Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV crashes during "Three Leaf Clover" mission

7 replies to this topic
digital leash
  • digital leash

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012

#1

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:21 PM

For some reason my game crashes just as I enter the subway, the part where you run from the helicopter.
I've tried it a few times now and it crashes in the exact same spot every time. The game is fully patched as is GFWL.
I have also tried lowering the settings to minimum but no luck. Any help is appreciated.

Vista 64bit
i7 870 @ 3.8 GHz
GTX 590
8GB RAM
Latest drivers

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#2

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:24 PM

Did you buy the game or download it? Also is there any mods installed?

digital leash
  • digital leash

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012

#3

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:28 PM

Yes, I have the game purchased through steam. No mods installed.

YankeesPwnMets
  • YankeesPwnMets

    More Betterer

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2010
  • United-States

#4

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:40 PM

Go to Steam, right click GTA IV, click on Properties, click on Local Files and then click on Verify Integrity of Game Cache.

digital leash
  • digital leash

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012

#5

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:49 PM

It downloaded a few files. I'll post back after I test it out. Thanks

digital leash
  • digital leash

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012

#6

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:54 PM

Still crashes on the same spot. Tempted to just reinstall, unless you have some ideas.

digital leash
  • digital leash

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012

#7

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:22 AM

I believe I got it. I tried going through it again and while I was on the way to the bank I minimized to check this thread and noticed the GFWL icon on my taskbar.
I thought might as well, so I closed that down and continued. To my surprise the game didn't crash! I don't know why closing that fixed it (or if that was even what did it), but I'm happy.

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#8

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:08 AM

It's possible that by simply minimizing the game you gave it enough time to load some part of the map. You should consider defragmenting your drives.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users