Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Building a cheap gaming pc

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
52 replies to this topic
ccrogers15
  • ccrogers15

    REQUESTED BAN

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2010

#1

Posted 08 March 2012 - 10:43 PM

I already have my own, but im wanting to build a cheap, under $500 machine that can play at least GTA IV on medium settings, for my sister. It needs to also be able to run Windows 8.

nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004

#2

Posted 08 March 2012 - 11:19 PM Edited by nightwalker83, 08 March 2012 - 11:22 PM.

Well, I bet that Windows 8 will work on any system capable of running Windows 7. I am not a hardware type person so I can't tell you whether or not you will get a decent system for under $500.

Edit:

My advice would be to see who far you will be able to get if you purchased the system with the system on GTA IV box. Just modify to suit your needs afterwards.

ccrogers15
  • ccrogers15

    REQUESTED BAN

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2010

#3

Posted 08 March 2012 - 11:51 PM

QUOTE (nightwalker83 @ Thursday, Mar 8 2012, 23:19)
Well, I bet that Windows 8 will work on any system capable of running Windows 7. I am not a hardware type person so I can't tell you whether or not you will get a decent system for under $500.

Edit:

My advice would be to see who far you will be able to get if you purchased the system with the system on GTA IV box. Just modify to suit your needs afterwards.

Never even thought of that actually. I should do that. Look at the IV recommended specs and build from there. DRRR i should of thought of that. Thanks.

leik oh em jeez!
  • leik oh em jeez!

    The boatman stays with the boat.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007

#4

Posted 09 March 2012 - 12:50 AM

-Just about any 2.5ghz or faster quad core
-Basically any PCI-E 2.0 x16 compatible motherboard with a socket that supports your CPU
-4Gb dual channel, or 6Gb tripple channel matched memory
-GTX260 or ATI/AMD equivalent
-Cheap-o case. Personally I find most, if not all, cheap custom cases to look like complete sh*t and they fall apart very easily. I would check on ebay for cheap HP cases, but that's just because I like their design and they always last me forever without anything breaking.


That's where I would start in your situation.

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#5

Posted 09 March 2012 - 06:47 AM

I found Windows 8 DP version requires just over 6GB of space, so to make Windows work on a 1990s 2GB WD drive, I formatted XP Home Edition, it came out working, with out the proper drivers, and SP3, but it still amazingly worked, I have video proof I shot for YouTube! I'm compressing it now, and will plan to see about removing extra fat from it as well, if I have the time to test it far enough. I don't plan to register a Win XP OS to a drive that small, but it was a freebie

Anything 775 socket and up on the Intel side. My T3522 eMachine won't do dual core, but I can use Hyper Threading, and it already supports 64bit computing with the Celeron 3.33 it has.
It also supports PCIexpress and 4GB in 4 RAM slots, using a D915GUX mobo, so, you could in effect run GTA IV on that, but you'd be looking for 2007 or newer, as far as getting a machine that's not limping along

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#6

Posted 09 March 2012 - 08:05 AM

$127,99 Intel Core i3-2120 Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819115077

$109,99 XFX HD-677X-ZNLC Radeon HD 6770 1GB
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814150540

$69,99 ASRock H61ICAFE LGA 1155 Intel H61
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813157246

$84,99 Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822136769

$19,99 PNY Optima 4GB 240-Pin DDR3
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820178332

$44,99 Antec NEO ECO 400C 400W
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817371029

$15,99 LG ELECTRONICS GH22NS90B
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16827136240

$44,99 COOLER MASTER Elite 430 RC-430-KWN1
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811119227

= $518,92

Dual core CPU with Hyper Threading, good graphics card, proper motherboard, 500GB HDD, 4GBs of RAM, high quality power supply, DVD burner and a case with good airflow.

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#7

Posted 09 March 2012 - 05:33 PM Edited by Wolf68k, 09 March 2012 - 05:37 PM.

How much of a build do you need? A complete ground up including the OS or are you salvaging anything from another system (if so, what?) and do you need an OS.


@yojo
The prices must of changed big time since you posted that. I just tried that list and it game to $523.92 but then goes to $540.11 when you add in the shipping. Although there is a total of $25 in MIR, but that doesn't mean jack at the time of purchase.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#8

Posted 09 March 2012 - 06:15 PM Edited by yojo2, 09 March 2012 - 06:27 PM.

