Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA: Project Liberty

1,406 replies to this topic
hellya2011
  • hellya2011

    Hellya2011

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009

#1

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:35 AM Edited by hellya2011, 04 July 2013 - 08:45 PM.

user posted image

This is a total conversion that was started in December 2011, and is basically a IV/EFLC conversion for San Andreas. My project is not the first to try to complete this goal, but i'm going to try my best to finish the map. The map will use both IV models, and EFLC models.

(i know backwards conversions aren't allowed, but a good friend messaged an admin, and said he would allow it as long as i host the file on a external site)

I know, and understand many people will see this as dis-respectful, but that isn't my intentions. I respect Rockstar Games to the fullest. I think that the conversion brings out the beauty of the models, and the Renderware engine (i know its old, but still) and if anything, shows how amazing Rockstar is. If you like this mod, support Rockstar Games by buying both San Andreas & GTAIV so we can have many new games in the future.

'A Final Goodbye' Open Source Release
This is the end for Project IV. One last release. Me and xXaerooff2Xx and has discussed it, and there will be only 1 more release which will be what we have done so far. It will be an Open Sourced release, so if anyone wants to continue our work they may do so, but give credit where it is due. The open sourced release will have bugs and issues, but it is where we left off at.

Why is it ending? Simply enough, we have lost interest in doing it. I also can't find the time anymore. So instead of leaving everyone out there wondering if it will continue, this is the official update saying goodbye, and thanks for your support of this mod.


Team/ Credits:
Hellya2011- Mod Leader/ Model Convertor/ Scripting
xXaerooff2Xx- Mod Leader/ Model Converting
LIPTON- Model Convertor
DK22Pac- Scripts & Tools
Onyx- Pedestrian & Car Nodes
Oksa8- Scripting

TheNikoST- Beta Tester & Media Manager
YoshiHDify- Beta Tester
ItsAllAboutGTA- Beta Tester
KiNG3LP- Beta Tester


Special Thanks:
Rockstar Games- Original Models, Content, & Awesome Games
Function-X- Creator of Overdose Effects (gotten permission to use it)
Vans123- GTAIV Enb & Timecyc (gotten permission to use it) and Help from modding questions
Dk22pac- Advanced Light Mod (gotten permission to use it)
Shemerrr- Original Skydome Model (gotten permission to use it)
XMakarusX- DirectX For ProjectIV (gotten permission to use it)


System Requirements (estimate):
AMD Turion (or equivalent) Dual Core @ 2.0Ghz
3GB DDR2 Ram
Nvidia 6800gt (or equivalent)
(requirements based on my old laptop which could run it decent at 10-20fps)
*If you are closer to the requirements, i suggest running it without enb*


Progress:

user posted image

Videos:



DOWNLOAD BETAV0.2
(deposit files, 802.33MB)

Beta v0.2 Mirror
(Yandex.Disk, 802.33MB)

Download Beta v0.1(gamefront, 298MB)

PLEASE INSTALL ON A CLEAN INSTALLATION OF GTASA & RUN MAP CLEANER FIRST!
  • TheVladonPro and MasterHK like this

Wass
  • Wass

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2011

#2

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:48 AM Edited by Wass, 18 August 2012 - 03:50 AM.

I was following your mod on youtube I tought it was cancelled but I guess I was wrong,I like it icon14.gif ,keep it up tounge.gif

hellya2011
  • hellya2011

    Hellya2011

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009

#3

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:51 AM

QUOTE (Wass @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 03:48)
I was following your mod on youtube I tought it was cancelled but I guess I was wrong,I like it  icon14.gif ,but I think converting IV map to SA is illegal in here tounge.gif

like i said in my first post, a good friend & team member messaged an admin on here, a said they would allow me to make a thread as long as i host the mod on an external site from their network. That's why i have just made the thread, because i got permission... i didn't want to break the rules smile.gif

Wass
  • Wass

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2011

#4

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:52 AM

QUOTE (hellya2011 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:51)
QUOTE (Wass @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 03:48)
I was following your mod on youtube I tought it was cancelled but I guess I was wrong,I like it  icon14.gif ,but I think converting IV map to SA is illegal in here tounge.gif

like i said in my first post, a good friend & team member messaged an admin on here, a said they would allow me to make a thread as long as i host the mod on an external site from their network

