Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Rome Total War II

80 replies to this topic
Audiophile
  • Audiophile

    http://gabenislife.com/

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2012
  • Canada

#61

Posted 03 September 2013 - 02:39 PM

That's odd. Maybe it's your CPU.

Try playing around with the graphics settings, do you have them set on "extreme" because that could be why? Change things around in there if you haven't already done so.

Toke
  • Toke

    Shadow Staff

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2009
  • NATO
  • Contribution Award [Gangs]

#62

Posted 03 September 2013 - 02:49 PM

I have a question.


I'm more than willing if totally needed to run this game on low graphic settings if I must, my question is does the game still look good on the lowest of the low settings? Is the campaign map still pretty detailed and are the units not totally detail-less?
  • GTAking33 likes this

nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004
  • None

#63

Posted 04 September 2013 - 09:35 AM

QUOTE (Audiophile @ Wednesday, Sep 4 2013, 01:09)
That's odd. Maybe it's your CPU.

Try playing around with the graphics settings, do you have them set on "extreme" because that could be why? Change things around in there if you haven't already done so.

I have changed the game settings to the lowest settings but the game still freezes and quits when I click "End Turn".

El Diablo
  • El Diablo

    "The Devil"

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2002
  • Mars
  • April Fools Loser 2015

#64

Posted 04 September 2013 - 11:16 PM

QUOTE (nightwalker83 @ Wednesday, Sep 4 2013, 03:35)
the game still freezes and quits when I click "End Turn".

that's not a performance issue.

sounds to me like you just admitted to trying to play a cracked/pirated copy of the game.

aceofhicks
  • aceofhicks

    Democratic Socialist

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2011

#65

Posted 05 September 2013 - 12:38 AM

I really love the Total War games. Too bad I'll have to wait a few years to get a proper gaming PC.

I could barely run Empire, so I'm not even going to try to run this one. Looks fun though.

nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004
  • None

#66

Posted 05 September 2013 - 02:07 AM Edited by nightwalker83, 05 September 2013 - 02:18 AM.

QUOTE (El_Diablo @ Thursday, Sep 5 2013, 09:46)
QUOTE (nightwalker83 @ Wednesday, Sep 4 2013, 03:35)
the game still freezes and quits when I click "End Turn".

that's not a performance issue.

sounds to me like you just admitted to trying to play a cracked/pirated copy of the game.

No, I paid $80 - $90 for the Steam version.

Edit:

The Total War Rome 2 system requirements as on
http://us.download-s...ome-2-3418.html

PC System Requirements

OS : Windows XP / Vista / 7 / 8

CPU: 2 GHz Intel Dual Core / 2.6 GHz Intel Single Core

RAM: 1 GB (XP), 2 GB (Vista / Windows7 / Windows8)

Video Card: 512 MB VRAM, Shader model 3

HDD: 30 GB

DirectX: 9.0c

Adler
  • Adler

    Hello, Smith. ( -`)ノ

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2009
  • None

#67

Posted 05 September 2013 - 04:19 AM Edited by Adler, 05 September 2013 - 04:29 AM.

I'm honestly pretty disappointed. A lot of people, myself included, have had problems with this game. I've got lag issues and low-poly texture issues regardless of settings, and the AI for this game is laughable. I can't shake the feeling that this is just a glorified Shogun 2 expansion pack as Napoleon was to Empire.

Patch on Friday should hopefully resolve some of these issues as well as include "AI tweaks." A refined Rome sequel at launch was probably too much to ask for, but at least I've been able to find a fix for the low-poly textures bug.

EDIT: If you guys are having any problems try some of these fixes.

nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004
  • None

#68

Posted 05 September 2013 - 09:02 AM

@Adler,

I have started a support ticket on the Sega Support site! I couldn't find one for Creative Assembly.

