Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[WIP|IV|MAP] Codename: Clockwork Mount

638 replies to this topic
steel89ita
  • steel89ita

    Map Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#91

Posted 12 February 2012 - 12:55 PM

QUOTE (gabrielgx @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 02:04)
hey man put more trees on the mountain to get more real: D

I will add them, the problem is that I don't know ho to add them using the original game files! (the trees of the vegetation)
I will check on these days if I find a way to add them!

Rob.Zombie
  • Rob.Zombie

    Sgt.Kanyo

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2007

#92

Posted 12 February 2012 - 08:36 PM

It looks real nice so far, also when you manage to add trees, please release a version without trees, because when I had SPA Franchorchamps installed I couldn't even do 2 full circuit but I got the texture bug (textures start disappearing). So not sure if it's the trees but spa had lots of them, and my guess is that ate all of my memory.

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#93

Posted 12 February 2012 - 09:06 PM

QUOTE (Rob.Zombie @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 20:36)
It looks real nice so far, also when you manage to add trees, please release a version without trees, because when I had SPA Franchorchamps installed I couldn't even do 2 full circuit but I got the texture bug (textures start disappearing). So not sure if it's the trees but spa had lots of them, and my guess is that ate all of my memory.

He probaly will do it like SPA Franchorchamps where the trees are in their own WPL. Just put a # in front of the trees.wpl for the map mod in the gta.dat.

Jestic
  • Jestic

    Chris

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2005
  • Netherlands

#94

Posted 12 February 2012 - 09:09 PM

QUOTE (steel89ita @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 14:55)
QUOTE (gabrielgx @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 02:04)
hey man put more trees on the mountain to get more real: D

I will add them, the problem is that I don't know ho to add them using the original game files! (the trees of the vegetation)
I will check on these days if I find a way to add them!

Open ext_veg.img with OpenIV, extract the contents of the trees u wanna put on your map.
Mass import ODR files, now you can place the trees where you lijke. Make sure when u clone them u don't change the names,
Then simply link the trees to a WPL in objs section and export.

steel89ita
  • steel89ita

    Map Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#95

Posted 13 February 2012 - 09:24 PM

QUOTE (Blaster_nl @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 21:09)
QUOTE (steel89ita @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 14:55)
QUOTE (gabrielgx @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 02:04)
hey man put more trees on the mountain to get more real: D

I will add them, the problem is that I don't know ho to add them using the original game files! (the trees of the vegetation)
I will check on these days if I find a way to add them!

Open ext_veg.img with OpenIV, extract the contents of the trees u wanna put on your map.
Mass import ODR files, now you can place the trees where you lijke. Make sure when u clone them u don't change the names,
Then simply link the trees to a WPL in objs section and export.

Uhh, wow!
Thank you very much Blaster!
I just tested it and it with the wpl and, a part from some placement problems that I will check, it works!
I will test it with the collisions but there shouldn't be problems.

The next build will be bigger:
I'm cleaning the map project with better slopes, mountainous bumps, revisited roads and heights.
I will create different .img to leave the possibility to the users with "low-mid" end PCs to disable "heavy" objects like trees, bushes and fences.
I will probably add new materials for the mountains, but I have to understand the use of the vertex paint for GTAIV.

This build will require more time but I will always add screens of the development!

For now I will not give the map to beta testers because it's a TEST, I will give it from the v.0.0.3 if everything goes well smile.gif

Rob.Zombie
  • Rob.Zombie

    Sgt.Kanyo

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2007

#96

Posted 15 February 2012 - 11:17 AM

Awesome, can't wait to see this with trees and other stuff. I truly hope it won't cause texture bug, but we'll see biggrin.gif

steel89ita
  • steel89ita

    Map Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#97

Posted 15 February 2012 - 08:41 PM

These are my test with the v.0.0.2 Alpha + Trees

user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

Jestic
  • Jestic

    Chris

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2005
  • Netherlands

#98

Posted 15 February 2012 - 08:56 PM

QUOTE (steel89ita @ Monday, Feb 13 2012, 23:24)
QUOTE (Blaster_nl @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 21:09)
QUOTE (steel89ita @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 14:55)
QUOTE (gabrielgx @ Sunday, Feb 12 2012, 02:04)
hey man put more trees on the mountain to get more real: D

I will add them, the problem is that I don't know ho to add them using the original game files! (the trees of the vegetation)
I will check on these days if I find a way to add them!

