Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA 3 Mobile Modding

709 replies to this topic
gamerzworld
  • gamerzworld

    Why did I move here? I guess it was to bounce.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2005

#1

Posted 15 December 2011 - 05:27 AM Edited by gamerzworld, 03 January 2012 - 01:32 AM.

Thanks to Rockstar and War Drum Studios, the Grand Theft Auto III port for iOS and Android devices uses a direct port of the same RenderWare engine that the original game used. This means that most files are moddable using the tools we've gotten from the amazing tool makers over the years.

TXD - The file structure is almost the same, the textures seem to be stored differently though. The game will still load texture files from the PC version though so this really isn't a problem.
DFF - Map objects and cars open just fine with Kam's Tools. Character models are another story.
GXT, IMG, IPL, IDE, COL - Same as GTA3 PC.
SCM - Same as GTA3 PC but has a few extra opcodes.

Accessing the files on your iOS device
The easiest way to access the game files on your iOS device is to get iExplorer. It is a free program that allows you to explore your device without jailbreaking. To access your gta3.set file, you may have to jailbreak and get afc2add in addition to using iExplorer.

SCM Decompiling
The SCM for the mobile version is almost exactly the same as the SCM for the PC version. However, the mobile version uses two extra opcodes. Because SannyBuilder is unaware of these opcodes, the SCM will fail to decompile. To properly decompile the SCM, you will need to add the follow opcodes to the SCM.INI file.
CODE
03A8=1,
03A9=0,

Thanks to spaceeinstein for the opcodes!

.SET file editing
To edit the .SET file, you will need a hex editor such as XVI32. Known offsets and their features are below.
View Distance
Offset: 0x568

Options:
"66 66 E6", Maximum drawing distance
"66 66 DE",
"66 66 D6",
"66 66 CE",
"66 66 C6",
"66 66 BE",
"66 66 B6 ",
" 66 66 AE ", Medium drawing distance
" 66 66 A6 ",
" 66 66 9E ",
" 66 66 96 "
" 66 66 8E ",
" 66 66 86 ",
" CC CC 7C ",
" CC CC 6C ",
" CC CC 5C ",
" CD CC 4C ", Minimum drawing disance
" CC CC A4 ", iOS A4 chipset drawing distance (some sort of custom value)
" CC CC AC", iOS Custom Value (From a 3GS set file)


Thanks to: LION from 4pda.ru and Gamerzworld
Car lights, Lamps and Flashing Lights
Offset: 0x67C

Options:
00 = off,
02 = on

Thanks to: LION from 4pda.ru
Detailed Shadows, Traffic Lights, Blood
Offset: 0x678

Options:
00 = off,
01 = on

Thanks to: LION from 4pda.ru
Resolution
Offset: 0x676

Options:
Ipad 80 (HiRes)
DHD 19 (LowRes)

Thanks to: LION from 4pda.ru
Breaks and Debris
Offset: 0x67D

Options:
00 = off
02 = on

Thanks to: LION from 4pda.ru
Language
Offset: 0x673

Options:
00 = English
01 = French
02 = German
03 = Italian
04 = Spanish

Thanks to: Gamerzworld
Frame Limiter
Offset: 0x56E

Options:
00 = off
01 = on

Thanks to: Gamerzworld
Subtitles
Offset: 0x56B

Options:
00 = off
01 = on

Thanks to: Gamerzworld
Widescreen
Offset: 0x56C

Options:
00 = off
01 = on

Thanks to: Gamerzworld
  • pogo_01 likes this

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

#2

Posted 15 December 2011 - 02:08 PM

Great stuff. icon14.gif

I've noticed those head models aren't ones used in-game, you could export a ped/actor dff (the player.dff might not import because it is skinned) from the .img and see if that imports fine too. Also would be nice to test it with vehicle files and collision files too.
Is it possible to export the dffs or txds or cols and have them work fine in-game?

gamerzworld
  • gamerzworld

    Why did I move here? I guess it was to bounce.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2005

#3

Posted 15 December 2011 - 02:22 PM

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Thursday, Dec 15 2011, 09:08)
Great stuff. icon14.gif

I've noticed those head models aren't ones used in-game, you could export a ped/actor dff (the player.dff might not import because it is skinned) from the .img and see if that imports fine too. Also would be nice to test it with vehicle files and collision files too.
Is it possible to export the dffs or txds or cols and have them work fine in-game?

Characters do not import however I imported a few map models and vehicles fine. I'll try out some more stuff when I get home.

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

#4

Posted 15 December 2011 - 02:43 PM Edited by Frank.s, 15 December 2011 - 04:24 PM.

