Quantcast

» «
Photo

Please help me keep from burning up another GPU!

1 reply to this topic
nerdcorepunx
  • nerdcorepunx

Player Hater

• Members

Posted 12 April 2012 - 11:09 PM

Ok, i guess a little back-story is in order.my computer is about 3 years old. in the past year and a half i started playing games.GPU intensive games like Arkham Asylum,Mafia II,all the AC's....then i got GTA IV.with the previous games i would run with whatever settings that were default.i assume high. i could hear the fan on my card wind up while i was playing and i would play for hours at a time with no problems. when i installed GTA IV,it lagged so bad i put all the settings on medium or low.it was playable and i didn't mind, but after a couple days my 9800GT burnt out. so, i went and got a GTX 550 Ti.at first it ran fine and was actually kinda cool to the touch.i didn't change any settings.next day(today),it froze and i noticed the card was very warm,almost hot.i keep the side panel off. i just don't want it to increase more and more til this one burns up too. i did some reading up and installed Realtemp and MSI Afterburner. it is running at about 44 degrees, but when i load up the game (and just sit there,not actually play) it jumps to around 78 degrees in just 5 minutes. i know with the monitoring program you can adjust fan speeds and such,how do i keep it from getting so hot so quick? or did it just top out around 78? or will it keep getting hotter? also,if it is determined that i am safe, i am interested in doing a little overclocking and maybe bring the levels of the settings up if i can.here are some of my specs:

core i7 [email protected] GHz
6GB DDR3
460W PSU
GTX 550 Ti 1GB