Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

I want to add new objects, ask .COL too

5 replies to this topic
BLlTZ
  • BLlTZ

    Typical behaviour for someone with your condition.

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2008
  • None

#1

Posted 21 April 2012 - 08:30 AM

So basically it's simple. I add new objects into the game as LOD, but why is asking for .COL support when all the LODs from the game don't have any .COL system, is because I add a new object into the game with new ID, IDE/IPL and without it the game don't want to run.

Is there any chances too add without .COL, I don't know, to change some values, something in IDE/IPL lines. :-?

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#2

Posted 21 April 2012 - 04:16 PM

QUOTE (-BLITZ- @ Saturday, Apr 21 2012, 08:30)
So basically it's simple. I add new objects into the game as LOD, but why is asking for .COL support when all the LODs from the game don't have any .COL system, is because I add a new object into the game with new ID, IDE/IPL and without it the game don't want to run.

Is there any chances too add without .COL, I don't know, to change some values, something in IDE/IPL lines. :-?

have you installed the lodmodel right? it needs to link to the loadmodel by writing the linenumber at the end of the ipl line of the corresponding object

example
CODE
inst
9296, lodo_buildkb09, 0, 190.6573334, -1425.8302, 19.48402786, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
9186, deco_buildkb09, 0, 190.6573334, -1425.8302, 19.48399925, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0
9216, LODo_polgrnda12, 0, 253.0283661, -970.9776001, 18.67569351, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
9187, deco_polgrnda12, 0, 253.0283661, -970.9780273, 18.6760006, 0, 0, 0, 1, 2
9188, deco_polgrnda13, 0, 233.9021149, -1095.858154, 14.00500011, 0, 0, 0, 1, 5
9217, LODo_polgrnda13, 0, 233.9021149, -1095.858154, 14.00501251, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
end

first ipl line is line 0
CODE
inst
9296, lodo_buildkb09, lodmodel at line 0
9186, deco_buildkb09, refers to line 0
9216, LODo_polgrnda12, lodmodel at line 2
9187, deco_polgrnda12, refers to line 2
9188, deco_polgrnda13, refers to line 5
9217, LODo_polgrnda13, lodmodel at line 5
end


the basic map object in sa are placed in the stream.ipl files and they are linking to the corresponding LOD object which are placed in the ipl files of map folder
LOD objects don't work in stream.ipl files

BLlTZ
  • BLlTZ

    Typical behaviour for someone with your condition.

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2008
  • None

#3

Posted 21 April 2012 - 08:40 PM

So is like: I'm not sure what I'm going to say is good so here it is.

0, 2, 5 are connect each other with IDE and IPL and the end of their lines. Well actually what I'm trying to do is to fill some gaps in SA. There are some merged objects in LOD where in normal map they aren't, of course, but those normal objects are having -1 at the end of their lines in both IDE and IPL and stream if is necessary to go there because you know they don't have any LOD to support them.

Yes, is true, the reason that you find all the LOD in IPL Data/maps is because there aren't any in STREAM.IMG. I tried myself numerous time to make them work but they don't.

Now because there is that -1 at the end, what number I need to set instead -1 in order to connect with the new objects that needs to fill the gap because there are lot of numbers from what I see into IPL/IDEs randomly set. Which one is the last one.

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#4

Posted 21 April 2012 - 09:48 PM

QUOTE (-BLITZ- @ Saturday, Apr 21 2012, 20:40)
So is like: I'm not sure what I'm going to say is good so here it is.
0, 2, 5 are connect each other with IDE and IPL and the end of their lines.
No, only IPL

QUOTE
Well actually what I'm trying to do is to fill some gaps in SA. There are some merged objects in LOD where in normal map they aren't, of course,
if there is now one LOD object instead of maybe 3 for 3 normal objects, then link only one of the 3 normal objects to the LOD object

QUOTE
but those normal objects are having -1 at the end of their lines in both IDE and IPL
Last paramater of IDE lines are flags to set transparency, backfacing, interior and such but normally never -1
0 instead -1 would be right

QUOTE
and stream if is necessary to go there because you know they don't have any LOD to support them.

Yes, is true, the reason that you find all the LOD in IPL Data/maps is because there aren't any in STREAM.IMG. I tried myself numerous time to make them work but they don't.

