Photo

The Little Details...

21 replies to this topic
bluesboyjr
  • bluesboyjr

Founder of the Zee Memorial Foundation

• Members

Posted 23 March 2012 - 06:59 PM

So, I've been playing GTA IV and its Episodes for a couple of years now. I was playing TBoGT yesterday, and I saw a taxi driver throw a Coke can out of his car window. The thing that amazed me was that in all of hundreds of hours I've put into the games, I swear that's the first time I saw that happen. I'm sure it has happened plenty of times, but it's such a tiny detail that I only noticed it when he chucked it out when driving right in front of Luis.

Also recently, I decided that I'd start playing my Xbox games using headphones instead of just playing the sound through the TV to see if I can get more drawn into the game, and let me tell you, it works. You can hear all the far-off generators and car alarms coming from different directions, and all the traffic sounds really make you feel like you're standing in Niko's spot. And this lead to another discovery - not only can you hear the radios of passing cars (I already knew that), but you can hear several at once. I always thought that the game could only load one station at a time, but there I was, on some street in Alderney where I'd scared a dozen or so drivers out of their cars with a gun, and from their abandoned cars I could hear some talk radio, the Radio Broker DJ and some Fusion FM, all coming into my head from different directions at the same time. Well, I thought it was pretty cool.

So yeah, this thread is to ask you guys what tiny little details have amazed you by how small and unnoticeable they are. Things that, when you do notice them, make you go "wow, I need to pay closer attention", things that make you praise Rockstar for their eagle-eye for detail.

B Dawg
  • B Dawg

Is the sky f*cking blue?

• Members
  • Bosnia-and-Herzegovina

Posted 23 March 2012 - 08:53 PM