Open ext_veg.img with OpenIV, extract the contents of the trees u wanna put on your map.
Mass import ODR files, now you can place the trees where you lijke. Make sure when u clone them u don't change the names,
Then simply link the trees to a WPL in objs section and export.

Uhh, wow!
Thank you very much Blaster!
I just tested it and it with the wpl and, a part from some placement problems that I will check, it works!
I will test it with the collisions but there shouldn't be problems.

The next build will be bigger:
I'm cleaning the map project with better slopes, mountainous bumps, revisited roads and heights.
I will create different .img to leave the possibility to the users with "low-mid" end PCs to disable "heavy" objects like trees, bushes and fences.
I will probably add new materials for the mountains, but I have to understand the use of the vertex paint for GTAIV.

This build will require more time but I will always add screens of the development!

For now I will not give the map to beta testers because it's a TEST, I will give it from the v.0.0.3 if everything goes well smile.gif

Your welcome,

QUOTE
I will create different .img to leave the possibility to the users with "low-mid" end PCs  to disable "heavy" objects like trees, bushes and fences.


I very much not recommend this.

You should do the following, grab a fps counter, like Fraps.
check what the average fram rate in LC is (should be about 40-50)
Then check your map, how much the framerate there is.
If it is the same (a differences of ~5 fps is acceptable).

If the fps difference is more then 6, your map is not streamed well, causes are: no lods, too many lods, too high poly lods.

There is absoluty no need to make seperate img files.
It will only confuse people when they download it.

The graphics settings are meant to make difference in low, mid en high-end pcs.
NOT map changes, that's simply bad game design.

EDIT:
Screens look good.

Triple Penetration
  • Triple Penetration

    Box ♡ Out

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2011

#99

Posted 15 February 2012 - 09:00 PM

That should be most realistic hill serpentine map for IV for now. Good job.

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#100

Posted 15 February 2012 - 10:31 PM

Nice work. One thing I would change is increase the density of the trees. I understand you are still working on it, but you should put more trees in areas that are farther away from the road. But keep up the good work, your doing a nice job man.

steel89ita
  • steel89ita

    Map Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#101

Posted 16 February 2012 - 06:42 PM

QUOTE (Blaster_nl @ Wednesday, Feb 15 2012, 20:56)

I very much not recommend this.

You should do the following, grab a fps counter, like Fraps.
check what the average fram rate in LC is (should be about 40-50)
Then check your map, how much the framerate there is.
If it is the same (a differences of ~5 fps is acceptable).

If the fps difference is more then 6, your map is not streamed well, causes are: no lods, too many lods, too high poly lods.

There is absoluty no need to make seperate img files.
It will only confuse people when they download it.

The graphics settings are meant to make difference in low, mid en high-end pcs.
NOT map changes, that's simply bad game design.

EDIT:
Screens look good.

Ok, thanks for the usefull tips, I really need them.
In fact you are right, but my real worry is that in a game like that (almost in the city), a montainous map could be really heavy.
I tested it with fraps and for now it seems to run good with 1000+ trees (same fps as in the broker if not better), but I will test it better with the final terrain.

I will try to achieve something like this in all the areas (speaking about trees):

user posted image

I don't know pratically anything about LODs: are they working like GTA SA?
I have difficulty to get documentations like lods, vertex alpha and the other advanced things (I only fouln basic tutorials for GTAIV)..

Jestic
  • Jestic

    Chris

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2005
  • Netherlands

#102

Posted 16 February 2012 - 06:45 PM

You can do the same with lods as you did with sa,

Only they introduced SuperLODs. which are lods of lods.
And they added format WDD, which is bascially multiple WDR files in one file.
100 obejcts in one wdd streams way faster then 100 seperate WDR files.

