is the graphics card (9000 is 5 series old now) & RAM. (You want 4GB at least now) smile.gif

If you have a late 775Mobo (that's DDR3) I would keep it, overclock that Q9550 and focus your money on graphics and RAM. icon14.gif

But that's just my two cents.

-----------------

I got no time for PC show-offs generally, half the time they just post their specs as the 'latest and greatest' and have little knowledge about the components...

You won't need any super special hardware for this game if it is 'GTAIV.5' as reviewers have called it.
Something a bit better than minimum IV req's and you should be ok to run it.

My humble rig should run it fine: (albeit probably not maxed)
XFX 790i Ultra
Intel Core2Quad Q9550 12MB cache @ 3Ghz
GTX 650ti BOOST 2GB @ GPU:1164/1229Mhz MEM:1602Mhz
6GB DDR3 1600Mhz
OCZ ZT series 550W PSU
Samsung 320GB SATA HDD
Samsung UE32ES5700 TV

K20
  • K20

    Woooo-rah

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2012

#2093

Posted 18 June 2013 - 08:54 AM

QUOTE (Sam_S_Rosevelt @ Tuesday, Jun 18 2013, 08:20)
QUOTE
showing off? when/if V is out on PC this is the spec im getting. or better at the time [depending on availability and costs]

what i got right now is q9550, 3.5GB ram and 1GB GT9000 on winXP. i have a 2GB of RAM that works when it feels like, and BSOD appearing when it feels like. barely functioning.

saved enough to buy a pc to whatever spec i feel like. just waiting for the announcement of PC version. if there is one.


You should do your research and save yourself money.
You do realise the Q9550 has more cache (12MB) and can be clocked as high as that i7 chip's stock?
The old Q's although running hotter are still good as they are true physical cores without any HT.

The thing holding you back is the graphics card (9000 is 5 series old now) & RAM. (You want 4GB at least now) smile.gif

If you have a late 775Mobo (that's DDR3) I would keep it, overclock that Q9550 and focus your money on graphics and RAM. icon14.gif

But that's just my two cents.

-----------------

I got no time for PC show-offs generally, half the time they just post their specs as the 'latest and greatest' and have little knowledge about the components...

You won't need any super special hardware for this game if it is 'GTAIV.5' as reviewers have called it.
Something a bit better than minimum IV req's and you should be ok to run it.

My humble rig should run it fine: (albeit probably not maxed)
XFX 790i Ultra
Intel Core2Quad Q9550 12MB cache @ 3Ghz
GTX 650ti BOOST 2GB @ GPU:1164/1229Mhz MEM:1602Mhz
6GB DDR3 1600Mhz
OCZ ZT series 550W PSU
Samsung 320GB SATA HDD
Samsung UE32ES5700 TV

see i know the processor is good enough.

but by the time V maybe comes on PC wouldnt the q9550 be sort of old and out dated?

my motherboard is some poxy Asrock. cheap as hell.

thanks for the info though.

reason why i want the "latest and greatest" is because last time i did go cheap and pc started giving me trouble after a year or so. i just see it as get everything top spec and should be gold for 5 years or more

but the spec you mentioned, will the CPU cope with everything else? any bottle necks?

Redwood Cigarettes
  • Redwood Cigarettes

    The R★ Games Collector.

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007

#2094

Posted 18 June 2013 - 09:40 AM

QUOTE (kb2084 @ Tuesday, Jun 18 2013, 08:54)
QUOTE (Sam_S_Rosevelt @ Tuesday, Jun 18 2013, 08:20)
QUOTE
showing off? when/if V is out on PC this is the spec im getting. or better at the time [depending on availability and costs]

what i got right now is q9550, 3.5GB ram and 1GB GT9000 on winXP. i have a 2GB of RAM that works when it feels like, and BSOD appearing when it feels like. barely functioning.

saved enough to buy a pc to whatever spec i feel like. just waiting for the announcement of PC version. if there is one.


You should do your research and save yourself money.
You do realise the Q9550 has more cache (12MB) and can be clocked as high as that i7 chip's stock?
The old Q's although running hotter are still good as they are true physical cores without any HT.

