Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[WIP|IV-EFLC] GTA III Rage Classic

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1,075 replies to this topic
Garju67
  • Garju67

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2011

#901

Posted 10 August 2012 - 06:42 PM

QUOTE (Intensified @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 20:42)
Just wondering: What'll happen to the closed tunnel upon Shoreside Vale? That tunnel what's blocked with Roadblocks (And heard by rumors leads to another city). Gonna close it too, or make the feature Rockstar didn't show there?

Nope closed too. wink.gif

Wass
  • Wass

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2011

#902

Posted 10 August 2012 - 06:50 PM Edited by Wass, 10 August 2012 - 06:52 PM.

QUOTE (bammargera @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 19:40)
Ok update on my issues, I realised I was playing the IV version of SA:IV yesterday, I am having the same buildings disappearing etc on IV:SA too so whatever my issue is it's with the EFLC version only.

That's weird,cuz I have this problem only on 3RC but IV:SA works normally without any disappearings tounge.gif (both of eflc and iv versions)
@Blaster:you can open the demo "anim" archive and replace the walk/sprint anim only tounge2.gif

Jestic
  • Jestic

    Chris

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2005
  • Netherlands
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Conversion 2014 [ViIV for GTANY Contribution]
    Best Map 2011 [IVSA]
    Modding Milestone [IVSA/Ped Paths]
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition][Contribution]

#903

Posted 10 August 2012 - 07:13 PM

QUOTE (Wass @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 20:50)
QUOTE (bammargera @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 19:40)
Ok update on my issues, I realised I was playing the IV version of SA:IV yesterday, I am having the same buildings disappearing etc on IV:SA too so whatever my issue is it's with the EFLC version only.

That's weird,cuz I have this problem only on 3RC but IV:SA works normally without any disappearings tounge.gif (both of eflc and iv versions)
@Blaster:you can open the demo "anim" archive and replace the walk/sprint anim only tounge2.gif

I know how to do it, I just didn't thought of it in time, it's not needed anymore when there is no update planned.

SNAKE DOC
  • SNAKE DOC

    \o/

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2008
  • None

#904

Posted 10 August 2012 - 07:15 PM

QUOTE (Intensified @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 19:27)
It's the Copmodel. Spawn the LSPD Cop with SNT: Crash.

Nice find mister!

Here's a quick-fix: copy 'componentpeds.img' from "EFLC\TBoGT\pc\models\cdimages" to "EFLC\TLAD\pc\models\cdimages" and the same crash shouldn't occur. I had the cops chasing and shooting at me for 15 ish min with no crashes.

Sebianoti
  • Sebianoti

    Graphic designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jul 2010
  • United-Kingdom

#905

Posted 10 August 2012 - 08:11 PM

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 18:33)
QUOTE (Garju67 @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 18:30)
Fake lights ? What you mean ?
+1
I've been wondering what they're referring to ever since someone first mentioned it a couple weeks ago. From what i've seen, all IIIRC and IVSA lights use the same method that vanilla GTAIV uses: traditional lights inside the wdr file.

Hmm, well whenever you run into a lamp post the light never goes out, it's also weirdly floating once you run into it, they don't fall over like in IV

Compeast
  • Compeast

    Classic Enthusiast

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2012
  • None
  • Best Total Overhaul 2017 [GTA: Underground]

#906

Posted 10 August 2012 - 08:16 PM

QUOTE (Garju67 @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 18:42)
QUOTE (Intensified @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 20:42)
Just wondering: What'll happen to the closed tunnel upon Shoreside Vale? That tunnel what's blocked with Roadblocks (And heard by rumors leads to another city). Gonna close it too, or make the feature Rockstar didn't show there?

Nope closed too. wink.gif

Okay, thanks!

@Blaster_nl What PM? Empty inbox *forever alone* lol

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, GTAF Lurker

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • United-Kingdom

#907

Posted 10 August 2012 - 09:01 PM

Just a visual example of the buildings disappearing bug, this time no traffic spawned at all, other than that everything was fine, I explored Sal's mansion for a bit and then everything started disappearing, jumped off the cliff and died, the image below is right after spawning at the hospital.

user posted image

Garju67
  • Garju67

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2011

#908

Posted 10 August 2012 - 09:11 PM

QUOTE (bammargera @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 23:01)
Just a visual example of the buildings disappearing bug, this time no traffic spawned at all, other than that everything was fine, I explored Sal's mansion for a bit and then everything started disappearing, jumped off the cliff and died, the image below is right after spawning at the hospital.

user posted image

Ah damn, i had the same bug with GTA2 Rage. Never found a way to fix it... confused.gif

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, GTAF Lurker

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • United-Kingdom

#909

Posted 10 August 2012 - 09:15 PM

Damn, it'eird that it loads generic objects fine though, but the most odd thing is that I only seem to get this issue with the EFLC version of SA:IV and not the Vanilla IV.

