Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Mistakes by R* on the PC Port.

44 replies to this topic
NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#1

Posted 07 May 2012 - 10:36 PM

Bad alpha bugs on the night model of this motel:
http://i50.tinypic.com/zn69mh.jpg
Really screwed up textures on this building in Little Havana
http://i45.tinypic.com/34gvz1x.jpg
Textureless bar
http://i50.tinypic.com/bzs6a.jpg

ChopTheDog.
  • ChopTheDog.

    War. War never changes.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2010
  • None

#2

Posted 08 May 2012 - 09:22 AM

Cool find! icon14.gif

NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#3

Posted 08 May 2012 - 03:20 PM

Hopefully someone can fix this stuff. biggrin.gif

GTAIndonesia
  • GTAIndonesia

    Gone

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2011

#4

Posted 08 May 2012 - 03:30 PM

Uhhh, they didn't even placed the Teargas for no reasons.
Lazy f*cks.

xNCx
  • xNCx

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 May 2008
  • None

#5

Posted 08 May 2012 - 07:24 PM

Some map bugs were fixed, search over gtagarage, it was there :]. But don't remember mods name, sorry.

Tycek
  • Tycek

    Being a bastard works.

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2009
  • Poland

#6

Posted 08 May 2012 - 08:30 PM

Oh jeez. They should give us our money back, get their buggy game, dig a big hole somewhere in Nevada and dropped all the disks there. It doesn't matter that Vice is masterpiece in terms of atmosphere, soundtrack and fun. It does matter how many graphical bugs it has. One was on background hotel on the end of Ocean Drive, second in some back alley in Little Havana (it's the same on PS2 BTW) and third on some very important rail near the airport. How could I play this game with bugs like that? Do you know how many graphical errors your houlier then thou San Andreas got? It was like bug fest, but it doesn't matter right now. It does matter that VC got three of them. And yes, R* are lazy f*cks, next time they shouldn't even move their lazy butts and port the game. It would be better for all of us.

MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#7

Posted 08 May 2012 - 09:52 PM

Tycek, watch out with your sarkazm, Zee might come up and troll you up.

Kalvin
  • Kalvin

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#8

Posted 08 May 2012 - 09:53 PM

You do know "Sarkazm" is spelt Sarcasm, right?..
Right? D:

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#9

Posted 08 May 2012 - 10:04 PM

QUOTE (ManDog @ Tuesday, May 8 2012, 21:53)
You do know "Sarkazm" is spelt Sarcasm, right?..
Right? D:

facedesk.gif

This is a facedesk. I'm not serious btw.

MrMateczko
  • MrMateczko

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2011
  • Poland

#10

Posted 08 May 2012 - 10:30 PM

QUOTE (PrometheusX @ Wednesday, May 9 2012, 00:04)
QUOTE (ManDog @ Tuesday, May 8 2012, 21:53)
You do know "Sarkazm" is spelt Sarcasm, right?..
Right? D:

facedesk.gif

This is a facedesk. I'm not serious btw.

What have I done... panic.gif

NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#11

Posted 08 May 2012 - 10:41 PM

Sadly the fixes didn't address the hotel or weird building textures on that one building in L. Havana.

Heihachi_73
  • Heihachi_73

    Hey! My cab!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2006

#12

Posted 09 May 2012 - 04:01 AM

A lot of the model/texture mistakes were carried over from the PS2 version, such as wrongly scaled buildings. The PC version did fix the inverse bumper on the Pony/Rumpo/Topfun vans though (although it comes back when the vehicle is resprayed).

The building north of Sunshine Autos (which has roof access) - the door texture closest to Sunshine Autos is actually smaller than Tommy.
The building two west from Screw This in Little Havana (opposite the Sunshine Autos billboard) - the door frame is crooked.
The building behind the 'Beds' building in Little Haiti (near the Pay-n-Spray) is barely taller than Tommy himself. If Tommy is only around 5'10", then this building is barely 6 feet tall on one side!
Billy's Records in Little Haiti is also undersized (the doors are only about an inch or so taller than Tommy).
The butcher next to the Romero funeral centre - Carnicero Romero (butcher) is the right size but the same building has another, completely different, building texture on the side (front?) which is also way undersized.
Same with the Haitian shacks/slums (including Auntie Poulet's house). The Voodoo looks huge next to the house it's parked.