Ah ok, when you next get the chance to; it might be possible to install odies stunt park or something. If so then i'll be making some new III maps. tounge.gif
That reminds me, is the data folder structure the same as the ps2 or pc or xbox version? Or does it differ from all three? (are the file+folder locations different i mean)
What device are you running III on and how do you access the files on GTAIII? "gta3iphone" seems to indicate you're using either the iPhone4 or 4S but that could be an internal filename that is used on all platforms i don't know.
Could you point me in the right direction on how to get that software? Does it require a jailbreak?

gamerzworld
  • gamerzworld

    Why did I move here? I guess it was to bounce.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2005

#5

Posted 15 December 2011 - 04:59 PM Edited by gamerzworld, 15 December 2011 - 09:36 PM.

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Thursday, Dec 15 2011, 09:43)
Ah ok, when you next get the chance to; it might be possible to install odies stunt park or something. If so then i'll be making some new III maps. tounge.gif
That reminds me, is the data folder structure the same as the ps2 or pc or xbox version? Or does it differ from all three? (are the file+folder locations different i mean)
What device are you running III on and how do you access the files on GTAIII? "gta3iphone" seems to indicate you're using either the iPhone4 or 4S but that could be an internal filename that is used on all platforms i don't know.
Could you point me in the right direction on how to get that software? Does it require a jailbreak?

There's no folder structure, all of the files are now in the root directory. File names are pretty much the same, except for the gta3.img file which is now gta3_pvr.img. I'm running it on a 3GS. It runs, but the framerate isn't very good. The "gta3iphone" name is what I named it when I extracted the files, the files are universal and will work on a iPad too for example. To get the files, you just rename the gta3.ipa to .zip and unzip them. To replace files on the iOS device, you'll need to jailbreak and SSH in with something like WinSCP. You could also use iFunbox as well.

I couldn't resist trying to edit a model, so I edited a map model. I deleted some of the mesh and added a box but the box isn't very visible from the screenshot. I'll do more when I get home.
user posted image

EDIT: Some more. Added to the mesh. Cookies if you know where the ship is from.
user posted image user posted image

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

#6

Posted 15 December 2011 - 09:51 PM Edited by Frank.s, 15 December 2011 - 10:16 PM.

Awesome, thanks for the info too.
I wanna get a cheap ipod touch and convert as much of VC/SA as possible to portable but there would probably be problems with the map limits.

Edit: VV Exellent. icon14.gif

Ash_735
  • Ash_735

    1 627 826 3789

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005
  • None

#7

Posted 15 December 2011 - 10:15 PM

Best part is, these Radio Station files are the BEST version available for GTA III, they sound so clean and clear, and since they're basic MP3, they can be dropped right into current mods with ease, so those of you who play SA Liberty City, or III Rage, etc, can benefit from these better mastered converts!

Gege
  • Gege

    ZoSo

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2007

#8

Posted 15 December 2011 - 11:03 PM

Most of the .txd files cannot be opened with the TXD Workshop, at least I get errors constantly.

Ash_735
  • Ash_735

    1 627 826 3789

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005
  • None

#9

Posted 15 December 2011 - 11:42 PM

Actually, I retract that, the radio files on the mobile version are only 96kbps MP3 at 32Khz, which means the Steam Version is still the best at 256kbps WAV at 32Khz with the Xbox version coming in close at 128kbps WMA8 at 44.1Khz.

lpgunit
  • lpgunit

    It's L, as in Lpgunit, not I.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2008

#10

Posted 16 December 2011 - 01:07 AM

So, does this mean that we need to update the TXD and DFF tools to support the mobile versions? I'd be glad to pitch in into the modding business, problem is that my Android's too weak to run III.

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008

#11

Posted 16 December 2011 - 01:07 AM Edited by nkjellman, 16 December 2011 - 02:37 AM.

I can use the mobile scm files on the PC version, so PC scm's should work on the mobile.

Edit: This is from the topic I created that has alittle usefull info. I didnt realise this topic was here when I made it
QUOTE
Ive been looking at the files for GTA III mobile on my iPod Tuch. All the files are the same format as the PC. Their layed out differently however, but the formats are the same.

So far I tested a few files, some that were left over in the mobile version.
I tried all three scm files that were in there.
-main.scm: which is what the normal game uses worked on the PC version however something is different because I can't load saves. (Ill try to see if I can load my mobile save with this scm) (Nevermind save loading didnt work)
-main_d.scm: spawns me outside Luigi's club with no missions to do, but the safe house and PayNSpray work, but the islands are locked so I'm stuck in portland.
-main_freeroam.scm: spawns me on the Callahan bridge with two Chita's next to me. All islands are unlocked, but the safe house and PayNSprays don't work.
-timecyc.dat: Seems to be the same as the PC version. I thought it would be different on the iPhone.

