Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Looking for PC controller similar to PS3...

10 replies to this topic
dansgas1000
  • dansgas1000

    Posts: 1400

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • None

#1

Posted 29 April 2012 - 02:19 PM

Looking for a controller which is similar to thee PS2 or PS3 controller layout for PC and it has to support Windows 7.

Thanks. Really sorry if this is posted in wrong place i didn't know where to put it.








smile.gif

aStiffSausage
  • aStiffSausage

    Formerly Oksu

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2010
  • Finland

#2

Posted 29 April 2012 - 02:27 PM

Maybe Logitech Gamepad F310?

I got one, it's pretty similar to basic PS2 controller and works on Windows 7. It's also pretty cheap, got mine for 20 as new. smile.gif

And as far as I know, pretty much any controller should work on W7 as it uses some uber-techonology to identify new devices.

Fleckz
  • Fleckz

    ~ Sierra Lieutenant ~

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2004
  • None

#3

Posted 29 April 2012 - 05:19 PM

I'm probably wrong, but I thought you could plug the PS3 in via USB and it would work? Not sure if you need to download anything though.

aStiffSausage
  • aStiffSausage

    Formerly Oksu

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2010
  • Finland

#4

Posted 29 April 2012 - 05:21 PM

QUOTE (GTA1 @ Sunday, Apr 29 2012, 20:19)
I'm probably wrong, but I thought you could plug the PS3 in via USB and it would work? Not sure if you need to download anything though.

Did a quick googling, and it seems that you infact need to download some utility for it to work, but it's not a big job, just download one program and follow the steps. smile.gif

Link to the site.

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#5

Posted 29 April 2012 - 05:28 PM

QUOTE (oksa8 @ Sunday, Apr 29 2012, 14:21)
QUOTE (GTA1 @ Sunday, Apr 29 2012, 20:19)
I'm probably wrong, but I thought you could plug the PS3 in via USB and it would work? Not sure if you need to download anything though.

Did a quick googling, and it seems that you infact need to download some utility for it to work, but it's not a big job, just download one program and follow the steps. smile.gif

Link to the site.

I never got that to work.

dansgas1000
  • dansgas1000

    Posts: 1400

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • None

#6

Posted 29 April 2012 - 06:33 PM

QUOTE (goin-god @ Sunday, Apr 29 2012, 17:28)
QUOTE (oksa8 @ Sunday, Apr 29 2012, 14:21)
QUOTE (GTA1 @ Sunday, Apr 29 2012, 20:19)
I'm probably wrong, but I thought you could plug the PS3 in via USB and it would work? Not sure if you need to download anything though.

Did a quick googling, and it seems that you infact need to download some utility for it to work, but it's not a big job, just download one program and follow the steps. smile.gif

Link to the site.

I never got that to work.

Yeah same, i could use the arrows but not any of the other buttons.

dansgas1000
  • dansgas1000

    Posts: 1400

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2011
  • None

#7

Posted 29 April 2012 - 06:37 PM

QUOTE (oksa8 @ Sunday, Apr 29 2012, 14:27)
Maybe Logitech Gamepad F310?

I got one, it's pretty similar to basic PS2 controller and works on Windows 7. It's also pretty cheap, got mine for 20 as new. smile.gif

And as far as I know, pretty much any controller should work on W7 as it uses some uber-techonology to identify new devices.

Wow thanks, looks good. Can you give me the link to the UK site please as i live in the UK. Thanks.


(Yeah yeah i did a double post its not the end of the world)

TheCacti
  • TheCacti

    oh sh*t there's a horse in the hospital

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2010
  • Macau

#8

Posted 29 April 2012 - 06:47 PM

For what it's worth, I too was pretty adamant about using my Ps3 controller when I'd begun to play SA on my computer not too long ago. Long story short, I ended up just using the mouse + keyboard and it was one of the more rewarding experiences I've had with respect to gaming. Just give it a shot is all I'm saying smile.gif

Fleckz
  • Fleckz

    ~ Sierra Lieutenant ~

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2004
  • None

#9

Posted 29 April 2012 - 08:32 PM

I had a PS3 for just under a year so I learnt the controller thing using it to play Vice on PC. I remember having to map the correct buttons but it was quick to do.

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, Graphics Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • None

#10

Posted 29 April 2012 - 08:47 PM

Yeah get the drivers and use xpadder, job done icon14.gif

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#11

Posted 01 May 2012 - 08:17 PM

Got a controller from a pawn shop that replicates the XBOX for PS3, but it's recently been showing it's problems in a failed contact for left and right touch selection, it wavers to the right without even touching the controller at times, so it's sticking.
I like it enough to try a direct replacement, but if this happens to be a trait, I'd steer away from that brand with a passion. Just beware, it's better then paying $40 or more for one controller, but not if it fails to operate, even without heavy hands on gaming




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users