11 replies to this topic
blitz
  • blitz

pizzaqueen <3

• Andolini Mafia Family
  • None
  • Newcomer of the Year 2011

Posted 19 May 2012 - 06:46 PM

Hey there, for school I've started coding (HTML5) a blog site from a template I found online. It was suggested to me that I somehow incorporate a 'CMS' or a 'Content Management System,' however I'm pretty much a complete newbie here that barely knows the basics, thus not so sure what it is.

Anyone mind explaining the concept of a 'CMS' and what it's used for? Also, how do I incorporate one towards my HTML page (already fully coded and complete).

Any help will be appreciated, thanks.

-b.

coin-god
  • coin-god

High Roller

• $outh $ide Hoodz

Posted 19 May 2012 - 07:15 PM

Check this out Blitz:
http://css-tricks.co...rst-simple-cms/

You need some basic PHP knowledge.

blitz
  • blitz

pizzaqueen <3

• Andolini Mafia Family
  • None

Posted 19 May 2012 - 07:49 PM

QUOTE (goin-god @ Saturday, May 19 2012, 14:15)
Check this out Blitz:

Ok, thanks coin-god.

I was wondering if it was possible to simply port the HTML files into a CMS such as Joomla or Wordpress and manage it from there?

coin-god
  • coin-god

High Roller

• $outh $ide Hoodz

Posted 19 May 2012 - 08:01 PM

QUOTE (blitz @ Saturday, May 19 2012, 16:49)
QUOTE (goin-god @ Saturday, May 19 2012, 14:15)
Check this out Blitz:

Ok, thanks coin-god.

I was wondering if it was possible to simply port the HTML files into a CMS such as Joomla or Wordpress and manage it from there?

Well, in Joomla you have the option to make pages with custom HTML code. But I can't say much, depends on what exactly you have done in HTML.

blitz
  • blitz

pizzaqueen <3

• Andolini Mafia Family
  • None

Posted 19 May 2012 - 08:50 PM

I downloaded Joomla, however I must admit I'm a bit lost. I'm not sure if you're talking personal experience here or anything, but any idea how to make a page with custom HTML?