I made a typo, that HDD costs $89,99, not $84,99. wink.gif
Anyway - that's the cheapest sensible rig with i3 on board, that I could build. If it's still to expensive, the only thing left to do is to take Pentium G620 instead of i3-2100. Or maybe a quad core Athlon 631, but it's currently unavailable.

//edit: and I've just noticed that HD7750 costs the same as HD6770, so it's an interesting alternative. wink.gif
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814125417

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#9

Posted 09 March 2012 - 06:22 PM Edited by Slamman, 09 March 2012 - 07:01 PM.

When you buy new, your idea of cheap will include a hundred bucks on more then one component (mobo, CPU, perhaps case, PSU, RAM is not among those, ODD is not among those, for example), my idea of cheap means maybe no more then two items over $100, if even that much!!

BTW, my component list won't ever include $100 on a case, since I think you can still build a reliable system that can mount and cool in a mundane case, but ODD, for example, you can pick up used, or low, low cost. CPU and mobo, RAM if you maintain, like PSU, Power Supply Unit, that it must be high end to live up to "you get what you pay for".
I found there is reliability to be found in very low cost components, even if there's a bit of risk, you don't take a bath on that loss!

The hit on that Gigabyte and other $100 range GPUs I suspect is only a 128bit memory interface, my 8600GT cards share that same bottleneck!!

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#10

Posted 09 March 2012 - 06:51 PM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Friday, Mar 9 2012, 12:15)
//edit: and I've just noticed that HD7750 costs the same as HD6770, so it's an interesting alternative. wink.gif
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814125417

Yes but seeing as how a 5770 can for most part edge out a 7750 I see no reason why a 6770 can't do the same.
The 7750 has a 880Mhz GPU but only has 512 SPU. While the 5770 and 6770 are 850Mhz and 800 SPU.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#11

Posted 09 March 2012 - 06:55 PM

True, but in some reviews HD7750 overclocked better than HD5770/6770, and it consumes less power (not by a whole lot, but still). Anyway, I didn't say it's a better alternative wink.gif

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#12

Posted 09 March 2012 - 07:02 PM

Did Gigabyte use the OC in the card name to imply any actual over-clocking? The memory interface should be larger, the 1GB of RAM still has to channel through that, like the FSB in a CPU!

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#13

Posted 09 March 2012 - 11:06 PM Edited by Stinky12, 09 March 2012 - 11:17 PM.

AMD Athlon II X3 450 @ 3.2GHz------------$77.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103886
G.Skill Value 4GB DDR3 1333--------------$19.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231423
Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3---------------------$99.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813128519
HIS HD6790 1GB 256bit--------------------$129.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814161377
Seagate 500GB SATA 6Gb/s----------------$84.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148767
Rosewill 530w--------------------------------$49.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817182199
Samsung SATA DVD writer-----------------$15.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16827151244
Apex SK-393 ATX case---------------------$19.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811154109
Subtotal $498.92
S&H $17.32*
Grand total $516.24 (without tax)*
Grand total $562.98 (with tax)*


*Tax rate and shipping charges varies by State

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#14

Posted 10 March 2012 - 02:00 AM

That's if cheap mandates you go with Athlon. I'm disappointed in what I've read in reviews though, that the multicore AMDs can't compete with more modest Intels!

ccrogers15
  • ccrogers15

    REQUESTED BAN

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2010

#15

Posted 10 March 2012 - 05:57 AM

QUOTE (Stinky12 @ Friday, Mar 9 2012, 23:06)
AMD Athlon II X3 450 @ 3.2GHz------------$77.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103886
G.Skill Value 4GB DDR3 1333--------------$19.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231423
Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3---------------------$99.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813128519
HIS HD6790 1GB 256bit--------------------$129.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814161377
Seagate 500GB SATA 6Gb/s----------------$84.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148767
Rosewill 530w--------------------------------$49.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817182199
Samsung SATA DVD writer-----------------$15.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16827151244
Apex SK-393 ATX case---------------------$19.99
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811154109
Subtotal $498.92
S&H $17.32*
Grand total $516.24 (without tax)*
Grand total $562.98 (with tax)*


*Tax rate and shipping charges varies by State

I will do some of this, but AMD is not gonna happen.

leik oh em jeez!
  • leik oh em jeez!

    The boatman stays with the boat.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007

#16

Posted 10 March 2012 - 11:05 PM

QUOTE (ccrogers15 @ Saturday, Mar 10 2012, 00:57)
I will do some of this, but AMD is not gonna happen.

