Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV on Intel HD 4000

47 replies to this topic
YankeesPwnMets
  • YankeesPwnMets

    More Betterer

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2010
  • United-States

#1

Posted 29 April 2012 - 04:21 PM

Intel has claimed that the HD 4000 will be significantly better than the HD 3000 GPU... now my question is whether this will be the first Intel chip to be suffice to run GTA IV?

What do you guys think?

http://www.anandtech...n56vm-preview/6

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#2

Posted 29 April 2012 - 04:26 PM

Never. It's still too weak.

I just saw a hierarchy chart and the HD 3000 is in the same level as the GeForce 6800.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#3

Posted 29 April 2012 - 06:54 PM

http://www.techpower...dge_GPU/23.html
I think these results speak for themselves.

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#4

Posted 29 April 2012 - 08:03 PM

It's certainly closing the gap; considering the general direction of gaming, in a few more iterations Intel GPUs will probably suffice for most games, at decent enough settings.

friendly luggage
  • friendly luggage

    Vette pass by, errbody looking

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#5

Posted 29 April 2012 - 09:27 PM

Damn I thought it would be better than that. Maybe ATi 5670 performance?

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#6

Posted 30 April 2012 - 04:50 AM

it might run OK. i have been enjoying both gta IV/EFLC with onboard 6550d (5570/5470/5670 but with 64-bit bus). but i am not interested in paying oodles for intel processor and motherboard to find out.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#7

Posted 30 April 2012 - 06:23 AM

QUOTE (illegal_luggage @ Sunday, Apr 29 2012, 22:27)
Damn I thought it would be better than that. Maybe ATi 5670 performance?

HD4000 is nowhere near HD5670... Hell, even HD6550 (the most powerful IGP on the market) is far behind HD5570, let alone HD5670.

friendly luggage
  • friendly luggage

    Vette pass by, errbody looking

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#8

Posted 30 April 2012 - 08:54 AM

No I was hoping it would be as powerful as an ATi 5670. I didn't mean that it is.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#9

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:21 PM

Maybe AMD Trinity will get close to HD5670, but I wouldn't bet my money on that tounge.gif

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#10

Posted 30 April 2012 - 02:33 PM

http://www.anandtech...mance-preview/3
QUOTE
GPU Performance: Between a Radeon HD 6450 & 5570
I grabbed some of our most recent GPU testbed data for the Radeon HD 6450 and the Radeon HD 5570, the latter of which is architecturally most similar to the Sumo GPU in the A8-3850. If you're wondering how much sharing memory bandwidth between the GPU and four CPU cores impacts performance, it's pretty significant. The HD 6450 only has 160 cores compared to 400 on the 6550D, while the 5570 has 400 cores running at 750MHz.

Note that these scores are taken with DDR3-1333, however if we push the memory bus all the way to its limit on desktop (DDR3-1866) you end up with performance that's somewhere between a 6450 and a 5570. AMD's branding makes sense in this case (6550D).


and it's fast enough to play GTA IV (after one memrestrict commandline and patch 7), i know because i am doing it everyday, which lends to my personal theory that gta IV doesn't care how fast the cores are, it just cares that there are cores, and that there are enough shaders to render the details at whatever graphics settings chosen.

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#11

Posted 30 May 2012 - 08:01 AM Edited by unc13bud, 30 May 2012 - 08:04 AM.

thought it was time for an update:
http://www.anandtech...-3770k-review/9
if i was sure that intel's increased IPC made enough of a difference over regular stars architecture in GTA IV... i don't want to pay $350 for processor and $200/$250 for motherboard to find out.