I know,didn't read that tounge.gif ,I can't wait to see manhat03 converted Shifty41s_beerhatsmilie2.gif

hellya2011
  • hellya2011

    Hellya2011

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009

#5

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:53 AM

QUOTE (Wass @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 03:52)
QUOTE (hellya2011 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:51)
QUOTE (Wass @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 03:48)
I was following your mod on youtube I tought it was cancelled but I guess I was wrong,I like it  icon14.gif ,but I think converting IV map to SA is illegal in here tounge.gif

like i said in my first post, a good friend & team member messaged an admin on here, a said they would allow me to make a thread as long as i host the mod on an external site from their network

I know,didn't read that tounge.gif ,I can't wait to see manhat03 converted Shifty41s_beerhatsmilie2.gif

lol manhat03 huh? biggrin.gif Planning on being in beta v0.3

Wass
  • Wass

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2011

#6

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:57 AM Edited by Wass, 17 December 2012 - 05:44 PM.

QUOTE (hellya2011 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:53)
QUOTE (Wass @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 03:52)
QUOTE (hellya2011 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:51)
QUOTE (Wass @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 03:48)
I was following your mod on youtube I tought it was cancelled but I guess I was wrong,I like it  icon14.gif ,but I think converting IV map to SA is illegal in here tounge.gif

like i said in my first post, a good friend & team member messaged an admin on here, a said they would allow me to make a thread as long as i host the mod on an external site from their network

I know,didn't read that tounge.gif ,I can't wait to see manhat03 converted Shifty41s_beerhatsmilie2.gif

lol manhat03 huh? biggrin.gif Planning on being in beta v0.3

yes,because it has Maisonnette9,hercules and bahama mamas,I wanna see how would they look in renderware tounge2.gif ,good luck with it

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008

#7

Posted 18 August 2012 - 04:09 AM Edited by nkjellman, 18 August 2012 - 04:12 AM.

You can find my mod EFLC Map Updates to IV on Moddb. It ports all the EFLC map updates to GTA IV, but it will be useful for you because it has all the maps in one set of files. No extra files being loaded in place of IV files. It also has the IV cutscene interiors that taken out of TBoGT due to the disc size limit on EFLC Xbox 360. I recommend future GTA V modders who are converting IV's LC to GTA V to use it instead so its easier.

However unfortunately, the moderators won't allow this TC to happen. They simply feel that it will make SA players who don't have GTA IV, not want to buy it because they can get the map on SA. However that isn't the fact.
-SA engine isn't capable of producing IV quality graphics.
-IV has much better game play than SA.
-IV is getting old. I would understand the situation if the game was brand new and still getting many sales. But, GTA V is coming.

This is like a preview of GTA IV. In my opinion, you would think a mod like this would make players want to buy GTA IV. I'm not saying this is pointless, but it has advantages over GTA IV in some areas like the SA exclusive features not in IV, like exercising, and SA is easier to mod than Rage.

Edit: Is this the mod that ShakingASS was originally in?

hellya2011
  • hellya2011

    Hellya2011

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009

#8

Posted 18 August 2012 - 04:12 AM Edited by hellya2011, 18 August 2012 - 04:14 AM.

QUOTE (nkjellman @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:09)
You can find my mod EFLC Map Updates to IV on Moddb. It ports all the EFLC map updates to GTA IV, but it will be useful for you because it has all the maps in one set of files. No extra files being loaded in place of IV files. It also has the IV cutscene interiors that taken out of TBoGT due to the disc size limit on EFLC Xbox 360. I recommend future GTA V modders who are converting IV's LC to GTA V to use it instead so its easier.

However unfortunately, the moderators won't allow this TC to happen. They simply feel that it will make SA players who don't have GTA IV, not want to buy it because they can get the map on SA. However that isn't the fact.
-SA engine isn't capable of producing IV quality graphics.
-IV has much better game play than SA.