It's just something to keep in mind. After all, going with Intel at that price you'd be looking at Core 2 Duos.

Also, why is every one suggesting single sticks of RAM? If it were me, I'd much prefer spending an extra $7-12 and have the advantage of dual channel.
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820145299

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#17

Posted 11 March 2012 - 02:14 AM

A single stick is cheaper and lets you upgrade later on when your board only has 2 ram slots.

leik oh em jeez!
  • leik oh em jeez!

    The boatman stays with the boat.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007

#18

Posted 11 March 2012 - 02:13 PM

QUOTE (Stinky12 @ Saturday, Mar 10 2012, 21:14)
A single stick is cheaper and lets you upgrade later on when your board only has 2 ram slots.

It's a budget system for his sister, I doubt she'll ever need any more than 4Gb RAM. There's no telling if or when that RAM will ever be upgraded after now, so isn't it better to maximize current performance?

You guys act like you've got "future proofing" programmed into you so good that you can't even comprehend building a system with maximum price/performance ratio for now with no plans to upgrade in the near future. I get the feeling that by the time he goes to buy more RAM for this system, you guys will tell him it's not worth the money to put into such an old system, and you'll tell him him he should build a new one.

@OP: Your sister will never need more than 4Gb RAM unless she's rendering CG movies or continually encoding movies. You'd see much better performance now from two 2Gb sticks, and you'd never need to upgrade the RAM in this system again.

In the theoretical situation you did buy a single 4Gb stick, the only reason you would need to buy another one later is so that you can run them in dual channel. Your memory would be limited by speed, not capacity.

So you could spend $20 now, and 20 later, having a slow computer until you spend that other 20, or you could spend $27-32 now and already have a fast computer.

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#19

Posted 12 March 2012 - 04:34 AM

I would go with yojo's build.

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#20

Posted 12 March 2012 - 09:27 AM

1 stick of 4GB is NOT CHEAP, but then again, I'm talking DDR2, and you're thinking DDR3 I suppose (generally speaking)

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#21

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:46 PM

Good point on the memory. I would go with yojo's build and get this http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231396 instead of a single stick.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#22

Posted 12 March 2012 - 01:38 PM

To clarify, I went with single 4Gb stick to leave as much free RAM slots as possible. It won't affect performance in any way, since there is absolutely no difference between Single and Dual Channel in games.

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#23

Posted 12 March 2012 - 02:32 PM

Don't say that, I want bragging rights that my laptop is running Dual Channel DDR2! nice

Around here, while looking to equip my Asus with 16GB, only 4 slots, so needing 4GB, there is few options, and you're looking at two (8) for nearly $100, about $79 on average I believe, that's spendy.
Anyway, AMD will work for games, but in a short time, Intel will be the major player, At least the ATI cards are still an option to nVidia.
I don't mind having one choice on the market, as long as they don't price-gouge! haha

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#24

Posted 12 March 2012 - 03:51 PM

I didn't want to before but now I will. I have not personally tried this and I'm having a hard time finding anyone that actually has.
I have yet to find anything where someone tested 1 stick of RAM compared to 2 sticks that equal the same size.

I have seen a Tom's Hardware article where they tested 2 sticks of RAM in dual channel and single channel modes. In that article they did show that for the most part there is little to no difference in performance.

If I had the money and time to waste I would get 1 stick of 8GB of the exact same brand and model of RAM that I have and compare it to the 2x4GB sticks I have now to see if there really is any difference.

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#25

Posted 12 March 2012 - 04:29 PM Edited by Slamman, 12 March 2012 - 04:32 PM.

Should not be a factor, my previous boards were pretty much all mATX, where 8GB is supported, but only two Ram slots. There exists the single sticks below 1GB as well, all capable of being used. The speed matching is the most important factor I believe.

In color coded Ram slots; yellow x 2, black x 2, I ran matching sticks in one or the other, and a spare in the remaining slot, instead of all 4, filling all 4 in an Asus board shouldn't be a factor. I'd be pretty surprised, since ASUS is an OEM, as well as selling their own boards

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#26

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:28 PM Edited by Wolf68k, 12 March 2012 - 05:30 PM.

"Should not be" and "is" are 2 different things. You're guessing just like everyone else does.
Not sure what the heck you running 2 matched sticks and 1 not matched on the same board as the same time has to do with anything.

