Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Inject SMAA Antialiasing

24 replies to this topic
RYO_91
  • RYO_91

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 May 2009

#1

Posted 27 April 2012 - 04:55 AM Edited by RYO_91, 27 April 2012 - 04:57 AM.

First of all let me explain what SMAA is. SMAA means Subpixel Morphological AntiAliasing, it is a new technique of AA derivated from Morphological AntiAliasing. But it is much better optimized than MLAA of course. It is so good optimized that in fact increases performance for some games (in this case GTA IV). It was developed by Jorge Jimenez from Spain.
But it doesnt ends here, Jorge only made the SMAA code wich can then be implemented into graphics but for that you need to make it natively (inserting the code into de game when making it) or with an injector. Andrej Dudenhefner made that injector so the SMAA code can be applied to any game.
So till here big thanks to Jorge Jimenez and Andrej Dudenhefner.

Well now let me show some screenshots with the proof.

SMAA OFF
user posted image

SMAA ON
user posted image

SMAA ON
user posted image

SMAA OFF
user posted image


Wanna see the images in bigger resolution? Enter here: http://www.mediafire.../?gkdit1nw2gx53

Things to be noted:

I use the last GTA IV update (1.0.7.0), i wont test it on update 4.
The images are all in BMP format so you can see the difference except the one that shows my settings (jpg).

This are my settings:

user posted image

This is my hardware:

AMD Radeon HD 5770
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.8GHz
4GB RAM DDR2 @ 1066 MHz
..and that is the most important.

And i consider this post should be made sticky, because it is like a miracle

Jorge´s website: http://www.iryoku.com/
Jorge´s SMAA project website: http://www.iryoku.com/smaa/
Andrej website: http://mrhaandi.blog...injectsmaa.html <------------------- DOWNLOAD INJECTOR HERE (Version 1.2)

Warlord.
  • Warlord.

    :O

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2004

#2

Posted 27 April 2012 - 05:55 AM

Wow thanks a lot my friend. Gonna check this out.

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#3

Posted 27 April 2012 - 05:56 AM Edited by mkey82, 27 April 2012 - 06:00 AM.

PNG = lossless compression.

What kind of performance difference is there between the two cases? I see your image showing double FPS, it's kind of hard to believe that.

BTW, if this works in a general case, then this discovery is bigger the Christ (pardon the blasphemy).

T-ru
  • T-ru

    kamikadze

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Sep 2009

#4

Posted 27 April 2012 - 08:52 AM

I'm very grateful of the creators of this SMAA i tried it one week ago and yes it's wonderfull and yes there is some performance hit but not double, if you want to see some difference you must use high or ultra settings in ijectror.ini

RYO_91
  • RYO_91

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 May 2009

#5

Posted 27 April 2012 - 08:53 AM

uhmm mediafire changed my pics format, i will reupload and see if can keep the BMP format

RYO_91
  • RYO_91

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 May 2009

#6

Posted 27 April 2012 - 09:00 AM

QUOTE (T-ru @ Friday, Apr 27 2012, 08:52)
I'm very grateful of the creators of this SMAA i tried it one week ago and yes it's wonderfull and yes there is some performance hit but not double, if you want to see some difference you must use high or ultra settings in ijectror.ini

performance hit would be if your fps get reduced, and as said and as well you can see on my caps my fps got almost doubled. we all already know gta iv is a buggy and crappy unoptimized port and strange things can happen, the other things that happened to a lot of ppl is that they get more fps with textures on high.

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#7

Posted 27 April 2012 - 09:20 AM

Don't double post, just use the user posted image button. Just a heads up. smile.gif

Anyways it doesn't look like it's working for me, is there anything I should do to make it properly work?

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#8

Posted 27 April 2012 - 10:17 AM Edited by mkey82, 27 April 2012 - 10:55 AM.

Double FPS would be a *very strange* occurrence, probably something got borked up with fraps or whichever application you're using to display the framerate.

T-ru
  • T-ru

    kamikadze

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Sep 2009

#9

Posted 27 April 2012 - 11:51 AM

I think that performance hit is because d3d9.dll, maybe this file makes the game to use some specific things from directX9 or from video drivers. RYO_91 can you tell me what is your video drivers and directX?

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#10

Posted 27 April 2012 - 11:54 AM

I can't see any change here

user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

Some are with SMAA, some without, I'll let you do the guessing which are which tounge.gif

RYO_91
  • RYO_91

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 May 2009

#11

Posted 27 April 2012 - 09:19 PM Edited by RYO_91, 27 April 2012 - 10:00 PM.

QUOTE (T-ru @ Friday, Apr 27 2012, 11:51)
I think that performance hit is because d3d9.dll, maybe this file makes the game to use some specific things from directX9 or from video drivers. RYO_91 can you tell me what is your video drivers and directX?