Someone obviously didn't do the research when sizing these buildings. Most doors I know of are roughly 80-84 inches (6'8" or 7') or 200-210cm in height.

Tear gas was taken out of the game since lower-end systems apparently would have dropped to slideshow speed with the particle effects (tear gas actually was used in one mission however). Picture the average 2-3 year old PC in 2002 - a Pentium 3 (600-866MHz) with Windows 98SE/ME, 128 or 256MB of SDRAM, a 32MB 4x AGP graphics card and the obligatory 10-20GB 5400rpm hard drive, and of course a CD-ROM drive/burner (hence the GTA3 series being released on multiple CDs and not a DVD like the PS2 version).

Kalvin
  • Kalvin

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#13

Posted 09 May 2012 - 11:39 AM

These bugs was actually already in the game, then re-made in Xbox. That's why bugs are fixed, and yes. The teargas is used in one mission; The Job.
I'm surprised that they took it out for low-end pcs, yet they still use it in a mission XD

NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#14

Posted 11 May 2012 - 06:23 PM

Can somebody contact the maker of this mod(http://www.gtagarage...ow.php?id=11416) and tell him about the hotel and building texture bug? biggrin.gif

Los Santos Pedestrian
  • Los Santos Pedestrian

    Then as it was, but again it will be

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#15

Posted 12 May 2012 - 05:44 PM

It just shows how rushed the game was. R* was so lazy they couldn't even fix these things. It's probably the worst GTA I've ever played tbh.

winme05
  • winme05

    Ignore username. It's ATOS Productions.

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jul 2010

#16

Posted 16 May 2012 - 11:14 AM

Actually, I didn't even notice this in the game!

Respect to NewportByChrysler for his good eye! Have some cookies, dude : cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif !

NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#17

Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:45 PM

QUOTE (winme05 @ Wednesday, May 16 2012, 06:14)
Actually, I didn't even notice this in the game!

Respect to NewportByChrysler for his good eye! Have some cookies, dude : cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif !

Thanks, man! biggrin.gif

NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#18

Posted 16 May 2012 - 11:11 PM

Just found this, all the crates with this text are the same.(pixelated as hell)
http://i50.tinypic.com/2z3xkde.jpg

sibs44
  • sibs44

    Ghetto Star

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#19

Posted 17 May 2012 - 12:17 PM

R* can't do PC ports. Simple as that. Even in IV they msessed up the timecyc and some shadows effects.

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, Graphics Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • None

#20

Posted 17 May 2012 - 06:24 PM

Well that's a bit extreme, it seems that R* don't really adapt the quality well, but now playing the III era games on PC are way better than the console counterparts, in 5 years time IV will be able to be played on practically any desktop PC at high settings.

Vintage88
  • Vintage88

    Lost MC | VP

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2011

#21

Posted 18 May 2012 - 02:47 AM

QUOTE (bammargera @ Thursday, May 17 2012, 13:24)
Well that's a bit extreme, it seems that R* don't really adapt the quality well, but now playing the III era games on PC are way better than the console counterparts, in 5 years time IV will be able to be played on practically any desktop PC at high settings.

IV being playable on a PC...

HA! That's a funny one.

radioman
  • radioman

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2006

#22

Posted 18 May 2012 - 07:05 PM

Well, where Rockstar made their biggest mistake with IV was when they did the PC port off the X-Box version and not the Playstation version like they did on the III era games...

Cause, look at it this way, with the III era(which were ported off the Playstation), had only one (1) MINOR patch for III and VC(that were obsolete with newer hardware and driver versions) and with SA, the ONLY patch it had was for V1(which it's main and only purpose was for the "Hot Coffee" thing and modding) and V2 and V3 of SA had NO Patches at all..Since the Patches for III and VC were obsolete with newer drivers and hardware, that pretty much doesn't count as a patch in my opinion..Best of all, ALL 3 of those games could be played on pretty much ANY PC, I have confirmed that on a system(a laptop) that was below minimum for SA and at minimum for III and VC-An AMD Sempron processor @ 798MHZ, 256MB RAM(1GB now), a VIA/SIS video card w/32mb vram and XP Home SP2(SP3 now), and III and VC played great at 25-30 fps and SA played great at 20-25 fps...