These thinsg are all optional.

Terreur69
  • Terreur69

    C2C - Down The Road

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2010
  • France

#103

Posted 16 February 2012 - 07:12 PM

last pic is realy good , add the more procedural + other details (fence , wood ...ect ) .

GTARandom
  • GTARandom

    Unfortunate piece of meat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2009
  • Croatia

#104

Posted 16 February 2012 - 07:28 PM

It's the best i've seen in a while!

I really would love to help make models and stuff for this... If anyone(steel89ita) is interested in my help on this, contact me via Forums PM.

Rob.Zombie
  • Rob.Zombie

    Sgt.Kanyo

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2007

#105

Posted 16 February 2012 - 08:16 PM

My god it looks kickass. Finally a map mod that I can say, I'm eagerly waiting for biggrin.gif

The__Phoenix
  • The__Phoenix

    aka bud23

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 05 Feb 2012

#106

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:26 PM

rockstar north should hire you dude! amazing mod colgate.gif

69_black_69
  • 69_black_69

    Just Beacuase

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2010
  • Indonesia

#107

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:31 PM

Best map mod for IV i have seen so far.
Never installed any other map mod before, but i'm sure i will installed this after it was released.

gtasadude
  • gtasadude

    Stunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Oct 2005

#108

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:38 PM

Looks awesome! Dislike the ENB settings you're using but the map is really cool smile.gif

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#109

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:43 PM

QUOTE (steel89ita @ Thursday, Feb 16 2012, 18:42)
QUOTE (Blaster_nl @ Wednesday, Feb 15 2012, 20:56)

I very much not recommend this.

You should do the following, grab a fps counter, like Fraps.
check what the average fram rate in LC is (should be about 40-50)
Then check your map, how much the framerate there is.
If it is the same (a differences of ~5 fps is acceptable).

If the fps difference is more then 6, your map is not streamed well, causes are: no lods, too many lods, too high poly lods.

There is absoluty no need to make seperate img files.
It will only confuse people when they download it.

The graphics settings are meant to make difference in low, mid en high-end pcs.
NOT map changes, that's simply bad game design.

EDIT:
Screens look good.

Ok, thanks for the usefull tips, I really need them.
In fact you are right, but my real worry is that in a game like that (almost in the city), a montainous map could be really heavy.
I tested it with fraps and for now it seems to run good with 1000+ trees (same fps as in the broker if not better), but I will test it better with the final terrain.

I will try to achieve something like this in all the areas (speaking about trees):

user posted image

I don't know pratically anything about LODs: are they working like GTA SA?
I have difficulty to get documentations like lods, vertex alpha and the other advanced things (I only fouln basic tutorials for GTAIV)..

Holy sh*t. Thats really good. Nice work.
I wan't this map lol.

dukee152
  • dukee152

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#110

Posted 19 February 2012 - 06:11 AM

I hope that it would not be much trouble to move this whole map to north of liberty city. In real life mountains are north of New York city.

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008
  • None

#111

Posted 19 February 2012 - 06:16 AM

QUOTE (dukee152 @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 06:11)
I hope that it would not be much trouble to move this whole map to north of liberty city. In real life mountains are north of New York city.

I don't think there is enough space for the map to work there.

--

Awesome!

But the same trees will make it look weird.


some variation would be nice like Alan Wake

user posted image

I'm making a forest map myself for a video.

nothing Gigantic just a forest with trees and stuff and I'm using that as a reference.

ShakingASS
  • ShakingASS

    Rollin Clufs

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2011

#112

Posted 19 February 2012 - 06:21 AM

i wonder if 3D Ripper DX will work if so be nice on IV.

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008
  • None

#113

Posted 19 February 2012 - 06:39 AM

An option which you could do to have tons of trees on the map is to use the compound modifier called "scatter"


of course R*'s trees are 1k of polys each.

so if you were to cover up all the map it would take probably 1 million polys. XD

ShakingASS
  • ShakingASS

    Rollin Clufs

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2011

#114

Posted 19 February 2012 - 06:46 AM

Well that can cause massive lags maybe cut polys to 4000 each or 3000.

