Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How do i get a custom obect into IV?

5 replies to this topic
SkyReaper2014
  • SkyReaper2014

    Paleto Bay Resident

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Sep 2012
  • United-States

#1

Posted 23 September 2012 - 03:39 AM

Ok so i made a object in 3ds max but i dont know how to get it into gtaIV,i have GIMS so im ready to go,i also have openIV.

Any tuts would be appreciated,preferably text but i guess i can watch a video.

Thanks in advance lol.gif

aacclapd
  • aacclapd

    Map Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#2

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:57 PM

adding one object to game is silly cuz you have to crate a new img, wpl, ide and add lines in gta.dat and images.txt for nothing.
so you better make a nice map and then try to learn how to export it to game.
its very easy, i made the process like thousand times. you have to create objects, export them as models to any new .img and then export ide and wpl but first you have to go to IDE EDITOR... in GIMSIV and set:draw distance, texture dictionary assigned to model("null" if the model has embedded textures and dont need any wtd file to load).
and then make the same thing in WPL EDITOR.
then you have to export both and add lines to the gta.dat (for IDE and WPL files loading) and images.txt (for IMG files loading)

SkyReaper2014
  • SkyReaper2014

    Paleto Bay Resident

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Sep 2012
  • United-States

#3

Posted 23 September 2012 - 03:16 PM

QUOTE (aacclapd @ Sunday, Sep 23 2012, 12:57)
adding one object to game is silly cuz you have to crate a new img, wpl, ide and add lines in gta.dat and images.txt for nothing.

Is it possible to just add the object to the games img and ide files?

aacclapd
  • aacclapd

    Map Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#4

Posted 23 September 2012 - 05:21 PM

yes, but it's more difficult.

aacclapd
  • aacclapd

    Map Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#5

Posted 23 September 2012 - 06:22 PM Edited by aacclapd, 25 September 2012 - 02:16 PM.

you need to import a wpl to 3dsmax, add your object and then reexport. then you have to write a new IDE file with the objects you've added, so you can copy them in the existing IDE file (according to the wpl and img)
then create a new collision file (wbn)
by the position of the new object. (use 3dsmax and GIMS IV for such thing)

of course, model must be inside the .img.

Gtaman_92
  • Gtaman_92

    PS4 user.

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2011
  • None

#6

Posted 03 November 2012 - 03:10 AM

Im sure youtube got something about getting mods into gta 4.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users