Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Wants good performance at 1280x1024

14 replies to this topic
MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Simply divine!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#1

Posted 19 May 2012 - 11:31 AM

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 3000+, 3.0GHZ
2GB DDR2 RAM
ASUS AMD Radeon HD5670 1GB DDR3
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
GTA IV 1.0.7.0 (I don't want to change to 1.0.4.0), no mods.

I have everything set to lowest as possible, at 1280x1024, as seen here.
http://imgur.com/SWwjS
I'm getting 30-60 FPS, with an average of 45 FPS.

With Auto Configure, I got 15-30 FPS with an average of 20 FPS. Auto Configure my ass.

Anyways, I want to have at least 35 FPS average at 1280x1024 (because it makes the game looks SO much better than 1024x768), with decent graphic settings.

What should I increase, what command lines should I put?


Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#2

Posted 19 May 2012 - 11:54 AM

That CPU is too weak to play it better.

A solution is using VisualIV. smile.gif

marmoo
  • marmoo

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2010

#3

Posted 19 May 2012 - 11:56 AM

You can't do what you want to do with that CPU

Also, average of 45 FPS with an Athlon?..take it..don't get greedy tounge.gif

MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Simply divine!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#4

Posted 19 May 2012 - 12:04 PM

I knew it! Well, I'm going to try some settings, and hopefully make the game experience even better. If not, I'll stick to what I'm left with. I'm getting a new computer in 2 years time, so it doesn't matter anyways.
At least I can play the game, better than on Geforce 6600GT, believe me I've tried that. No textures loaded, everything was black. smile.gif


MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Simply divine!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#5

Posted 19 May 2012 - 01:39 PM Edited by MrMateczko, 19 May 2012 - 03:59 PM.

Finally got the performance I wanted! I used VisualIV as PrometheusX said. Not only the game ran better with better graphic settings, all brown and beige textures I had before are gone! Everything is more colorful. Now I can enjoy the game with 35+ FPS, with these settings.

user posted image

BTW If you have crappy PC like mine, don't turn on shadows, even to low. They drop my FPS to about 20.

marmoo
  • marmoo

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2010

#6

Posted 19 May 2012 - 07:29 PM

with visual iv, do you just have to download the latest one or do you have to download in order?

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#7

Posted 19 May 2012 - 07:31 PM

QUOTE (marmoo @ Saturday, May 19 2012, 19:29)
with visual iv, do you just have to download the latest one or do you have to download in order?

Just download the latest one. smile.gif

marmoo
  • marmoo

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2010

#8

Posted 19 May 2012 - 07:44 PM

thxs

Sorry for hijack lol

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Die Hoodrat DIE!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010

#9

Posted 21 May 2012 - 02:39 AM

its great that you got it run, congratulations. a few things to think about in the future... that machine is dual core (you meant x2 6000+ right?) with windows 7 and 2 gigs of ram. i had similar problems with 64 bit vista also. hd 5670 can run medium/good low settings, but would need quad core. x2 6000+ can run 1280x1024, but would need something like 8800gt or hd 4850 (i had these setups at that resolution).

MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Simply divine!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#10

Posted 21 May 2012 - 02:20 PM

Yes, I meant X2 6000+, not 3000+, typo.
I'm enjoying the game right now, completing the story. Man does VisualIV does a great job of making the Libery City look MUCH better.

Dr. John
  • Dr. John

    Women and Wine

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2011
  • India

#11

Posted 21 May 2012 - 02:22 PM

VisualIV = Performance + Quality
Environment Mod = Quality but still people like it and use it.

You are lucky. My avg. fps is 30 even with VisualIV. tounge.gif

Warlord.
  • Warlord.

    :O

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2004

#12

Posted 21 May 2012 - 04:42 PM

Wait, did VisualIV increase your performance?

MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Simply divine!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#13

Posted 21 May 2012 - 06:08 PM

Yea, why shouldn't it? There are some bonus files included with it that gives more FPS.

Rinnag
  • Rinnag

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 24 May 2012

#14

Posted 24 May 2012 - 06:02 AM

i had similar problems with 64 bit vista also. hd 5670 can run medium/good low settings, but would need quad core. x2 6000+ can run 1280x1024, but would need something like 8800gt or hd 4850 (i had these setups at that resolution). user posted image

MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Simply divine!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#15

Posted 24 May 2012 - 10:04 PM

I just completed the storyline, had no problems except for two minor ones:
1. Some parts of Algonquin and Alderney dropped my FPS to 20, but I could lived with it.
2 In some cutscenes, the screen was shaking. Is that a known bug with VisualIV?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users