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008
  • None

#115

Posted 19 February 2012 - 07:10 AM

QUOTE (ShakingASS @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 06:46)
Well that can cause massive lags maybe cut polys to 4000 each or 3000.

1k is 1,000.


4,000 would be worse.


A good tree could go well for 300 polys or less if you want massive stuff.

ShakingASS
  • ShakingASS

    Rollin Clufs

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2011

#116

Posted 19 February 2012 - 07:17 AM

QUOTE (quechus13 @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 07:10)
QUOTE (ShakingASS @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 06:46)
Well that can cause massive lags maybe cut polys to 4000 each or 3000.

1k is 1,000.


4,000 would be worse.


A good tree could go well for 300 polys or less if you want massive stuff.

Oh damn sorry i don't use slang often./
But yes 300 or 250 be fine.

stilldre
  • stilldre

    StillDre Productions

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2011

#117

Posted 19 February 2012 - 12:16 PM

QUOTE (quechus13 @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 07:16)
QUOTE (dukee152 @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 06:11)
I hope that it would not be much trouble to move this whole map to north of liberty city. In real life mountains are north of New York city.

I don't think there is enough space for the map to work there.
--
Awesome!
But the same trees will make it look weird.
some variation would be nice like Alan Wake

Alan Wake is great game biggrin.gif i've used allready textures from it for my Maple Valley (will show screens when i've exported)..
But what i think is that this map is missing, is some props & small buildings etc. And some trees looks like their on the side of the road.

steel89ita
  • steel89ita

    Map Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#118

Posted 19 February 2012 - 01:04 PM

QUOTE (stilldre @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 12:16)
QUOTE (quechus13 @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 07:16)
QUOTE (dukee152 @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 06:11)
I hope that it would not be much trouble to move this whole map to north of liberty city. In real life mountains are north of New York city.

I don't think there is enough space for the map to work there.
--
Awesome!
But the same trees will make it look weird.
some variation would be nice like Alan Wake

Alan Wake is great game biggrin.gif i've used allready textures from it for my Maple Valley (will show screens when i've exported)..
But what i think is that this map is missing, is some props & small buildings etc. And some trees looks like their on the side of the road.

Give me a moment smile.gif
I made just a test with the trees because I will add them for the Alpha v.0.0.3
The new alpha will be with new materials and different kind of trees (I still have to choose them)

Then I will add details and probably a building right for the terrain.

Thanks quechus13, I will take that screens as reference as well!

My worry is about the trees counts (making a montainous map is totally different from a city map), but we'll see smile.gif

msvu
  • msvu

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2010

#119

Posted 19 February 2012 - 01:59 PM

This is a really cool mod.I hope that you will continue updating it.When should we expect a public beta ? If not soon can I participate in the closed beta ?

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008
  • None

#120

Posted 19 February 2012 - 08:46 PM

QUOTE (steel89ita @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 13:04)
QUOTE (stilldre @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 12:16)
QUOTE (quechus13 @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 07:16)
QUOTE (dukee152 @ Sunday, Feb 19 2012, 06:11)
I hope that it would not be much trouble to move this whole map to north of liberty city. In real life mountains are north of New York city.

I don't think there is enough space for the map to work there.
--
Awesome!
But the same trees will make it look weird.
some variation would be nice like Alan Wake

Alan Wake is great game biggrin.gif i've used allready textures from it for my Maple Valley (will show screens when i've exported)..
But what i think is that this map is missing, is some props & small buildings etc. And some trees looks like their on the side of the road.

Give me a moment smile.gif
I made just a test with the trees because I will add them for the Alpha v.0.0.3
The new alpha will be with new materials and different kind of trees (I still have to choose them)

Then I will add details and probably a building right for the terrain.

Thanks quechus13, I will take that screens as reference as well!

My worry is about the trees counts (making a montainous map is totally different from a city map), but we'll see smile.gif

indeed!

I once while trying to make my map full of trees I ended up with 1 million polys.

My face was like mercie_blink.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users