Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

https trouble

6 replies to this topic
AndyGanteks
  • AndyGanteks

    The Yardies

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005
  • Jamaica
  • Contribution Award [Sports]
    Most Skilled Player 2013
    Best Event 2013 "GTAF Gang League 2013"
    Most Valuable Player 2012
    Best Contributor [Multiplayer] 2012
    Most Valuable Player 2011
    Winner of World Cup 2010 Prediction League
    Best Event 2010 "GTAF Gang League 2010"
    Most Valuable Player 2010
    Best Team Player 2010

#1

Posted 22 April 2012 - 10:06 AM

So basically, i'm having trouble loading pages that have https in them, in firefox.
It works fine with all the pages in IE8, but not in firefox. In FF, those pages, either don't load at all(like fb), or load but without a CSS and stuff like that(vimeo and some other sites). It rarely manages to work somehow, but pretty much always it doesn't and it's very annoying. I don't know what seems to the be the problem with FF and why won't they load.

Any help would be appreciated.

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#2

Posted 22 April 2012 - 05:01 PM

On XP: C:\Documents and Settings\<Windows login/user name>\Application Data\
Vista/7: C:\Users\<Windows login/user name>\AppData\Roaming\
Find the Mozilla folder. Rename it; example: Mozilla-mine
Start up FF and try those web sites again.
If you don't have any problems then there is a conflict with either an extension or something in your settings.
If you still have problems then it's a problem FF itself maybe.

AndyGanteks
  • AndyGanteks

    The Yardies

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005
  • Jamaica
  • Contribution Award [Sports]
    Most Skilled Player 2013
    Best Event 2013 "GTAF Gang League 2013"
    Most Valuable Player 2012
    Best Contributor [Multiplayer] 2012
    Most Valuable Player 2011
    Winner of World Cup 2010 Prediction League
    Best Event 2010 "GTAF Gang League 2010"
    Most Valuable Player 2010
    Best Team Player 2010

#3

Posted 23 April 2012 - 09:35 AM

Stiil the same. And now on IE8 and Chrome as well any https link won't work. Maybe it got something to do with my ISP, i dunno, most fb pictures never open for me either, but would they really block https links, i don't get it? I also tried clearing out cache and cookies, but it's the same.

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#4

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:24 PM

We now need to narrow down the problem to your computer or your ISP.
Is there another computer in your home that you can try these sites on? One that is on the same network of course.

Xcommunicated
  • Xcommunicated

    A Stitch in Time C9

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2002
  • United-States

#5

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:47 PM

Are the certificates for the secure sites you're trying to access still valid? (I'm pretty sure it'd tell you if they weren't.)

Here's this kb article for IE8, but I don't know why other browsers aren't working unless they're terribly outdated versions or something (chrome auto-updates though).

I'm guessing it might be your ISP. Like wolf said, best way to find out is to get on another computer if you can.

AndyGanteks
  • AndyGanteks

    The Yardies

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005
  • Jamaica
  • Contribution Award [Sports]
    Most Skilled Player 2013
    Best Event 2013 "GTAF Gang League 2013"
    Most Valuable Player 2012
    Best Contributor [Multiplayer] 2012
    Most Valuable Player 2011
    Winner of World Cup 2010 Prediction League
    Best Event 2010 "GTAF Gang League 2010"
    Most Valuable Player 2010
    Best Team Player 2010

#6

Posted 23 April 2012 - 08:23 PM

Yeah, same on 2 other computers in my home, so i guess it's the ISP then.

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#7

Posted 24 April 2012 - 05:51 PM

Call your ISP and let them know. I warn you though; they might try to blame your computer so be sure to tell them that the same thing happens on more than one computer.
You can triple whammy them about that if you have a smartphone that's on the same network and it too has the same problem.

Most likely one of the first things they will have you do on your end, because they might still blame "you," is to power cycle the modem. Unplug it for about 1 minute, some might tell you up to 5 minutes, then plug it back in. If you have a router between the modem and you, unplug that as well. Then plug in the modem first and wait for it to be completely ready, and then plug in the router.
You could go a head and do all of these before even calling your ISP, it might fix the problem and it might not, but at least it'll be a step that's out of the way that you can tell them you did already....which doesn't mean they won't make you do again anyway.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users