Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

What if your PC would not support GTA V?

115 replies to this topic

Poll: What would you do if you find that your PC would not support V after waiting so much? (216 member(s) have cast votes)

What would you do if you find that your PC would not support V after waiting so much?

  1. I will go for an upgrade as soon as possible (110 votes [60.11%])

    Percentage of vote: 60.11%

  2. I will upgrade later when I could afford it and play (73 votes [39.89%])

    Percentage of vote: 39.89%

Vote Guests cannot vote
lh1
  • lh1

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2006

#91

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:32 PM

QUOTE (Da Perzinga @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 17:09)
Max Payne 3=Highest settings: i7 3930X 6x3.06GHz or FX8150 8x3.6GHz, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX680 2GB or Radeon HD 7970 3GB, 35GB HDD; Rockstar, are you f*cking kidding me/us?! What is with GTA V? i7 6960X 4.0GHz OCed to 6GHz or FX16250 16x5.8GHz OCed to 8GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX990 4GB or HD 9970 6GB and 150GB HDD? Is that what you want? Holy sh*t! F*cking consoles port! In five years everybody need a NASA computer to run Max Payne 4 and GTA VII on minimum settings. tounge.gif

It doesn't mean the Highest settings. It basically means the very high end spec.

According to Rockstar

So long your computer is within this range, there will be no problem running the game.

QUOTE
@cbiggs17 We think you may have misinterpreted the information, Max Payne 3 will run great on the entire range of specifications listed above, the 3GB video card and the 16GB of RAM represent the very high end specs


Back to the topic, I believe I would upgrade my PC straight away if my computer can't support GTA V.

However, if anything, the RAGE engine for GTA V and Max Payne 3 are roughly the same except maybe the hard disk space requirement, which I believe would be more than 35 GB but definitely less than 50 GB.

aldisdzerve
  • aldisdzerve

    PetrolHead

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009

#92

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:48 PM

I already bought PS3 last week, - just to be ready when V comes out....
My PC "might" run it, but i don't want to wait this time, so ill give a PS3 a try...

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#93

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:58 PM

QUOTE (lh1 @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 19:32)
which I believe would be more than 35 GB but definitely less than 50 GB.

Dear lord, where did you get those figures?

Sup3rman
  • Sup3rman

    Legen- wait for it -dary

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Apr 2012

#94

Posted 23 April 2012 - 06:02 PM

Guys, MP3 has way better graphics then GTAV will have, didn't even R* tell us that? It would be 5 years more so you could play GTAV with those graphics and with a enourmous map.

The GTA Guy
  • The GTA Guy

    The Frisker

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008
  • None

#95

Posted 23 April 2012 - 06:59 PM

QUOTE (Sup3rman @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 20:02)
Guys, MP3 has way better graphics then GTAV will have, didn't even R* tell us that? It would be 5 years more so you could play GTAV with those graphics and with a enourmous map.

True, but that doesn't mean that GTA V has lower system specs though.
I'm starting to fear that my computer can't handle GTA V too well.. One of the reasons I built this system was GTA V

Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Intel Core i5 2310 2.9GHz
8 Gigs of RAM
AMD Radeon 6770

It might run but not on max.. I doubt MP3 runs on max settings so GTA V won't either... goddamit, gotta upgrade my system.

cyruskafaiwu
  • cyruskafaiwu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2011

#96

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:06 PM

If it comes out on PC first, upgrade my PC in order to play.

If it comes out on PS3/Xbox first, i will buy the most suited system for GTA V (including limited edition gta v versions)

If it works on my PC, well, I am lucky!

Gtaplayaminigun
  • Gtaplayaminigun

    Buster

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2009

#97

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:33 PM

I'm sure my PC will run GTA V but I may need to buy some DVDs or an external drive as my 1TB HDD is filled up and MP3 already needs 35GB.

theomenofficial
  • theomenofficial

    I'm back as a changed man.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2012
  • United-Kingdom

#98

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:35 PM

I don't even a strong enough PC to play games. suicidal.gif

UtricularEwe001
  • UtricularEwe001

    I am a Pirate

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012
  • None

#99

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:36 PM

QUOTE (theomenofficial @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 19:35)
I don't even a strong enough PC to play games. suicidal.gif

my laptop won't even play youtube happy.gif lol.gif

szmty
  • szmty

    Hi Ho

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2011
  • Mexico

#100

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:38 PM

I wish my PC could handle a game like IV. I'm currently using a 2002 Windows XP, and it only has 15GB left, (and even if it had enough disk space, it couldn't handle the game, as it uses a sh*tty 32MB card!). The computer I use for gaming is a Windows Vista with a 512MB Ge-Force card, but it only has 2GB of RAM.