I tested these on the PC, so they should work on the iPhone version, however you may need a jailbreak. One question. Is it possable to make two directorys on the iPhone/iPod tuch? This means the GTA III app will apear twice, and one will be modded.

So yes I havent tested any mods on the iOS yet, however if the files from the iOS version work on the PC version, PC files should work on the iOS version.

If someone wants to tell me how to make it so I can have two copys of GTA III on the iOS. One thats for modding, one thats normal.

Edit: It's safe to say that most PC mods are possable on the mobile version. I installed the highway mod, and it works. However mods like III MP, cleo, or exe mods will not work.

gamerzworld
  • gamerzworld

    Why did I move here? I guess it was to bounce.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2005

#12

Posted 16 December 2011 - 02:40 AM Edited by gamerzworld, 16 December 2011 - 02:46 AM.

Seems it'll load PC TXDs fine, just like how the PS2 version was. Used this this car mod without any modifications to the files. Just a heads up to people, GTA3 mobile has two different sets of cars. The original versions in the oldveh_pvr.img file and the updated Xbox ones in the gta3_pvr.img file. The easiest way to check which one is being used on your device is to crash a car and look at the engine. If it's a flat texture, then it's the oldveh. If you see an actual engine, then it's the gta3 file.

user posted image user posted image

lpgunit
  • lpgunit

    It's L, as in Lpgunit, not I.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2008

#13

Posted 16 December 2011 - 03:13 AM

So, car mods do work fine on that thing. Problem is that you'll have to consider the polycount as the iPhone 4S can only process 30 million polygons a second.

gamerzworld
  • gamerzworld

    Why did I move here? I guess it was to bounce.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2005

#14

Posted 16 December 2011 - 05:04 AM

R.I.P. Odie.

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image
  • adrian_2012 likes this

lpgunit
  • lpgunit

    It's L, as in Lpgunit, not I.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2008

#15

Posted 16 December 2011 - 06:42 AM

'Tis nice to know that map mods work for the mobile edition. Any news on the Android ports? I know it's more or less trivial since the data files are more easily accessible on a droid than on iOS.

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

#16

Posted 16 December 2011 - 01:27 PM Edited by Frank.s, 16 December 2011 - 04:03 PM.

QUOTE (lpgunit @ Friday, Dec 16 2011, 06:42)
'Tis nice to know that map mods work for the mobile edition.
This.
QUOTE
Any news on the Android ports? I know it's more or less trivial since the data files are more easily accessible on a droid than on iOS.
From what i've gathered by looking through the files for the Android version for the HTC Sensation, they are slightly different but fundamentally the same.
The folder stucture is the same as the pc version and the ipl + ide + and col files appear to be same, the col files are v1 like before and are openable/editable using colleditor2 and they work in-game as proven by gamerzworlds iPhone3 testing.
All the files named .mp3 in the audio folder of the iOS version are renamed to .nfx in the Android version but the files can be renamed to .mp3 or .wav and played using a media player.
(i don't know if they are mp3 format or wav format as i don't have a proper way of checking, Ash probably does though. wink.gif )
The vehicle dff files seem to be the same as the pc vehicle dffs but all ped dffs are skinned, from the player, the actors and even to the segmented peds, they are all skinned and aren't importable.

Edit: Hah, imagine how slow it would run (if at all) when Pearcys HD III mod is installed (sans enb of course)

xTG_IrOnZzZ
  • xTG_IrOnZzZ

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2011

#17

Posted 16 December 2011 - 04:36 PM

I managed to install a few cars into the game.

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

I also edited the damage file and gave myself super punch :]

If anyone has edited the player skin please let me know how thanks .

Jur1zz
  • Jur1zz

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2009

#18

Posted 16 December 2011 - 05:01 PM Edited by Jur1zz, 16 December 2011 - 06:37 PM.

Nice to see mods works on mobile version, later will try with OnePiece cars

btw here is how models folder looks in my gs2
http://i.imgur.com/aV2ep.png


Edit:
HD Diablos
user posted image
user posted image
lol

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

#19

Posted 16 December 2011 - 11:24 PM Edited by Frank.s, 17 December 2011 - 12:21 AM.

lol
Do you think the bits of the model that are over the mobile devices limits just get deleted or would it be a texture bug? Try extracting all the textures and making a new .txd using g-txd.
How much of a fps difference is there?

Hey III Anniversary modders, could you try PWs' GTA3 Mission Pack please?
If it works then i might make some missions that combine brand new map changes and new vehicle(s) into the missions. It's possible on pc so should be possible on portable. turn.gif

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008

#20

Posted 17 December 2011 - 12:21 AM

Is it possable to get the Vice City map? Also Does anyone know how I can get god mode for vehicles, and the player?

