What should I look out for?

10 replies to this topic
iixwh3l4nxii
  • iixwh3l4nxii

Professional

• Members

Posted 10 May 2012 - 08:40 PM

Okay I'm getting GTA IV soon and I just want to know what to be cautious of,

for example, I've been playing GTA SA for like 6 years now and I know that I need V1 to get mods as v2 doesn't allow you to, it's pretty simple really.

but for GTA IV I'm aware there are many patches for the game, is there a certain patch I need to have to download mods(mainly Weapons and Vehicles)?

if I download a too high patch can I never install mods again(I'm only cautious of this as v2 GTA SA can be downgraded to v1 for SAMP but mods will NOT work)?

Also after seeing a few videos on youtube it looks like most mods don't support GTA IV's vehicle damage system. Are there any mods that do support this, and if so, what should I look out for?

Also, for GTA SA there where many tools used for easily installing mods, like GGMM and GTA img tool, and the files where as simple as a dff(model) and a txd(texture) for most mods, is there more... or less, to this?

Just fill me in on the basics if you could, I'd hugely appreciate it.

Thanks guys

(also a bit off topic, anyone know why it says i'm from Uruguay? XD )

ZBNYNC
  • ZBNYNC

Texture Modder

• Members

Posted 10 May 2012 - 10:18 PM

My recommendation for a patch would either be patch 1.0.4.0. or 1.0.7.0. Those are the two most common patches that people use.
Both patches will work with vehicle mods but 1.0.4.0. is more for if you want to mess with ENB whereas 1.0.7.0. works a lot better with certain major script mods.
With patches you can upgrade them but you normally can't downgrade them. So you couldn't go from 1.0.7.0. to 1.0.4.0. too easily.
No car mods use IV's original damage system, it all depends on the model itself and how the author made it.