A gaming computer is very expensive, so unless I get one as a Christmas present, I won't be having one for a time. I mean, I'd really like to get a gaming PC, but it would be better to buy it in the correct moment, when I have enough time and money. Upgrading my PC would be cheaper, but it would still cost +1/3 of a PS3, and there would always be something new to buy. I guess I'll be playing the game on my ol' PS3. If it ain't broken, don't fix it.

superhobo666
  • superhobo666

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Mar 2012

#101

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:47 PM

I'll be getting it on XBOX first, for the multiplayer with friends.

afterwards I may work on upgrading my PC if it doesn't play.

theomenofficial
  • theomenofficial

    I'm back as a changed man.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2012
  • United-Kingdom

#102

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:49 PM

QUOTE (UtricularEwe001 @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 19:36)
QUOTE (theomenofficial @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 19:35)
I don't even a strong enough PC to play games. suicidal.gif

my laptop won't even play youtube happy.gif lol.gif

biggrin.gif XD

LTomi
  • LTomi

    Pro-American

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2009

#103

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:51 PM

QUOTE (Da Perzinga @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 17:09)
Max Payne 3=Highest settings: i7 3930X 6x3.06GHz or FX8150 8x3.6GHz, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX680 2GB or Radeon HD 7970 3GB, 35GB HDD; Rockstar, are you f*cking kidding me/us?! What is with GTA V? i7 6960X 4.0GHz OCed to 6GHz or FX16250 16x5.8GHz OCed to 8GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX990 4GB or HD 9970 6GB and 150GB HDD? Is that what you want? Holy sh*t! F*cking consoles port! In five years everybody need a NASA computer to run Max Payne 4 and GTA VII on minimum settings. tounge.gif

These requirements are outrageous in my opinion. Why can't Rockstar optimize their games for PC correctly?

The__Phoenix
  • The__Phoenix

    aka bud23

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 05 Feb 2012

#104

Posted 23 April 2012 - 08:06 PM

If the highest requirements are like in MP3 a lot of people will need upgrade their pcs,anyways I will go for an upgrade as soon as possible,probably before the launch of the game.

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#105

Posted 23 April 2012 - 08:38 PM Edited by mkey82, 23 April 2012 - 08:54 PM.

QUOTE (LTomi @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 21:51)
These requirements are outrageous in my opinion. Why can't Rockstar optimize their games for PC correctly?

Because proper coding takes time and money.... which is actually a pathetic excuse as they'll publish probably more then 10 titles on that f*cking engine. And considering the direction gaming is taking, there is really no reason for them not to use rage for the next iteration of consoles.

Anyway, those requirements are yet again laughable as they cover everything from a low end gaming PC up to the absolute high end (as far as commercially available parts go).

My personal guess is something like this
* i5 2500k @ 3.5GHz+
* GT560 or HD6950 1GB+
* 4GB DDRIII RAM
* having an ssd drive wouldn't hurt, obviously
* hopefully the game will have proper x64 support, due to its immense needs for memory so a 64 bit OS would also be waranted

Something like this should do nicely, especially if you crank that bitch up to 4GHz+.