Dr. John
  • Dr. John

    Women and Wine

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2011
  • India

#12

Posted 30 May 2012 - 08:04 AM

It might run with more than 20 FPS but I think in the present where there are some awesome games like Skyrim, we should use Nvidia. smile.gif

dansgas1000
  • dansgas1000

    Posts: 1400

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • None

#13

Posted 31 May 2012 - 03:19 PM Edited by dansgas1000, 02 June 2012 - 07:42 PM.

probably better than my absolute f**king crap Radeon 3200 HD. smile.gif

Anyway i'd say min settings 25fps smile.gif

dansgas1000
  • dansgas1000

    Posts: 1400

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • None

#14

Posted 07 June 2012 - 11:44 AM

user posted image

I did a test. The gold tick means maxed out settings and the green tick means medium to high!

mercie_blink.gif mercie_blink.gif mercie_blink.gif mercie_blink.gif mercie_blink.gif mercie_blink.gif mercie_blink.gif mercie_blink.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif

diablo440
  • diablo440

    Your Daddy

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2011

#15

Posted 07 June 2012 - 03:19 PM

16 cores and higher clocks, it's still an 800x600 all low system for GTA IV..

plays low-thread games like skyrim, anno2070 good though, even low-end ones and the sandy bridge ones.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#16

Posted 07 June 2012 - 03:47 PM

@dansgas1000:... LOL. Which site tells you such bullsh*t? tounge.gif

dansgas1000
  • dansgas1000

    Posts: 1400

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • None

#17

Posted 07 June 2012 - 04:34 PM

game debate, it is pretty misleading it says i cant run san andreas with HD 3200 when i can run medium setting on MTA lol biggrin.gif

Atwood85
  • Atwood85

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2012

#18

Posted 08 June 2012 - 12:36 AM Edited by Girish, 08 June 2012 - 06:52 AM.

I am not interested in paying oodles for intel processor and motherboard to find out.

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#19

Posted 08 June 2012 - 05:43 AM

The way I see it, Intel's doing things right. What do you want more in a CPU? A better CPU, or a better GPU? Who shops for a CPU for it's GPU capabilities? Intel's HD graphics are "good enough" for those that don't care about hardcore gaming thus can make the CPU that costs "oodles" more appealing. Then, those who want a decent GPU will likely want the best CPU they can get anyway so they are willing to spend "oodles" for the CPU as well as another "oodles" for the GPU. Intel also has cheaper CPUs that are appealing that also have the HD graphics.

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#20

Posted 08 June 2012 - 05:50 AM

If AMD made better processors, Intel would have to drop their prices. There, I said it, AMD is sucking more and more while Intel keeps jacking up their sh*t. Mobo manufacturers are only picking up on this trend, making as much money out if it as they can.

We need a healthy competition on the marked but are getting shafted instead.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#21

Posted 08 June 2012 - 07:18 AM

QUOTE (SyphonPayne @ Friday, Jun 8 2012, 07:43)
A better CPU, or a better GPU? Who shops for a CPU for it's GPU capabilities?

CPUs with good GPU are ideal for HTPC and low-power gaming rigs (for non-hardcore gamers tounge.gif ). There is a point to them, though to most poeople IGP isn't necessary.

diablo440
  • diablo440

    Your Daddy

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2011

#22

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:11 AM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Friday, Jun 8 2012, 07:18)
QUOTE (SyphonPayne @ Friday, Jun 8 2012, 07:43)
A better CPU, or a better GPU? Who shops for a CPU for it's GPU capabilities?

CPUs with good GPU are ideal for HTPC and low-power gaming rigs (for non-hardcore gamers tounge.gif ). There is a point to them, though to most poeople IGP isn't necessary.

Indeed there is a point.. It's efficiency, we're not all rich or living off our parents.. A8 fusions with the 400SP APU/IGPU actually get good frames at medium settings with GTA IV, the 64bit shared bus is the major bottleneck.

dansgas1000
  • dansgas1000

    Posts: 1400

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • None

#23

Posted 08 June 2012 - 04:57 PM Edited by dansgas1000, 08 June 2012 - 04:59 PM.

i saw video and a guy had medium settings on NFS the run he could run 20-25fps at medium settings.

