Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Fix some Flags

13 replies to this topic
lol232
  • lol232

    The Harwood Butcher

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#1

Posted 13 February 2012 - 08:58 PM Edited by lol232, 14 February 2012 - 10:27 AM.

Now, realised some flags are incorrect ;
Like Monaco Flag, It's the same as Indonesia Flag, but originally, it is shorther,
Also The Nepal Flag is Really annoying,
I mean, It's a Unique Flag, though, it looks like Two Triangles inside a white Rectangle over here,
It isn't transparent so it's quite.. Um... Lame.
I made fixes for both Flags :
Nepal:
user posted image
Monaco:
user posted image

EDIT:
Here's The Indonesia Flag, It's NOT the same.
user posted image

Also, add Vatican Flag as well.
Is it just me or I cannot find it sigh.gif .

EDIT 2:
Also the Yugoslavian Flag, It needs that red star:
user posted image

Icarus
  • Icarus

    [C9] Orthonormal

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2002
  • None

#2

Posted 15 February 2012 - 06:15 AM

Dude, they're flags on an internet forum - they're not perfect, but they're better than nothing.

As for the Vatican flag, I'm pretty sure no one on GTAF is a citizen of Vatican City, so it's a moot point. As well, I'm sure you're aware Yugoslavia hasn't been a country since the 1990s.

lol232
  • lol232

    The Harwood Butcher

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#3

Posted 15 February 2012 - 11:01 AM Edited by lol232, 15 February 2012 - 11:04 AM.

Well, a minor fix wouldn't be really bad, at least for Nepal Flag,
And take a look at some members : USSR Flag, so why wouldn't members use Yugoslavia,
I mean, they will use Yugoslavian Flag for, they will you it for pretty same reason as USSR's Flag.
But could at least Nepal Flag be Fixed, and does it truly mind if Vatican Flag is added,
I mean, I can recall I sow a member with a Vatican Flag,
but I cannot find it in the list, all the ways, fix for at least Nepal flag would be nice, but Monaco flag looks exactly same as Indonesia Flag,
When it originally isn't, It's for 1/5 shorter that Indonesia flag, just for the difference,
And Yugoslavia flag, just so it can be recognisable.

EDIT:
And what if there really is a citizen of Vatican City over here?
What if I just move to Vatican City straight away, lol.gif , maybe there is, how do you even know tounge2.gif ?

*MURDOC*
  • *MURDOC*

    Relevant jorts intensify.

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2004
  • None

#4

Posted 15 February 2012 - 03:38 PM

The unnecessary flags that are already there are fine, but why go through extra work for unnecessary flags that nobody truly needs?

lol232
  • lol232

    The Harwood Butcher

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#5

Posted 15 February 2012 - 06:14 PM

I don't get the point of what are you talking about? monocle.gif
Can you explain it a little better, please?
notify.gif

*MURDOC*
  • *MURDOC*

    Relevant jorts intensify.

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2004
  • None

#6

Posted 15 February 2012 - 06:38 PM

QUOTE (lol232 @ Wednesday, Feb 15 2012, 13:14)
I don't get the point of what are you talking about? monocle.gif
Can you explain it a little better, please?
notify.gif

Okay let me try...


In regards to fixing the flags that are already there...

That makes sense, and I could see that happening.

As for the flags for countries that no longer exist, or even the comical ones (such as the pirate flag)...


The ones that are already in are fine, but there's really no need at all to add more of them, especially since most people tend to use their country of origin, or where they currently are.

anuj
  • anuj

    iconic

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2002
  • None

#7

Posted 15 February 2012 - 06:58 PM

To reply from a team standpoint - when we purchased the flag add-on for our IPB system, it only included 1 year of support and manual access to the flag database, which is maintained by the team that sells the add-on. When our year of support ended, we no longer had access to the flag database in order to manually add new flags. Our database is frozen. While we at GTANet do encourage open-mindedness and tolerance of changing cultural icons, we are at a point where we cannot sufficiently manage to complete your request for new/updated flags at this time.

We appreciate your concerns and we do apologize in advance for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Regards,

Thomas (GTANet Tech Support)

Addendum - we currently do not currently have the Vatican flag on file in our database as the team we purchased access from does not consider the Vatican to be a city deserving of its own flag. They are rather stringent on this policy. The GTANet team does not share this viewpoint and are tolerant of all religions.

lol232
  • lol232

    The Harwood Butcher

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#8

Posted 15 February 2012 - 08:44 PM

Alright, anuj, thanks for the info,
Is it repurchaseable to add new flags?
Of course you wont purchase it, just wondering,
I didn't know that actually.
Anyways, if it ever happens fot flags to be editable again, add thise fixes.
And feel free to lock this topic.

@*MURDOC* I uderstand now, thanks, But still thinking...

anuj
  • anuj

    iconic

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2002
  • None

#9

Posted 15 February 2012 - 08:56 PM

QUOTE (lol232 @ Wednesday, Feb 15 2012, 14:44)
Alright, anuj, thanks for the info,
Is it repurchaseable to add new flags?
Of course you wont purchase it, just wondering,
I didn't know that actually.
Anyways, if it ever happens fot flags to be editable again, add thise fixes.
And feel free to lock this topic.

@*MURDOC* I uderstand now, thanks, But still thinking...

Unfortunately, the company we purchased the software add-on from has refused to do business with GTANet in the forseeable future, given our rather lax viewpoint regarding the geographical classification of Vatican City. Until we sign an affidavit acknowledging the holy city as a non-sovereign entity belonging to the country of Rome, then they will not re-sell us our access rights.

Regards,

Thomas (GTANet Tech Support)

lol232
  • lol232

    The Harwood Butcher

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010
  • Serbia

#10

Posted 16 February 2012 - 06:57 PM

I see now, thanks for info, Thomas, I didn't know that, but is there any else kind of Flag system that this one to use?
Just wondering, thanks for info.

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada

#11

Posted 16 February 2012 - 07:18 PM

All other flag systems out there are out of GTANet's price range. Additionally, money for the purchase of a new flag system wasn't included in the 2012 budget and would require the addition of more adds to the website in order to facilitate the purchase of a new system.

leik oh em jeez!
  • leik oh em jeez!

    The boatman stays with the boat.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007

#12

Posted 16 February 2012 - 07:30 PM

I've never used the flag system, so I've got no idea how the software for it works, but would it be possible to direct it to a database on your own server?

Oh, and why in the hell is Ryan not a global moderator yet?

Waddy
  • Waddy

    Gods foster son.

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2004
  • None

#13

Posted 16 February 2012 - 08:13 PM

QUOTE (leik oh em jeez! @ Thursday, Feb 16 2012, 19:30)


Oh, and why in the hell is Ryan not a global moderator yet?

He's Canadian and ginger.

Vanzant
  • Vanzant

    EZ5

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2005
  • United-States

#14

Posted 16 February 2012 - 11:20 PM

QUOTE (Waddy @ Thursday, Feb 16 2012, 16:13)
QUOTE (leik oh em jeez! @ Thursday, Feb 16 2012, 19:30)


Oh, and why in the hell is Ryan not a global moderator yet?

He's Canadian and ginger.

The truth is, we are trying are hardest to make Ryan an Admin. It's taking long steps and repeated resumes. GTAforums does NOT discriminate.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users