Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Staunton Island problem

6 replies to this topic
Los Santos Pedestrian
  • Los Santos Pedestrian

    Then as it was, but again it will be

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#1

Posted 06 May 2012 - 02:30 PM

Two days ago I got my first ever copy of GTA III for the PC that wasn't pirated. Yesterday, I modded one of the vehicles, but that got messed up, so I uninstalled the game and deleted all of the VirtualStore data to get rid of the broken files. Last night I reinstalled the game. Everything seems to be working right, but whenever I go on the Callahan Bridge to Staunton Island, I see this:

user posted image

I don't think it's the fault of the actual disc, that thing is virtually spotless. What do I do?

If required, these are my system specs:

OS: Windows Vista Home Premium SV2
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor, 2.10 GHz
RAM: 1.00 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 240
System type: 32-bit

Dr. John
  • Dr. John

    Women and Wine

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2011
  • India

#2

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:20 PM

Well, does your process is killed after you see the message?

Los Santos Pedestrian
  • Los Santos Pedestrian

    Then as it was, but again it will be

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#3

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:28 PM

No, the game continues to run.

Los Santos Pedestrian
  • Los Santos Pedestrian

    Then as it was, but again it will be

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#4

Posted 06 May 2012 - 05:28 PM

I think I found the problem. The Kuruma was the car I modded, and apparently the mod still screwed up the game; so whenever the car is loaded into the game, it no longer works. Whenever I try to load the car in GGMM, it displays this error message:

"Access violation at address 004A7667 in module 'GGMM.exe'. Read of address 00000014."

I don't even think the .DMM exists anymore. I'm going to uninstall the game and delete all of the VirtualStore data yet again, then I'll post results.

Dr. John
  • Dr. John

    Women and Wine

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2011
  • India

#5

Posted 06 May 2012 - 05:35 PM

I know you are not new but I am sure you know that you shouldn't double Post.

Anyways, if you still get problem the use this: Revo Uninstaller

It helped me in GTA SA installation. Thanks to Girish. smile.gif

Andreaz1
  • Andreaz1

    Anything 80's

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2010
  • Sweden
  • Helpfulness Award

#6

Posted 06 May 2012 - 05:36 PM

Why would a car mod affect the reading of the DVD though?

Los Santos Pedestrian
  • Los Santos Pedestrian

    Then as it was, but again it will be

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#7

Posted 06 May 2012 - 06:50 PM

QUOTE (Andreaz1 @ Sunday, May 6 2012, 17:36)
Why would a car mod affect the reading of the DVD though?

I might know why. When I installed it (using GGMM, it was a civilian taxi mod), the car had no textures, so I used the backup which showed only the wheels; the chassis was invisible. Then I deleted only gta3.img by accident, and not the other files, which probably caused the mod and the regular files to mix.

Anyway, I fixed the problem, the game runs perfect.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users