Photo

Best languages for a beginner..?

17 replies to this topic
Mockage
  • Mockage

First Breathe After Coma

• The Connection
  • NATO

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:55 PM Edited by Mockage, 12 April 2012 - 10:34 PM.

Best programming languages for a TOTAL newbie? I've been using Small Basic and caught the gist of general programming and such pretty quick. Now I think I'm ready to move onto other languages..! Just not sure which ones.

Compiler and editor suggestions would help too smile.gif

nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

Don't mind me

• Members

Posted 13 April 2012 - 12:04 AM

What about VB.NET?

K^2
  • K^2

Vidi Vici Veni

• United-States

Posted 13 April 2012 - 03:17 AM

If you actually want to learn programming, C. If you want to learn to code a bit for specific task, what do you want to do?

Mockage
  • Mockage

First Breathe After Coma

• The Connection
  • NATO

Posted 13 April 2012 - 03:32 AM

Sorry about being a bit vague there.

I want to make something like rainmeter. Basically like a customization tool for your PC (specifically for windows) After looking through the site it seems that the program is coded by C++ and C#. I downloaded a tutorial from the internet that covers the whole gist of C++ and thought about picking that as my 1st serious language to learn, considering it's carelessly flaunted around the internet as being a great beginner language. I have no clue about IDE's though, which is a problem.

Also, whats the difference between a scripting language and a programming language?

coin-god
  • coin-god

High Roller

• $outh $ide Hoodz

Posted 13 April 2012 - 03:44 AM

To be honest, the differences are meaningless. There really is none.

For example making CLEO mods or SCM for GTA would be scripting.
Creating a launcher for the game that's stand alone would be programming.

Basicly when you script, you are programming within a program.

K^2
  • K^2

Vidi Vici Veni

• United-States

Posted 13 April 2012 - 04:37 AM