OchyGTA
  • OchyGTA

    Rap game GTA forums

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2010

#69

Posted 06 September 2013 - 07:03 AM

Ok it only took me a year and a bit but I finally got round to updating the OP. Expect further updates in line with the games progression.


El Diablo
  • El Diablo

    "The Devil"

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2002
  • Mars
  • April Fools Loser 2015

#70

Posted 08 September 2013 - 12:19 AM

so is anyone playing this??

I started last night.
my first campaign will be Rome, House of Julia. they seem to have the best faction benefits and starting territories.

 

after I get deep into my Julia campaign I'm already excited to start a Successor Kingdom game using Egypt. or maybe I'll go with the Greek States using Sparta.one way or another, it's always a blast going from the traditional Roman army (swords and shields) to the badass Pikemen of Egypt and Greece.
back in the original Rome - Total War the Pikemen were some of the only troops in the entire world who could go toe-to-toe with Roman heavy infantry.

 

also to anyone else playing this for the first time; DO THE PROLOGUE.

it's a great introduction to all of the new changes in this game. battlefield camera controls have been changed drastically. it's a good improvement but it takes a moment to get used to.


nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004
  • None

#71

Posted 08 September 2013 - 01:39 AM

I tried playing the game on my laptop and it runs without any major problems although, maybe a bit slow.


OchyGTA
  • OchyGTA

    Rap game GTA forums

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2010

#72

Posted 08 September 2013 - 03:14 AM

First patch for the game was out yesterday, full list is below.

 

 

Here's the full patch notes:

  • Higher average frame rates with out-of-the-box settings (more conservative settings)
  • Fix for DirectX 10.0 Lighting issue reported - environment map wasn't being created leading to black reflections.
  • Fixed a sunken Samothrace temple complex world wonder on the Campaign map.
  • Fixed defender being able to create encampments when involved in a combined battle.
  • Added some localisation fixes to audio packs in French, Russian, Italian, German and Spanish.
  • Fixed lock up in Multiplayer Campaign battles when a desynchronisation occurs. Players are now notified of the desynchronisation, and the battle ends.
  • Fixed Multiplayer Campaign battle "overrun" prompt, which was not being shown to a player if they were a reinforcement and the other player was spectating.
  • Fixed corrupt loading screen when changing to fullscreen / windowed mode after a battle, and then going into another battle.
  • Fix for Multiplayer Campaign host being unable to move the camera in campaign, after reloading a save game on some rare occasions.
  • Safe guards added to prevent a very rare crash in coastal assault battles.
  • Fix for game lock up during end turn sequence / Celtic AI faction turn in single player campaign.
  • Improved AI use of walls on Athens large settlement battle map.
  • Improvements to Auto-resolve balancing in Single Player and Multiplayer Campaign modes.
  • Aligned ship unit upkeep costs with land units - made mercenary ships more expensive and non-mercenary ships cheaper.
  • Fixed slow turning rates for transport ships.
  • Improved civil war balancing in relation to campaign difficulty.
  • Fixed vehicle ground pipes, to prevent Siege Towers becoming immovable when they are left empty during the Deployment Phase of a Siege Battle, then units were moved into the Siege Tower when the battle has started.
  • Fixed bug when ramming sideways into moving ship, which caused the ramming ship stick to target and strafe along with it in battles.
  • Reduced the chance of Naval units sometimes clipping through the ground or harbours / ports during Port Assault battles when attempting to disembark.
  • Fixed issue where armies would be stuck in Muster stance and could not exit that stance in Campaign modes.
  • Fixed case where spies could get stuck on top of fleets in Campaign modes.
  • Fixed rare post battle lockup in Campaign modes.
  • Improved unit pathfinding in Barbarian village battle maps (fixed no go zones).
  • Fix for Multiplayer Campaign lock up when the player was reinforcing an AI ally who was victorious in battle, causing the player to become stuck with no victory / continue / exit battle user interface functionality.
  • Fix for cultural influence bonus from the Shrine of Neptune building
  • Fix for "Zone of Controls" of hidden armies being visible to both players in head to head Multiplayer Campaign mode on mouse-over.
  • Assorted minor fixes to city battle maps.
  • Fix for "Rome Wasn't Built in a Day" achievement failing to unlock when its requirements were met in some situations.