Now because there is that -1 at the end, what number I need to set instead -1 in order to connect with the new objects that needs to fill the gap because there are lot of numbers from what I see into IPL/IDEs randomly set. Which one is the last one.

LOD objects must have -1 at the end
only objects which should link to a corresponding LOD object must not have -1 at the end
objects which should link to a corresponding LOD object must have the line number of the corresponding LOD object

example, 3 objects which links to their corresponding LOD object
mynice_home links to LODice_home at line 3, mynice_garage to LODice_garage at line 4 ad so on
CODE
inst
5001, mynice_home, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, 3
5002, mynice_garage, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, 4
5003, mynice_shop, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, 5
5004, LODice_home, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
5005, LODice_garage, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
5006, LODice_shop, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
end


then you merged the 3 LOD objects into LODice_home
so only mynice_home needs to link to LODice_home at line 3
CODE
inst
5001, mynice_home, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, 3
5002, mynice_garage, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
5003, mynice_shop, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
5004, LODice_home, 0, 190.6, -1425.8, 19.4, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
end


this work is diffycult to do without mistake and just one wrong linenumber cause a crash at gameload
the linenumbering of the stream ipl's will be wrong when you remove an ipl line in that part where the LOD objects are placed
Best way is, to extract and convert the stream.ipl's and make them all together with new numbering
(i mean for example all vegase_streamX.ipl into vegasE.ipl)

BLlTZ
  • BLlTZ

    Typical behaviour for someone with your condition.

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2008
  • None

#5

Posted 22 April 2012 - 07:20 AM Edited by -BLITZ-, 22 April 2012 - 07:41 AM.

QUOTE
No, only IPL
if there is now one LOD object instead of maybe 3 for 3 normal objects, then link only one of the 3 normal objects to the LOD object

Yes, of course. Isn't necessary to link to each one, thinking that if you don't do that, your game will not load.

QUOTE
Last paramater of IDE lines are flags to set transparency, backfacing, interior and such but normally never -1
0 instead -1 would be right


Yes indeed, I accidently put everything all together because of seeing -1 everywhere tounge.gif . Med Editor can teach and give you this info very well.

QUOTE
LOD objects must have -1 at the end
only objects which should link to a corresponding LOD object must not have -1 at the end
objects which should link to a corresponding LOD object must have the line number of the corresponding LOD object


Now it makes sense. I took for example VegasE and took the second object, ballys03_lvs with 207 at the end so I looked into Med Editor, found out its LOD then I come back to VegasE IPL and search for the LOD lodlys03_lvs. I drag from lodlys03_lvs until I reached ballys03_lvs and copy everything in NOTEPad ++ because there the tool shows your numbers in lines, and I found out that lodlys03_lvs is actually the 207th line smile.gif
So actually the normal objects contains all the lines, doesn't matter if other objects are more than one, like trees until it hits the specific LOD. That's why somehow I saw them randomly set but is not true because everything is set as normal as it is.

Now because all my new objects are placed at the bottom of my IPLs I just simple copy everything from IPL to NOTEPad++, I see the specific line of LOD, I find the normal object, I set the xth line and I hope to work.

I will do some test and come back to tell the results.

QUOTE
this work is diffycult to do without mistake and just one wrong linenumber cause a crash at gameload
the linenumbering of the stream ipl's will be wrong when you remove an ipl line in that part where the LOD objects are placed
Best way is, to extract and convert the stream.ipl's and make them all together with new numbering
(i mean for example all vegase_streamX.ipl into vegasE.ipl)


Oh, yeah; such a pain when you set something by mistake and delete even a number and the game crashes around the middle, then you need to find out where you messed up.




EDIT!

=================================
Nop, wait. Trying to find out the LOD line by connecting with the normal object, using NOTEPAD++ doesn't seems to work because the line it doesn't correspond with the new LOD. I wake to see that is connected with other LOD in Med Editor, but after I notice this, I manually connected them through Med Editor with the proper LOD, Med Editor making the right number line and now is actually working. The game loads fine without COL, plus now the new LOD object can bee seen only in LOD world and not in both worlds as I usually getting.

Thank you ZAZ, is not the first time when you saved me. Lot of good things I learned. cool.gif

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#6

Posted 22 April 2012 - 12:09 PM

Fine, i wish you success for you hard job wink.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users