-ItemPcs
Price
1
PLEXTOR 24X Internal DVD Super Multi Drive Black SATA Model PX-L890SA LightScribe Support - OEM
1
$33.99
2
Broadway Com Corp A3728-Series A3728-Red Glossy Black SECC Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
1
$34.99
3
EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P3-1469-KR GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video ...
1
$209.99
4
CORSAIR Gaming Series GS600 600W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
1
$89.99
5
G.SKILL PI 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL6D-4GBPI
1
$64.99
6
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
1
$127.99
7
Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 3000 ...
1
$219.99
8
Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F60GB3A-BK 2.5" 60GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
1
$89.99
-
Subtotal
-
$871.92
Obviously, this a rather large overkill for gaming today but rage is just silly in requirements.

friendly luggage
  • friendly luggage

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#106

Posted 23 April 2012 - 09:55 PM

QUOTE (The GTA Guy @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 18:59)
I'm starting to fear that my computer can't handle GTA V too well.. One of the reasons I built this system was GTA V

Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Intel Core i5 2310 2.9GHz
8 Gigs of RAM
AMD Radeon 6770

It might run but not on max.. I doubt MP3 runs on max settings so GTA V won't either... goddamit, gotta upgrade my system.

You don't need to upgrade that system. It should handle Max Payne at 1080p medium/high settings. If you insist on upgrading, it would be your video card. An AMD 7850 would be nice or a Nvidia 6xx card when more are released. The whole you need to update a gaming PC every few months ain't true. I'm hoping to get a few years out of mine.

˸
  • ˸

    KGB agent

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2006
  • Wales

#107

Posted 24 April 2012 - 12:13 AM

The only thing that's holding me back from an upgrade is GTA 5. I am in a serious need of some new parts but don't want to get anything until I know the reqs..

TheFoxRiverFugitive
  • TheFoxRiverFugitive

    Sly Fox

  • Facade Corporation
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2012
  • United-States

#108

Posted 24 April 2012 - 12:56 AM Edited by TheFoxRiverFugitive, 12 December 2015 - 06:32 PM.

.


Sneakerhead.
  • Sneakerhead.

    YourGirlRunHerFingersThruMyHair

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2011
  • None

#109

Posted 24 April 2012 - 01:39 AM

QUOTE (mkey82 @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 08:49)
QUOTE (GTAction99 @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 09:01)
Ever heard of sarcasm? dumbass suicidal.gif ......

Ever heard of being a bad troll? Now you have some first hand experience, you fail at trolling biggrin.gif cry.gif tounge2.gif Shifty41s_beerhatsmilie2.gif orly.gif dozingoff.gif colgate.gif

Dumbass.

[

You are making me :FACEPALM: suicidal.gif

Dude, this is the last time I will say anything to you, because you fail so bad. suicidal.gif dozingoff.gif sarcasm.gif

lazloisdavrock
  • lazloisdavrock

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2008
  • None

#110

Posted 24 April 2012 - 02:02 AM

ill never downgrade and play gta on a console. I hate fake upscaled resolutions. real 1440p for me

jesusismyairbag
  • jesusismyairbag

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 27 May 2011

#111

Posted 24 April 2012 - 07:15 AM

I have a 360 too, so i'd buy it for that and see if I actually like it before i would proceed to upgrade pc and purchase V for that format.

FCM
  • FCM

    Toreno

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2011

#112

Posted 24 April 2012 - 07:57 AM

If my PC doesn't run GTA V, I buy a used PS3vat EB Games or something like that. I just want to play.

Timjones
  • Timjones

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2006

#113

Posted 24 April 2012 - 10:35 AM

If consoles could manage GTA IV and my PC could comfortably run it on high/medium settings, surely my PC will be able to run GTA V since consoles need to be able to run it too.

The__Phoenix
  • The__Phoenix

    aka bud23

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 05 Feb 2012

#114

Posted 24 April 2012 - 10:42 AM

QUOTE (Timjones @ Tuesday, Apr 24 2012, 10:35)
If consoles could manage GTA IV and my PC could comfortably run it on high/medium settings, surely my PC will be able to run GTA V since consoles need to be able to run it too.

what you're saying doesnt has much sense imo

Timjones
  • Timjones

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2006

#115

Posted 24 April 2012 - 10:43 AM

QUOTE (bud23 @ Tuesday, Apr 24 2012, 10:42)
QUOTE (Timjones @ Tuesday, Apr 24 2012, 10:35)
If consoles could manage GTA IV and my PC could comfortably run it on high/medium settings, surely my PC will be able to run GTA V since consoles need to be able to run it too.

what you're saying doesnt has much sense imo

If consoles can run it, so can I. Right?

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#116

Posted 24 April 2012 - 11:02 AM

Well, you should be able. But, R* likes surprises, you never know.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users