 

http://www.computera...d-one-incoming/


GTSabreFan
  • GTSabreFan

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2012

#73

Posted 09 September 2013 - 01:34 AM

Total War Rome 2 is epic, but I prefer the musket and cannons days of Empire

 

Ship combat has improved though :)


nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004
  • None

#74

Posted 09 September 2013 - 06:51 AM

@OchyGTA,

 

How big is the actual patch? I had to redownload the whole 10GB of the game on my laptop,. The stupid thing would not allow me to play the game I transferred from my desktop.


baptiste
  • baptiste

    Docking request accepted

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005

#75

Posted 09 September 2013 - 10:14 PM

Hmm I'm really having fun with this one. Rome 1 was my favorite in the series and for the moment I am not dissapointed. They seem to have fixed certain balance issues on the unit side that plagued Rome 1 and I actually really like managing things per region.

 

I'm currently on turn 100 or so of my first roman campaign and its pretty damn good. Also started a multiplayer campaign with a friend with macedon/sparta and thats working out as well.

 

Only issue I have with the game so far is the ridiculous amount of time it takes to pass turns due to the insane amount of factions there are in the game.


El Diablo
  • El Diablo

    "The Devil"

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2002
  • Mars
  • April Fools Loser 2015

#76

Posted 09 September 2013 - 10:23 PM


Only issue I have with the game so far is the ridiculous amount of time it takes to pass turns due to the insane amount of factions there are in the game.

you turned off "Show AI Moves" right?

 

that speeds up the time it takes for each turn.


OchyGTA
  • OchyGTA

    Rap game GTA forums

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2010

#77

Posted 09 September 2013 - 10:55 PM

@OchyGTA,

 

How big is the actual patch? I had to redownload the whole 10GB of the game on my laptop,. The stupid thing would not allow me to play the game I transferred from my desktop.

 

Sorry mate I can't answer that one as I don't own the game yet. I've looked around to try and find a number but to no avail.


Adler
  • Adler

    Hello, Smith. ( -`)ノ

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2009
  • None

#78

Posted 10 September 2013 - 02:20 AM

I'm sorry to have a post a 40 min video here, but Joe's recent review on his experience of Rome II is worth checking out of you want an unbiased account of the game before you buy it. His thoughts reflect mine here, and is also more comprehensive than what I can tell you because at the moment, I can't even run the game at playable framerates even though my pc setup could run Shogun 2 (fully patched, and Fall of the Samurai runs the same) at Medium-High settings smoothly.

 

 

I really wanted this game to be good. I wanted it to follow from the successes that Shogun 2 had, the improvements that it made, but that's not what my experience was so far. Maybe after patches I can get this f*cking game to run at playable fps at all.

 

If you are having fun with the game, then you can ignore this, but if you expected the game to live up to the hype and are planning on buying it, then hold on to your money until it's fully patched at least.


baptiste
  • baptiste

    Docking request accepted

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005

#79

Posted 10 September 2013 - 03:15 AM Edited by baptiste, 10 September 2013 - 03:16 AM.

Well, all TW games are majorly bugged at launch, its to be expected with such large games with so many different systems interacting with one another.  That being said I'm surprised that I've personally not seen that many bugs. Either way, most of the major bugs are fixed relatively fast.


nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004
  • None

#80

Posted 10 September 2013 - 07:04 AM

Now that I've bought it I can't be bothered playing it.


Majestic81
  • Majestic81

    Love For Sale

  • The Lost MC
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2012
  • Unknown

#81

Posted 13 September 2013 - 07:44 AM

Really wanted to play this but my PC ran it with sh*tty framerates. ffs..





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users