The thing holding you back is the graphics card (9000 is 5 series old now) & RAM. (You want 4GB at least now) smile.gif

If you have a late 775Mobo (that's DDR3) I would keep it, overclock that Q9550 and focus your money on graphics and RAM. icon14.gif

But that's just my two cents.

-----------------

I got no time for PC show-offs generally, half the time they just post their specs as the 'latest and greatest' and have little knowledge about the components...

You won't need any super special hardware for this game if it is 'GTAIV.5' as reviewers have called it.
Something a bit better than minimum IV req's and you should be ok to run it.

My humble rig should run it fine: (albeit probably not maxed)
XFX 790i Ultra
Intel Core2Quad Q9550 12MB cache @ 3Ghz
GTX 650ti BOOST 2GB @ GPU:1164/1229Mhz MEM:1602Mhz
6GB DDR3 1600Mhz
OCZ ZT series 550W PSU
Samsung 320GB SATA HDD
Samsung UE32ES5700 TV

see i know the processor is good enough.

but by the time V maybe comes on PC wouldnt the q9550 be sort of old and out dated?

my motherboard is some poxy Asrock. cheap as hell.

thanks for the info though.

reason why i want the "latest and greatest" is because last time i did go cheap and pc started giving me trouble after a year or so. i just see it as get everything top spec and should be gold for 5 years or more

but the spec you mentioned, will the CPU cope with everything else? any bottle necks?

The Core2Quad's are getting pretty outdated now yeah but the top ones Q9550 & Q9650 (and especially the QX9550,9650,9770&9775 [QX have unlocked multiplier]) are still good chips to this day because of their high cache (12MB) , 4 physical cores & overclocking potential past 4 - 5.5GHz respectively, depending on model.

If you have a DDR3 775 mobo you can still use some pretty quick RAM with it too.

My rig doesn't have any bottlenecks with the graphics card and I only have the CPU overclocked up one step at the moment.
(My graphics card is also OCed from its stock OC, running at the superclocks) biggrin.gif

In hindsight though, this 775 technology is old and reaching the end of its good run now, I will probably get a new board eventually when the new processors and 8Series nvidia cards arrive.
(the new Haswell chips from Intel wasn't impressive enough and the new 7series cards from Nvidia are just basically re-flashed 6series ones)

But either way, good luck with whatever you decide on, I was just trying to save you a few $$$ in the meantime biggrin.gif

ViciousLuke
  • ViciousLuke

    Ermahgerd GTA V

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2012

#2095

Posted 18 June 2013 - 09:45 AM

For me the most important thing is to run into that place where graphics looks good and it works fine. To find that best graphics/performance ratio is the most important thing. You can "play" with graphics settings too and turn off things like AA (AA cuts fps nearly in half). I could play on medium-high settings because I am pretty sure that most of the games looks great using those settings and as along as it runs without any fps drops - it's fine.

K20
  • K20

    Woooo-rah

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2012

#2096

Posted 18 June 2013 - 10:00 AM

QUOTE (Sam_S_Rosevelt @ Tuesday, Jun 18 2013, 09:40)
QUOTE (kb2084 @ Tuesday, Jun 18 2013, 08:54)
QUOTE (Sam_S_Rosevelt @ Tuesday, Jun 18 2013, 08:20)
QUOTE
showing off? when/if V is out on PC this is the spec im getting. or better at the time [depending on availability and costs]

what i got right now is q9550, 3.5GB ram and 1GB GT9000 on winXP. i have a 2GB of RAM that works when it feels like, and BSOD appearing when it feels like. barely functioning.

saved enough to buy a pc to whatever spec i feel like. just waiting for the announcement of PC version. if there is one.


You should do your research and save yourself money.
You do realise the Q9550 has more cache (12MB) and can be clocked as high as that i7 chip's stock?
The old Q's although running hotter are still good as they are true physical cores without any HT.