Will be interesting to see if the IV version of III Rage Classic will work for me or not.

Garju67
  • Garju67

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2011

#910

Posted 10 August 2012 - 09:16 PM

QUOTE (bammargera @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 23:15)
Weird that it loads generic objects fine though, but the most odd thing is that I only seem to get this issue with the EFLC version of SA:IV and not the Vanilla IV.

Will be interesting to see if the IV version of III Rage Classic will work for me or not.

Indeed. I guess beta testing will start soon. If you are ok, i can make a application. So ?

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    R.I.P.ingPang

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Total Overhaul 2016 [Shine o' Vice] [Contribution]

#911

Posted 10 August 2012 - 09:20 PM

Due to the fact that lamp posts load, it seems to be an issue with the map files that are loaded as "streamed" instead of "always loaded".
Open your images.txt (or equivalent on mod/dlc) and change all 0 to 1, 0 is streamed and 1 is always loaded.
Also, maybe the problem is caused by bad img files? If you feel like doing a bunch of crap that might not even work: extract all files from the imgs and make new empty imgs and add all the stuff back in. monocle.gif

Garju67
  • Garju67

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2011

#912

Posted 11 August 2012 - 12:51 AM

user posted image

tounge.gif

Reminder : We really need a vehicle converter. Please people help us, and join the team now ! smile.gif

wahgah
  • wahgah

    Lost In Postion

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2006

#913

Posted 11 August 2012 - 01:08 AM Edited by wahgah, 11 August 2012 - 01:17 AM.

can anyone give me a heads up on what walk and run are in the anim.img? I don't see those key words in there.

EDIT:: didn't realise that player_move was both walk and run, thought I could have johnny walk and niko run...

SNAKE DOC
  • SNAKE DOC

    \o/

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2008
  • None

#914

Posted 11 August 2012 - 01:35 AM

QUOTE (wahgah @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 02:08)
can anyone give me a heads up on what walk and run are in the anim.img? I don't see those key words in there.

EDIT:: didn't realise that player_move was both walk and run, thought I could have johnny walk and niko run...

Actually, you can. By using this script by HippieCommunist. I've always disliked the way they run in EFLC, so this script has come in handy.

Squirlkiller
  • Squirlkiller

    Ur Girlfriend's Taco

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2009

#915

Posted 11 August 2012 - 02:54 AM

i called them fake lights, because of the texture. it just looked "fake" seeing the texture of the light never rotate when you moved. And the fact that the texture doesn't seem to be centered with where the light should be emitted Also because I remember in IVSA beta 2, when you knocked over a lamppost, the light stayed on while it was falling (and possibly when on the floor as well), where as in IV, it turns off right when you crash it

Dingleman
  • Dingleman

    Big Mouthed Prick

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2005
  • Australia

#916

Posted 11 August 2012 - 05:03 AM

Finally got it working, and it was definitely worth the hassle. With the RAGE lighting, walking around the streets felt like a first time experience all over again. This has to be the first time since 2001 that the city has seemed so dark and intimidating to me, and it's really brought out some sweet nostalgia. blush.gif

Took a couple of pictures.

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

Great job converting this guys, and especially Garju.

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    OG

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#917

Posted 11 August 2012 - 05:04 AM

In that first pic, it looks like Claude is waring makeup.

yurban
  • yurban

    Kindly guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2010

#918

Posted 11 August 2012 - 10:35 AM Edited by yurban, 11 August 2012 - 10:44 AM.

QUOTE (dingleman @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 09:03)
user posted image

This screen is very good, just bad that ground textures are ugly, is it possible to replace them?

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    R.I.P.ingPang

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Total Overhaul 2016 [Shine o' Vice] [Contribution]

#919

Posted 11 August 2012 - 10:57 AM

Great pictures. I agree with yurban about the roads too, too much specular destroying the texture.

Compeast
  • Compeast

    Classic Enthusiast

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2012
  • None
  • Best Total Overhaul 2017 [GTA: Underground]

#920

Posted 11 August 2012 - 10:59 AM

Indeed, those screens make LC look intimidating. I love it.

yurban
  • yurban

    Kindly guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2010

#921

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:17 AM

QUOTE (Garju67 @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 04:51)
user posted image

Cool, but strange lights on cranes, also night windows must be real tobj and have other (night ver.) textures.