This is like a preview of GTA IV. In my opinion, you would think a mod like this would make players want to buy GTA IV. I'm not saying this is pointless, but it has advantages over GTA IV in some areas like the SA exclusive features not in IV, like exercising, and SA is easier to mod than Rage.

well, i'm just now starting to mod the RAGE engine some, and it's by far better. One of the main reasons why i even came up with this is so i can play some of my favorite gtasa mods on a more HQ map & you can fly wink.gif

EDIT: Um, no.... never heard of "ShakingAss" before dozingoff.gif i've converted all the models myself
.... i might know the person by a different username, but not by that username, but still, no... mine is a different one

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008

#9

Posted 18 August 2012 - 04:14 AM

QUOTE (hellya2011 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:12)
QUOTE (nkjellman @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:09)
You can find my mod EFLC Map Updates to IV on Moddb. It ports all the EFLC map updates to GTA IV, but it will be useful for you because it has all the maps in one set of files. No extra files being loaded in place of IV files. It also has the IV cutscene interiors that taken out of TBoGT due to the disc size limit on EFLC Xbox 360. I recommend future GTA V modders who are converting IV's LC to GTA V to use it instead so its easier.

However unfortunately, the moderators won't allow this TC to happen. They simply feel that it will make SA players who don't have GTA IV, not want to buy it because they can get the map on SA. However that isn't the fact.
-SA engine isn't capable of producing IV quality graphics.
-IV has much better game play than SA.

This is like a preview of GTA IV. In my opinion, you would think a mod like this would make players want to buy GTA IV. I'm not saying this is pointless, but it has advantages over GTA IV in some areas like the SA exclusive features not in IV, like exercising, and SA is easier to mod than Rage.

well, i'm just now starting to mod the RAGE engine some, and it's by far better. One of the main reasons why i even came up with this is so i can play some of my favorite gtasa mods on a more HQ map & you can fly wink.gif

You can fly planes on IV if you add them in. A few scripts will help perfect them as their not perfect.

BTW, you make it sound like you can't fly at all on Rage, when you can fly helicopters.

hellya2011
  • hellya2011

    Hellya2011

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009

#10

Posted 18 August 2012 - 04:15 AM

QUOTE (nkjellman @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:14)
QUOTE (hellya2011 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:12)
QUOTE (nkjellman @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:09)
You can find my mod EFLC Map Updates to IV on Moddb. It ports all the EFLC map updates to GTA IV, but it will be useful for you because it has all the maps in one set of files. No extra files being loaded in place of IV files. It also has the IV cutscene interiors that taken out of TBoGT due to the disc size limit on EFLC Xbox 360. I recommend future GTA V modders who are converting IV's LC to GTA V to use it instead so its easier.

However unfortunately, the moderators won't allow this TC to happen. They simply feel that it will make SA players who don't have GTA IV, not want to buy it because they can get the map on SA. However that isn't the fact.
-SA engine isn't capable of producing IV quality graphics.
-IV has much better game play than SA.

This is like a preview of GTA IV. In my opinion, you would think a mod like this would make players want to buy GTA IV. I'm not saying this is pointless, but it has advantages over GTA IV in some areas like the SA exclusive features not in IV, like exercising, and SA is easier to mod than Rage.

well, i'm just now starting to mod the RAGE engine some, and it's by far better. One of the main reasons why i even came up with this is so i can play some of my favorite gtasa mods on a more HQ map & you can fly wink.gif

You can fly planes on IV if you add them in. A few scripts will help perfect them as their not perfect.

BTW, you make it sound like you can't fly at all on Rage, when you can fly helicopters.

well, yeah the new EPM 1.6 will help planes for RAGE.... just some of my favorite planes isn't in there yet like WWII planes & the C-130

ItsAllAboutGTA
  • ItsAllAboutGTA

    Project IV Staff

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2011

#11

Posted 18 August 2012 - 04:22 AM

At last,your making a topic,been waiting for this

nkjellman: Since,this is the most promising IV to SA conversion,why don't you work on the CTW style like you said in the previous topic ?

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008

#12

Posted 18 August 2012 - 04:30 AM

QUOTE (ItsAllAboutGTA @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 04:22)
At last,your making a topic,been waiting for this

nkjellman: Since,this is the most promising IV to SA conversion,why don't you work on the CTW style like you said in the previous topic ?

Maybe, but I'd rather do that on Rage.

aStiffSausage
  • aStiffSausage

    Formerly Oksu

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2010
  • Finland

#13

Posted 18 August 2012 - 06:33 AM

Glad to see you made it. smile.gif

@nkjellman
I PM'd STM about this mod, and he said they won't encourage converting from IV but it's still okay, but negative comments will be coming due to unoriginal content.

