• Tyler

I'm not a prophet

• Mars
  • Best Poem 2014
    Best Story 2014
    Most Talented Writer 2014
    Newcomer of the Year 2010

Posted 22 July 2012 - 10:58 AM

Specifically, socio-scientific goals. Take for instance, the divide in our culture at concepts like Transhumanism. There's clear lines of thought that amaze me when it comes to these issues. On the one hand, I subscribe to the idea that we can better ourselves with artificial intelligence and just generally improve our lives with technological integration. That said, I can see the fear that arises at such vague concepts like this, especially when coupled with our intrinsic angst towards 'the future' and a constant barrage of negative connotations for technology.

It's a striking hypocrisy that we live in, though. We actively pursue enhancements in weaponry, ecology and intellectual stimulation with technology, but at the first sign of physical integration, everyone is suddenly a cynical, anti-technological humanist that wants back 'the old days'. The idea that self-inflicted evolution is somehow evil, or wrong, or to be that guy, an affront to God, just resonates with society at large.

Do we truly think it's a bad idea? Are we just cautious of what our actions could spawn? Have we been indirectly shoehorned by the cultural Zeitgeist of dystopian scopes of the future? I'd love to have some actual discussion on this stuff, as it seems for the most part that it's not an issue that's thought about. At least, not deeper than the superficial 'I, for one, welcome our new robot overlords' jokes and tropes.

Shiva.
  • Shiva.

Formerly shiva s

• Members

Posted 22 July 2012 - 11:23 AM Edited by shiva s, 22 July 2012 - 11:27 AM.