And it run BF3 and skyrim 1024x768 at low maybe low/medium and that is nearly 40fps wow.gif

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#24

Posted 09 June 2012 - 04:14 PM

QUOTE
CPUs with good GPU are ideal for HTPC and low-power gaming rigs (for non-hardcore gamers)


i prefer "gamers with real 40-hour jobs and bills to pay"
if i wasn't playing gta IV so much, i would be on here arguing with blockheads about nothing and solving the same. as it is, i can barely make it in here to attempt to undo some of the damage you guys are doing...
http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=512417

diablo440
  • diablo440

    Your Daddy

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2011

#25

Posted 10 June 2012 - 09:43 AM

QUOTE (unc13bud @ Saturday, Jun 9 2012, 16:14)
QUOTE
CPUs with good GPU are ideal for HTPC and low-power gaming rigs (for non-hardcore gamers)


i prefer "gamers with real 40-hour jobs and bills to pay"
if i wasn't playing gta IV so much, i would be on here arguing with blockheads about nothing and solving the same. as it is, i can barely make it in here to attempt to undo some of the damage you guys are doing...
http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=512417

I said it's an 800x600 low setting setup, which is true since it drops 8 frames per resolution step even with low thread and cpu usage and no advanced rendering..

If you look at my post history you'll see I avoid this section a lot, it doesn't matter what you know or what your credentials are, there are entire groups of trolls who lurk this section daily and have been for years..

I agree with the working class gamer perspective, there are too many unemployed losers here who think their priorities reflect on those of the rest of society who have to actually earn things..

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#26

Posted 11 June 2012 - 02:15 AM

i was mad that day. i hate coming in here and they have given really bad advice and i am too late to help the original poster. as far as intel 4000, i don't have a supreme reference for how their graphics correspond in gta IV to nvidia/amd. i just bought a gt 640 this week
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814125433
for another computer and am testing it. it's definitely more powerful than a 9800gt/gts 450, but its nowhere near a gtx 560 either (of course). power savings and temperature are incredibly low though.

dansgas1000
  • dansgas1000

    Posts: 1400

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • None

#27

Posted 14 June 2012 - 09:28 PM

QUOTE (unc13bud @ Monday, Jun 11 2012, 02:15)
i was mad that day. i hate coming in here and they have given really bad advice and i am too late to help the original poster. as far as intel 4000, i don't have a supreme reference for how their graphics correspond in gta IV to nvidia/amd. i just bought a gt 640 this week
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814125433
for another computer and am testing it. it's definitely more powerful than a 9800gt/gts 450, but its nowhere near a gtx 560 either (of course). power savings and temperature are incredibly low though.

gt 640 how well does it run for IV?

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#28

Posted 14 June 2012 - 09:41 PM

QUOTE (dansgas1000 @ Thursday, Jun 14 2012, 21:28)
QUOTE (unc13bud @ Monday, Jun 11 2012, 02:15)
i was mad that day. i hate coming in here and they have given really bad advice and i am too late to help the original poster. as far as intel 4000, i don't have a supreme reference for how their graphics correspond in gta IV to nvidia/amd. i just bought a gt 640 this week
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814125433
for another computer and am testing it. it's definitely more powerful than a 9800gt/gts 450, but its nowhere near a gtx 560 either (of course). power savings and temperature are incredibly low though.

gt 640 how well does it run for IV?

No. In short, no Low/Entry level GPU will run GTA IV well. Medium/High End GPU will. Period. icon14.gif

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#29

Posted 16 June 2012 - 12:34 AM

i have tested mine, at 1024x768, it runs the same details, etc. as my gtx 285/460/465 but with a fraction of the power necessary. i am now trying to decide which machine to play on, this or the Llano - i use the other kvm connection for different kinds of machines, linux, etc.

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#30

Posted 16 June 2012 - 07:35 AM

Sorry but 1024x768 is an AWFUL resolution to play at for the most part so to compare it to even a GTX 285 or 460 or 465 is just, not right.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users