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#14

Posted 18 August 2012 - 06:53 AM

I can see 60% of that map is my converting work
Why dont you put the necesary stuff on the work that isnt mine?
And by mine i mean the part i converted

Anything out of my part, lacks prelight, ovnis, shadow mesh, dinamic doors
Do that so both parts match

I can see the mistakes i did intentionally to can identify the sh*t i converted lol
Anyway goodluck, hope you complete it someday

hellya2011
  • hellya2011

    Hellya2011

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009

#15

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:01 AM Edited by hellya2011, 18 August 2012 - 07:08 AM.

QUOTE (vans123 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 06:53)
I can see 60% of that map is my converting work
Why dont you put the necesary stuff on the work that isnt mine?
And by mine i mean the part i converted

Anything out of my part, lacks prelight, ovnis, shadow mesh, dinamic doors
Do that so both parts match

I can see the mistakes i did intentionally to can identify the sh*t i converted lol
Anyway goodluck, hope you complete it someday

Um, actually, i converted all the models. So all the models lack prelights, onvis, etc. But i do have shadow mesh, dynamic doors, prelights on interiors & night vertex. I only put shadow mesh on the props such as lampposts, garbage cans, etc. But, like i said i didn't steal your work, i did it on my own. For example, i don't have the perseus interior, i'm missing textures, my statue of liberty is a bit different in color vairation, the texture is actually a bit off which im going to fix, and i have the basic goldberg interior, i don't have roman's car depot or niko's aparment interior yet... etc... etc... Took me a while to convert it, but i did convert all these parts on my own. i even have all of the .cst & dff files put into one folder after i exported them in 3ds max. I also used my own texture naming system so i would be unique to my models.

I respect you vans123. I wouldn't use you models without asking you, and at the time i was offline alot so i just did it myself.

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#16

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:09 AM

At your youtube channel you said you used my parts
watched your videos and its kind of crazy your docks at low manhattan(algonquin) have the same with the static prelight
As same with prelight mistakes that my converts?

The details on the orange fort at the part have exactly the same saturation fail as mine does
The tunnel has the same saturation problem as mine

coinsidence?

hellya2011
  • hellya2011

    Hellya2011

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009

#17

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:14 AM

QUOTE (vans123 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 07:09)
At your youtube channel you said you used my parts
watched your videos and its kind of crazy your docks at low manhattan(algonquin) have the same  with the static prelight
As same with prelight mistakes that my converts?

The details on the orange fort at the part have exactly the same saturation fail as mine does
The tunnel has the same saturation problem as mine

coinsidence?

the orange fort, i didn't modify any, i just imported with spark, textured, exported. i didn't change saturation. My tunnels prelights are actually f&cked and uneven, & i need to fix them to tell you the truth. The part of the tunnel to the far most east doesn't have enough lighting, and the other two parts is to bright to me. Especially with enb i can notice them confused.gif

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#18

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:18 AM

You have exactly the same fails in prelight as i do
The reason was by the time i converted all this, color mod from ryosuke didnt exist
The only way to darken meshes was enb series, but with color mod that changed

Did you make the props breakable? What about those bus stations, does glass break?
Curiosity smile.gif

hellya2011
  • hellya2011

    Hellya2011

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009

#19

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:23 AM Edited by hellya2011, 18 August 2012 - 07:26 AM.

QUOTE (vans123 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 07:18)
You have exactly the same fails in prelight as i do
The reason was by the time i converted all this, color mod from ryosuke didnt exist
The only way to darken meshes was enb series, but with color mod that changed

Did you make the props breakable? What about those bus stations, does glass break?
Curiosity smile.gif

some props are breakable yes, but some isn't, & some the breakable data is messed up... they don't break, just disappear. and my glass doesn't break on the bus stations. i set the collision to glass un-breakable so with the bullet hole mod, it would leave a glass bullet whole, but not break.

