Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV runs worse than previously after upgrade

11 replies to this topic
AlfredNTheFettuc
  • AlfredNTheFettuc

    Hellbanned but not

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 May 2010
  • Poland

#1

Posted 17 February 2012 - 04:39 PM Edited by AlfredNTheFettuc, 17 February 2012 - 04:45 PM.

So my specs are:
CPU - AMD FX-4100 3,6 GHz (OCed to 3,8)
GPU - GTX 570
8 GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit

My previous CPU was a Phenom II X4 overclocked to 3,4 GHz, and it ran the game better! Now it runs at 30 FPS at best.
So what am I doing wrong again? And no, I can't afford an Intel.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#2

Posted 17 February 2012 - 04:56 PM

FX4 is worse than Phenom II X4.. that was a downgrade, not upgrade.

AlfredNTheFettuc
  • AlfredNTheFettuc

    Hellbanned but not

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 May 2010
  • Poland

#3

Posted 17 February 2012 - 05:02 PM

Curses. Go me.
This is the last time I do anything, as I'm clearly too dumb for PC gaming.

Triple Penetration
  • Triple Penetration

    Box ♡ Out

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2011

#4

Posted 17 February 2012 - 05:25 PM

Wow, dude. I don't know how you feel, must be pretty sh*tty to be you now.

This could be called an epic fail, but I won't be such a bully. wink.gif

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#5

Posted 17 February 2012 - 05:29 PM

Try overclocking it some more (preferably 4,5-5GHz), it might catch up with Phenom.

AlfredNTheFettuc
  • AlfredNTheFettuc

    Hellbanned but not

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 May 2010
  • Poland

#6

Posted 17 February 2012 - 05:34 PM

No, make fun of me all you want. That's what I get for not listening to people all my life.
Anyway I still have my old equipment and I can return all this crap. I'm gonna save up some more and buy a mobo with a 2500k.
And swear it's the last upgrade I ever do.

wildstyle91
  • wildstyle91

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2011

#7

Posted 17 February 2012 - 06:12 PM

Ouch, let this be a lesson. Also the 2500k is very good so get that and don't give up on pc gaming! icon14.gif

SNAKE DOC
  • SNAKE DOC

    \o/

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2008
  • None

#8

Posted 17 February 2012 - 06:26 PM

Ask the great community here about what parts you should get next. Or go for broke with your new/old CPU and push it to the limit! biggrin.gif

N0STurboMAX
  • N0STurboMAX

    GTA San Andreas Expert Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2010

#9

Posted 17 February 2012 - 09:59 PM

QUOTE (AlfredNTheFettuc @ Friday, Feb 17 2012, 17:02)
Curses. Go me.
This is the last time I do anything, as I'm clearly too dumb for PC gaming.

We all make mistakes. But it's okay, we learn from our mistakes.

Just next time, I advise you to come to the forums to ask for help. We always like to help.

Oh, and for the i5 2500k, it's an awesome deal.

kvic
  • kvic

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#10

Posted 18 February 2012 - 03:09 PM

I have been a AMD customer for years and after looking @ what AMD brought to the table ,I went with a Intel 2500k and a asus board ,right now I have it oc'ed to 4.7 on air and all I can say is it chews this game up now. So take it easy on yourself we all make mistakes .

YankeesPwnMets
  • YankeesPwnMets

    More Betterer

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2010
  • United-States

#11

Posted 18 February 2012 - 04:39 PM

We all make mistakes. Watching AMD for the last several years, they probably fooled hundreds of customers into buying their new platforms and CPUs even though they would have not provided any benefits. AMD has been a colossal disappointment with Bulldozer, the X6, etc. Return all the upgraded parts for a FULL refund, then when you have the money get this

http://www.newegg.co.....&Tpk=i5 2500k
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131771


unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#12

Posted 18 February 2012 - 04:51 PM

its not all what you all are talking about - GTA IV is not optimized for bulldozer or vice versa. thats it, nothing more. the reason 2500k runs good is when its overclocked, because the main things that benefit GTA IV CPU-wise (IME) is high GHz and number of cores (four, as opposed to six, eight or twelve)
i clearly remember regretting my purchase of a q6600 desktop until the release of GTA IV, all the sites like anandtech bit-tech and hardocp were saying all i needed was a dual core to play games at max

http://www.anandtech...still-quad-core




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users