The thing holding you back is the graphics card (9000 is 5 series old now) & RAM. (You want 4GB at least now) smile.gif

If you have a late 775Mobo (that's DDR3) I would keep it, overclock that Q9550 and focus your money on graphics and RAM. icon14.gif

But that's just my two cents.

-----------------

I got no time for PC show-offs generally, half the time they just post their specs as the 'latest and greatest' and have little knowledge about the components...

You won't need any super special hardware for this game if it is 'GTAIV.5' as reviewers have called it.
Something a bit better than minimum IV req's and you should be ok to run it.

My humble rig should run it fine: (albeit probably not maxed)
XFX 790i Ultra
Intel Core2Quad Q9550 12MB cache @ 3Ghz
GTX 650ti BOOST 2GB @ GPU:1164/1229Mhz MEM:1602Mhz
6GB DDR3 1600Mhz
OCZ ZT series 550W PSU
Samsung 320GB SATA HDD
Samsung UE32ES5700 TV

see i know the processor is good enough.

but by the time V maybe comes on PC wouldnt the q9550 be sort of old and out dated?

my motherboard is some poxy Asrock. cheap as hell.

thanks for the info though.

reason why i want the "latest and greatest" is because last time i did go cheap and pc started giving me trouble after a year or so. i just see it as get everything top spec and should be gold for 5 years or more

but the spec you mentioned, will the CPU cope with everything else? any bottle necks?

The Core2Quad's are getting pretty outdated now yeah but the top ones Q9550 & Q9650 (and especially the QX9550,9650,9770&9775 [QX have unlocked multiplier]) are still good chips to this day because of their high cache (12MB) , 4 physical cores & overclocking potential past 4 - 5.5GHz respectively, depending on model.

If you have a DDR3 775 mobo you can still use some pretty quick RAM with it too.

My rig doesn't have any bottlenecks with the graphics card and I only have the CPU overclocked up one step at the moment.
(My graphics card is also OCed from its stock OC, running at the superclocks) biggrin.gif

In hindsight though, this 775 technology is old and reaching the end of its good run now, I will probably get a new board eventually when the new processors and 8Series nvidia cards arrive.
(the new Haswell chips from Intel wasn't impressive enough and the new 7series cards from Nvidia are just basically re-flashed 6series ones)

But either way, good luck with whatever you decide on, I was just trying to save you a few $$$ in the meantime biggrin.gif

thanks.

i'll see what the costs are in keeping the processor and working around it. if its not much i'll get a top spec.

but this is all if V is out on pc. if it aint. i'll just get it upgraded a little.

ViciousLuke
  • ViciousLuke

    Ermahgerd GTA V

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2012

#2097

Posted 18 June 2013 - 10:11 AM

Not if, but when.

S1LV3R_W0LF
  • S1LV3R_W0LF

    Only got a PC for Gaming

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2004
  • Portugal

#2098

Posted 19 June 2013 - 01:58 AM

I still have a Core2 Quad, Q6600 @ 2.4Hz and I'm not planning to change it any time soon, I'll change my GPU and I'll be good to go. I can play anything in 1080p without any problems. What I recommend you is a new GPU and RAM, that makes a huge difference.

nujee
  • nujee

    GTA Jedi- don't screw with the force!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2013

#2099

Posted 19 June 2013 - 02:22 AM

Hey Guys,

I am always on this website just checking games and stuff and today i noticed this. Not sure if its something but for everyone here- i really hope R* comes through:

http://www.ozgamesho...-five-5-game-pc - Australian website btw

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    Let's Bounce

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal

#2100

Posted 19 June 2013 - 03:51 AM

QUOTE (S1LV3R_W0LF @ Wednesday, Jun 19 2013, 02:58)
I still have a Core2 Quad, Q6600 @ 2.4Hz and I'm not planning to change it any time soon, I'll change my GPU and I'll be good to go. I can play anything in 1080p without any problems. What I recommend you is a new GPU and RAM, that makes a huge difference.

Same here, but I'll be changing it to a i5-3570k as soon as I can. It might not look like so but this CPU is already pretty slow in some recent games even if it doesn't do 100% usage.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users