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    R.I.P.ingPang

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Total Overhaul 2016 [Shine o' Vice] [Contribution]

#922

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:19 AM

QUOTE (yurban @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 11:17)
night windows must be real tobj and have other (night ver.) textures.

Why not night ver.+emissivenight shader? It seems to look ok in those screenshots. However they are a bit too bright, lower the multiplier or the vertex colors please garju. smile.gif

yurban
  • yurban

    Kindly guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2010

#923

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:22 AM

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 15:19)
QUOTE (yurban @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 11:17)
night windows must be real tobj and have other (night ver.) textures.

Why not night ver.+emissivenight shader? It seems to look ok in those screenshots. However they are a bit too bright, lower the multiplier or the vertex colors please garju. smile.gif

I mean that not whole window should be bright, just glass, its possible just with tobj, you can't set standart +night texture in one model.

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    R.I.P.ingPang

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Total Overhaul 2016 [Shine o' Vice] [Contribution]

#924

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:28 AM

Ah i see what you mean: the vertex coloring method lights up the window frames and other incorrect things which can be fixed with custom tobj objects.

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, GTAF Lurker

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • United-Kingdom

#925

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:30 AM

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Friday, Aug 10 2012, 22:20)
Due to the fact that lamp posts load, it seems to be an issue with the map files that are loaded as "streamed" instead of "always loaded".
Open your images.txt (or equivalent on mod/dlc) and change all 0 to 1, 0 is streamed and 1 is always loaded.
Also, maybe the problem is caused by bad img files? If you feel like doing a bunch of crap that might not even work: extract all files from the imgs and make new empty imgs and add all the stuff back in. monocle.gif

I'm having trouble finding the "images.txt" with the lines you talked about.

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    R.I.P.ingPang

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Total Overhaul 2016 [Shine o' Vice] [Contribution]

#926

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:31 AM

The equivalent file for the IVSA version might be in pc/ivsa/img/ folder, try that. icon14.gif

yurban
  • yurban

    Kindly guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2010

#927

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:36 AM

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 15:31)
The equivalent file for the IVSA version might be in pc/ivsa/img/ folder, try that. icon14.gif

Does it change game performance on not so powerful PCs?

And guys, sorry for late question - are there xbox textures in mod? Why do roads look so?

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    R.I.P.ingPang

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Total Overhaul 2016 [Shine o' Vice] [Contribution]

#928

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:37 AM

QUOTE (yurban @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 11:36)
Does it change game performance on not so powerful PCs?
I don't think so, the kb/mb size of the map is so small (especially compared to IV's LC) that it shouldn't cause issues to constantly have it loaded. But that's just a theory.

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, GTAF Lurker

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • United-Kingdom

#929

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:44 AM

Yes you are right about the location, so I can test that for IV:SA, but as for 3RC I think the right file is "C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\EFLC\TLAD\III\img\images_iii.txt" The contents of which are below, but unlike the SA one there are no 0's or 1's to change.

QUOTE
III/img/script_iii
common/data/cdimages/script_network
common/data/cdimages/carrec

pc/anim/cuts
pc/anim/cutsprops
pc/anim/anim

pc/data/maps/props/E1_xref

pc/models/cdimages/componentpeds
pc/models/cdimages/pedprops
III/vehicles/vehicles_iii
III/weapons/weapons_iii

pc/data/cdimages/navmeshes
III/vehicles/paths_iii
pc/data/cdimages/scriptTxds
III/img/radar_iii

III/map/industNE/industNE
III/map/industNW/industNW
III/map/industSE/industSE
III/map/industSW/industSW
III/map/mono/mono
III/map/portroads/portroads
III/map/props/ext_veg
III/map/props/salc
III/map/props/making
III/map/props/temppart
III/map/props/vegapart2
III/map/props/bridge_demo
III/map/props/comlod_demo
III/map/props/limits_demo
III/map/props/nitelites
III/map/props/lights
III/map/props/wtd_indust


Also another interesting screen showing generic objects and traffic spawning this time
user posted image

Dingleman
  • Dingleman

    Big Mouthed Prick

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2005
  • Australia

#930

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:56 AM

QUOTE (yurban @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 20:35)
QUOTE (dingleman @ Saturday, Aug 11 2012, 09:03)
[Snap]

This screen is very good, just bad that ground textures are ugly, is it possible to replace them?

I'd say the fact my texture settings were on medium are partly to blame.

Here's from another angle on high.

user posted image

Oh, and by chance, on my first attempt to snap this in the editor lightening just so happened to flash. So I couldn't help but make a GIF. tounge2.gif

user posted image




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users