Here is how my orange fort is messed up, i acidently exported one of the detail models with night vertex
user posted image

and this shows how my tunnel is to bright
user posted image

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#20

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:39 AM

Im from my stupid phone, cant check some stuff i wanted to ask
confused.gif

hellya2011
  • hellya2011

    Hellya2011

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009

#21

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:42 AM

QUOTE (vans123 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 07:39)
Im from my stupid phone, cant check some stuff i wanted to ask
confused.gif

well i can assure you, i didn't and wouldn't steal your models vans smile.gif
if i was going to use them, i would at least ask first

ItsAllAboutGTA
  • ItsAllAboutGTA

    Project IV Staff

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2011

#22

Posted 18 August 2012 - 08:38 AM

QUOTE (vans123 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 07:39)
Im from my stupid phone, cant check some stuff i wanted to ask
confused.gif

Vans,i got some question,in your IV to SA map mod,you make some building shadows example like the train track in 1st island near Niko house.theres a shadow appear when the time is gettind darker.now,would it be possible to convert IV map to SA with all shadows ?

aStiffSausage
  • aStiffSausage

    Formerly Oksu

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2010
  • Finland

#23

Posted 18 August 2012 - 11:17 AM Edited by oksa8, 18 August 2012 - 01:33 PM.

QUOTE (ItsAllAboutGTA @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 11:38)
QUOTE (vans123 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 07:39)
Im from my stupid phone, cant check some stuff i wanted to ask
confused.gif

Vans,i got some question,in your IV to SA map mod,you make some building shadows example like the train track in 1st island near Niko house.theres a shadow appear when the time is gettind darker.now,would it be possible to convert IV map to SA with all shadows ?

I asked Hellya2011 about it, and no. SA has limits on shadow-mesh, and it would require some limits to be hacked.

EDIT: Just for the heck of it, here's my small preview-video:

BfSoldier25
  • BfSoldier25

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2012

#24

Posted 18 August 2012 - 02:41 PM

Hellya I love your mod have downloaded it and had fun have you already done in beta 1 more than some other modders

Check my new video from Hellya2011 Mod
GTA Project Liberty Tbogt Edition

elMarcoPL
  • elMarcoPL

    Tronco

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Mar 2011

#25

Posted 18 August 2012 - 02:46 PM Edited by xXaerooff2Xx, 18 August 2012 - 02:50 PM.

For a while the topic gonna be closed.

Anyway we aren't dead with IV Render-Ware. Soon I'm planing to give out demo of:

-bronx_w
-bronx_w2
-bronx_e
-bronx_e2

and than BETA version, which gonna contain two first islands completed. We are working on brook_s now, all other parts of those isalnds are done.

PS: In end of summer I will get Algonquin. LIPTON finishing last fixes.

aStiffSausage
  • aStiffSausage

    Formerly Oksu

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2010
  • Finland

#26

Posted 18 August 2012 - 02:50 PM

@xXaerooff2Xx

You part of the team? Or what the heck you talking about?

elMarcoPL
  • elMarcoPL

    Tronco

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Mar 2011

#27

Posted 18 August 2012 - 02:50 PM

No, we have single project, older than this one..

Ivars
  • Ivars

    HiiiPoWeR

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2010
  • Latvia

#28

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:46 PM

QUOTE (xXaerooff2Xx @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 14:46)
For a while the topic gonna be closed.

Anyway we aren't dead with IV Render-Ware. Soon I'm planing to give out demo of:

-bronx_w
-bronx_w2
-bronx_e
-bronx_e2

and than BETA version, which gonna contain two first islands completed. We are working on brook_s now, all other parts of those isalnds are done.

PS: In end of summer I will get Algonquin. LIPTON finishing last fixes.

I can't wait! Im waiting this mod for months!


@Hellya: How you created ped/car paths?

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

#29

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:53 PM

QUOTE (ivars @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 15:46)
How you created ped/car paths?

Deniska's SA path scripts.

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#30

Posted 18 August 2012 - 04:12 PM

shadowmesh has no limits, the limits for shadowmesh come from the self engine
by this i mean, SA is too old to support stencil shadows from every single object

SA uses shadow mesh only for;
-Vehicles
-bridges
-Lamposts
-vegetation

Now, IV meshes are alot more complex, which require a more complex shadow mesh...i tried making every single building and stuff shadow mesh
but the game was running on 1-5 fps, its impossible for SA engine to load such amount of shadow meshes




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users