Whereas IV needs a lot higher end system to run and be playable...So, going by the past GTA's, IF they had used the Playstation version to port to PC, like with the III era games, then IV would more than likely not have as high system requirements(looking back at III, VC, and SA's requirements, which were Single core processors and not Dual and Quad ones), which would mean that IV *might* be playable on single-core processors and lower video cards this way? Judging the past GTA's and all..? Best of all, if done this way, IV would only need *maybe* one patch(like III and VC) at most instead of 7...Just a heads up/my two cents. tounge2.gif

Note: Since the topic title does not specify a specific game, I take it this topic is about ALL GTA games for PC? Just curious. confused.gif

NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#23

Posted 18 May 2012 - 07:27 PM Edited by NewportByChrysler, 18 May 2012 - 07:36 PM.

@radioman-Well, it is in the VC forum.... tounge.gif
Anyways, more bugs I found, no captions since they're self-explanatory.
http://i47.tinypic.com/dzvx4l.jpg
http://i47.tinypic.com/10miyqr.jpg
http://i50.tinypic.com/72rczp.jpg
http://i49.tinypic.com/wbfm7n.jpg
http://i45.tinypic.com/2133qt2.jpg
http://i46.tinypic.com/32zonlf.jpg
http://i45.tinypic.com/f291yb.jpg
Man, it really is apparent that R* began work on this game a month after 3 was released.
Also, can someone link that guy that made that mod to this topic?
http://www.gtagarage...ow.php?id=11416

Radoonhagaydoon
  • Radoonhagaydoon

    Ignorance lives everywhere.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2012

#24

Posted 18 May 2012 - 07:41 PM

EVEN in san andreas is the same

a nasty road bug near the desert/forest around LV

NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#25

Posted 19 May 2012 - 05:33 AM

Found another one...the cement texture stretches onto here, and flickers.
http://i49.tinypic.com/k8byf.jpg

blazeGTAS
  • blazeGTAS

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2010

#26

Posted 19 May 2012 - 04:13 PM

I don't have Vice City installed right now, but the shipping containers in the same place as that untextured bar (I think) have words that you can see through, there's literally no texture for them.

NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#27

Posted 19 May 2012 - 05:37 PM Edited by NewportByChrysler, 19 May 2012 - 09:21 PM.

They're pixelated as hell, and have FUBAR alphas.
http://i45.tinypic.com/11uzuqr.jpg
Sorry to sound like an annoying dick, but can someone contact DimZet13?

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#28

Posted 09 June 2012 - 08:48 AM

QUOTE (Tycek @ Tuesday, May 8 2012, 20:30)
Oh jeez. They should give us our money back, get their buggy game, dig a big hole somewhere in Nevada and dropped all the disks there. It doesn't matter that Vice is masterpiece in terms of atmosphere, soundtrack and fun. It does matter how many graphical bugs it has. One was on background hotel on the end of Ocean Drive, second in some back alley in Little Havana (it's the same on PS2 BTW) and third on some very important rail near the airport. How could I play this game with bugs like that? Do you know how many graphical errors your houlier then thou San Andreas got? It was like bug fest, but it doesn't matter right now. It does matter that VC got three of them. And yes, R* are lazy f*cks, next time they shouldn't even move their lazy butts and port the game. It would be better for all of us.

Oh please. This is nothing compared to how buggy GTA IV and EFLC are on PC.
-Doesnt use CPU as it should so a higher end PC is required for smooth gameplay then what should be nessisary.
-Plenty of graphics bugs I can name but at least their not major.

TheDavid
  • TheDavid

    ☦ Orthodoxy ☦

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jun 2009

#29

Posted 09 June 2012 - 01:35 PM

Honestly, we're nitpicking on this stuff in 2012? You realize ten years ago, all of these little bugs were nothing to people, people actually enjoyed games for the GAME.

Some of the bugs might be an eye sore, but none actually hinder game play, or free roam. So why are we bashing Rockstar who gave us an amazing game?!

NewportByChrysler
  • NewportByChrysler

    LC R29

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

#30

Posted 09 June 2012 - 04:41 PM

....And then along comes the stereotypical fanboy who instantly assumes just because somebody notices bugs, that they're instantly nitpicking and bashing the company and saying the game sucks.
Your sig says it all, really. lol.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users