7 replies to this topic
Indi
  • Indi

"Party's over, kid!"

• Andolini Mafia Family

Posted 05 January 2012 - 07:18 PM

Noobs Guide to Building a Mod

Hey,

I thought I would create this guide for the modding community of GTAF, as I think that GTAF has one of the best modding communities going around, I've been modding for about 4 years now, and have done work on the RenderWare Engine, RAGE, Source and some of the Unreal Engine. But mostly I work on Source as this is the most ideal engine for me. But without further adue... let's get down to business.

What is a mod?
Mod means modification, modification means changing something from it's original into something else. All there really is to it, you're just changing a game into something that can be yours.

What is an engine?
Engine is the heart and core of how a game is run, it is the holy grail, it holds all of the code, the models, the shaders, the reflections, physics. However physics can be seperate engine, sometimes it's implamented in the engine, sometimes not. Rockstar uses Euphoria by NaturalMotion, others like VALVe uses Havok as well as Ubisoft, depends. Think of it as an operating system: Mac, Windows; an operating system is what programs are ran from, exact same with a game engine.

Leading a team
It really does take time and committment, it isn't a walk in the park to lead a developer team, so if you're new and you really, really want to lead your own team, then I do advise someone that you know quite well and someone who does know his stuff, but please do not argue with them, agree to disagree is the best way, but also try to share ideas between people throughout the team, and never get cocky otherwise you will lose respect. If you however do not feel that you are up to the task but have a great idea, then it can be sometimes difficult to convince a big mod team to go along with them, just show some concept, visually; then who knows.

You have an idea, but do you think it is good to execute?