Yes, im using AMD Catalys version 12.4 and directx 8.961.0.0 (that is what dxdiag says on the screen tab)

QUOTE (mkey82 @ Friday, Apr 27 2012, 11:54)
I can't see any change here

Some are with SMAA, some without, I'll let you do the guessing which are which


It doesnt increase performance in every game, for example in Fallout 3 my FPS got reduced by 10 also in The Witcher 2 they got reduce by 5.
What game is that youre playing?

And im sure its not a problem of the fps overlay, cause i tried with RadeonPro, Fraps and Ati Tray Tools and in the three of them the FPS got doubled, and of course it feels 60 fps not 30, i can distiguish between 60 a 30 perfectly

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#12

Posted 28 April 2012 - 09:38 AM

That's mount and blade: warband. I wasn't talking about missing performance, there's no antialiasing going on on those images.

RYO_91
  • RYO_91

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 May 2009

#13

Posted 28 April 2012 - 08:44 PM

QUOTE (mkey82 @ Saturday, Apr 28 2012, 09:38)
That's mount and blade: warband. I wasn't talking about missing performance, there's no antialiasing going on on those images.

Did you press the pause key to activate it?

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#14

Posted 28 April 2012 - 09:14 PM

I remapped it do F2 and used it ingame, didn't work. I'll get more into it tomorrow.

Majestic81
  • Majestic81

    Born to Lose, Live to Win

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2012
  • None

#15

Posted 29 April 2012 - 09:20 AM Edited by Majestic81, 29 April 2012 - 09:25 AM.

I got it and sadly my pathetic try to make EFLC have better performance faild, fps reminds the same....nothing changed

kor0ro.k3yz
  • kor0ro.k3yz

    Bah! Bah! Black Sheep

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2011

#16

Posted 08 May 2012 - 10:59 PM

help please i tried to remap to "O" and "home" buttons it wont work, my keyboards has no "pause" confused.gif

Bernard Jazz
  • Bernard Jazz

    Dud dats not gas, dats a chikn.

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2004

#17

Posted 14 May 2012 - 09:06 PM

I seem to have rotten luck with injection based methods of AA. All this does for me is blur the HUD and reduce my FPS to 1.
Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz
2GB RAM
Nvidia GTS 250 (512mb)

Obviously I don't have an immense system but for some strange reason this only happens with GTA IV.

user posted image

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#18

Posted 14 May 2012 - 09:08 PM

Well, I can definitely say that the GPU is causing the problem Mealing. smile.gif

ShakingASS
  • ShakingASS

    Rollin Clufs

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2011

#19

Posted 15 May 2012 - 04:50 AM

Nvidia is pure bull people are blind that it over heats and is slower than ATi.You best off getting ATi since it's cheaper and better quality.

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#20

Posted 15 May 2012 - 05:12 AM

No need to fanboy, calm down.

Brainsick
  • Brainsick

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Sep 2011

#21

Posted 25 May 2012 - 10:06 AM

Just bumping this thread to remind people that the newest nvidia drivers have the option to force FXAA antialiasing and it works like a charm with no noticeable performance impact

sh1sh1n11
  • sh1sh1n11

    the stunt rider!

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2006

#22

Posted 15 November 2012 - 12:51 PM Edited by sh1sh1n11, 15 November 2012 - 12:53 PM.

I had a real problem with almost all types of forced anti aliasing, not working just recently, Fxaa injector by some dude and smaa injector both were not working, I found out that it was the problem with any sort of overlays on another thread, maybe steam overlay or msi afterburner overlay, but for me it was fraps overlay, as soon as I ran the game without fraps it worked. both Fxaa Injector and SMAA injector worked.
also I am running Windows 8 RTM x64, if that makes any difference colgate.gif

LoreLegend
  • LoreLegend

    Kill or be killed

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2011

#23

Posted 15 November 2012 - 02:51 PM

QUOTE (ShakingASS @ Tuesday, May 15 2012, 04:50)
Nvidia is pure bull people are blind that it over heats and is slower than ATi.You best off getting ATi since it's cheaper and better quality.

Fanboy much?

Anyway it only gave me a 5 fps boost lol

brian.
  • brian.

    Possible Descendant Of Kraff

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012

#24

Posted 15 November 2012 - 05:59 PM

Honestly, I just gave it a try, and while it does smooth things out, there is no performance increase that I can notice, and it is a very low-quality AA. Almost not worth it. It also lags at AA'ing the scene from time to time, you can literally watch things go from crunchy to smooth. Cool injector, but I don't think I can use it.

It makes very close things look great, but far things are mostly just as crunchy as ever (slight improvement)

faizanali
  • faizanali

    Proud PC Gamer

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2011

#25

Posted 18 November 2012 - 12:54 AM

Can someone tell me the difference between SMAA Injector and FXAA Injector, In screenshots?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users