The fact that ASUS is used by Dell and HP and so on for their boards doesn't mean a bloody thing. There are people that if you bothered to look have complained that running 4 sticks of RAM at the same time on some boards, not sure ASUS but that is where I see it a lot, the system has issues.

I didn't bring this up to start an argument over 1 stick vs 2 sticks. My only point is there is a difference between 1 and 2 stick and also between single and dual channel. Obviously running 1 stick is single channel but does 1 stick single channel really mean the same thing as 2 sticks single channel.

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#27

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:49 PM

Dual channel is best obtained by just matching two sticks, The one side of the Going Small equation is that it's cheap, bottom line. You can try and argue with cheap, but cost when there's no question of failure is not a big issue.

I did mention Asus or Dell due to having more then two RAM slots on those boards I have used, so.... Speaking from experience.

I've got an issue with Premium Ram versus value RAM, but you could blast me for buying any Ram at a discount. Regardless, you can game with it, you can likely overclock it I suspect. I'd feel better overclocking if you didn't spend a king's ransom on the items

leik oh em jeez!
  • leik oh em jeez!

    The boatman stays with the boat.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007

#28

Posted 12 March 2012 - 09:11 PM

QUOTE (Wolf68k @ Monday, Mar 12 2012, 12:28)
but does 1 stick single channel really mean the same thing as 2 sticks single channel.

Theoretically, if both setups are single channel, there should be no difference at all in (otherwise equal) one 4Gb stick vs two 2Gb sticks. But if in the same situation you run the two sticks in dual channel, there should be a performance boost.

As far as leaving slots open, why? There have been a few select boards that are known to sometimes have problems with all four slots filled, but I've NEVER heard of similar problems using two sticks instead of one, even on boards with only two slots. Less sticks does not mean more stable. I believe the problem lies in some chipsets not liking four sticks of certain RAM.

And it's not like his sister would need the left over space for more sticks. I know any of you would would tell him to build his sister a new computer before putting 16Gb in that system. And rightfully so, as 4Gb should be more than enough for modern games.

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#29

Posted 12 March 2012 - 10:26 PM Edited by Stinky12, 13 March 2012 - 01:04 AM.

QUOTE (leik oh em jeez! @ Monday, Mar 12 2012, 21:11)
QUOTE (Wolf68k @ Monday, Mar 12 2012, 12:28)
but does 1 stick single channel really mean the same thing as 2 sticks single channel.

Theoretically, if both setups are single channel, there should be no difference at all in (otherwise equal) one 4Gb stick vs two 2Gb sticks. But if in the same situation you run the two sticks in dual channel, there should be a performance boost.

As far as leaving slots open, why? There have been a few select boards that are known to sometimes have problems with all four slots filled, but I've NEVER heard of similar problems using two sticks instead of one, even on boards with only two slots. Less sticks does not mean more stable. I believe the problem lies in some chipsets not liking four sticks of certain RAM.

And it's not like his sister would need the left over space for more sticks. I know any of you would would tell him to build his sister a new computer before putting 16Gb in that system. And rightfully so, as 4Gb should be more than enough for modern games.

Boards that causes instability when all 4 ram slots are occupied can be they are those el cheapo models build with cheap parts.
I'm currently running with all 4 ram slots occupied for 5 years now and so far no issues with rams at all.
The reason why some say not to fill up all ram slots is because of overclocking, having all slots filled stresses on the controllers, so they would prefer to just use 2 ram slots out of 4.

@OP
For a Intel gaming system at $500 or less, you will have to consider getting a Pentium Dual core.
Spend a bit more and yojo's build is pretty solid for a cheap Intel gaming system.

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#30

Posted 13 March 2012 - 12:44 AM

I suppose if one is THAT strapped for cash then they could go with the 4GB x 1 RAM. However it's only going to save like $10 over the next 3 years depending on if/when they decide to upgrade. Why not get that little bit of extra performance, no matter how small it is, if it's cheap?

Slamman, get with the times man. Who's talking about DDR2 RAM for this new build? This is the year 2012.

Now I know this is just anecdotal evidence, but my MSI P45 Platinum has lasted 3 years with all 4 slots filled running the memory at 800MHz DDR2 CAS 4 (6GB.) That's with a 1600MHz FSB as well. Admittedly it did fry once but I think it was just a defect. Been working fine since I RMAed it 3 years ago. My current Sandy Bridge rig has all 4 slots filled (12GB) with 1600MHz DDR3 CAS 9. No worries here.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users