Also is it possable to edit the Dodo so it falls through the water and my health doesnt go down?

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

#21

Posted 17 December 2011 - 12:24 AM

Hey III Anniversary modders, could you try PWs' GTA3 Mission Pack please?
If it works then i might make some missions that combine brand new map changes with new vehicle(s) into the missions. It's possible on pc so should be possible on portable. turn.gif


QUOTE (nkjellman)
Also Does anyone know how I can get god mode for vehicles, and the player?
Scm scripting.

QUOTE
Also is it possible to edit the Dodo so it falls through the water and my health doesnt go down?

Yes. Open handling line and change amount sunk in water to -1
QUOTE
Is it possable to get the Vice City map?
Almost. Not enugh free id numbers so the map could be added however it would have to be stripped out with some buildings removed/attached together into single map objects.

EverLost123
  • EverLost123

    Wololo

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Apr 2010

#22

Posted 17 December 2011 - 01:10 AM

What about instead of modding iGTA3's , update IVSA credits, huh?

You dindt see the 3 PMs i send you?

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008

#23

Posted 17 December 2011 - 01:22 AM

Yea, I made the vehicles invincable to damage from colisions, however does anyone know how to desable visual damage? Is it possable to do like GTA IV using the handling file? I want to make my cars not have collision damage because my cars get pritty f*cked up with the controlls. I'm getting used to it but cars in GTA III damage so easly compared to the other GTA games.

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

#24

Posted 17 December 2011 - 12:05 PM Edited by Frank.s, 17 December 2011 - 12:07 PM.

QUOTE (EverLost)
What about instead of modding iGTA3's, update IVSA credits, huh?
You didn't see the 3 PMs i send you?
What do you mean? tounge.gif
Is that to me or one of the other people in this topic? If you're talking to me, no i have not gotten any PMs about IVSA credits.

QUOTE (NKjellman)
Is it possable to do like GTA IV using the handling file?
Nope
QUOTE
I made the vehicles invincible to damage from collisions (using handling.cfg edit), however does anyone know how to disable visual damage? I want to make my cars not have collision damage because my cars get pritty f*cked up with the controlls. I'm getting used to it but cars in GTA III damage so easly compared to the other GTA games.
Yeah that is possible by modding the scm, i'll open a stripped main.scm for III and write a script that make the players current car invincible.

Could someone test PWs' GTA3 Mission Pack on any GTA III anniversary edition? I wanna know if new missions and american.gxt edits work properly. icon14.gif

EverLost123
  • EverLost123

    Wololo

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Apr 2010

#25

Posted 17 December 2011 - 01:45 PM

I'm talking to gamerzworld. I send him 3 PMs, he ignored the 3, i have send a Giant size word to him on the IVSA Topic and he is still ignoring me , and i dont have any idea why he is doing that.

Jur1zz
  • Jur1zz

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2009

#26

Posted 17 December 2011 - 01:54 PM

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Saturday, Dec 17 2011, 01:24)
How much of a fps difference is there?

With OnePiece HD cars its about 0-3 fps and cars not loading properly. Looks like gs2 just can't handle that lol

jas0nuk
  • jas0nuk

    Turismo

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2008

#27

Posted 17 December 2011 - 03:27 PM

QUOTE (gamerzworld @ Thursday, Dec 15 2011, 16:59)
EDIT: Some more. Added to the mesh. Cookies if you know where the ship is from.

http://gta.wikia.com/Pirates_in_Men's_Pants !

Dumbass-Productions
  • Dumbass-Productions

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2010

#28

Posted 17 December 2011 - 04:31 PM

Hey Guys. I've redone the street, sidewalk and grass textures in GTA III: Mobile. They are more detailed now and not in 64x64 resolution any more. If you want to try them, here's the link for them: http://www8.zippysha...00386/file.html

If possible, make some screenshots plz. An before/after pic would be cool (I don't know how to make them ^^)

JANTSUU
  • JANTSUU

    Wanted Level: ★★★★★

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2008

#29

Posted 17 December 2011 - 06:10 PM

QUOTE (Dumbass-Productions @ Saturday, Dec 17 2011, 16:31)
Hey Guys. I've redone the street, sidewalk and grass textures in GTA III: Mobile. They are more detailed now and not in 64x64 resolution any more. If you want to try them, here's the link for them: http://www8.zippysha...00386/file.html

If possible, make some screenshots plz. An before/after pic would be cool (I don't know how to make them ^^)

I installed it and there is no difference :S

Samsung Galaxy S II version
user posted image

Per7ik
  • Per7ik

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2011

#30

Posted 17 December 2011 - 06:21 PM

I dont good speak english
But,J antsu92 yoy need to rename file Dumbass-Productions and copy to your mobile
exple
file generic.txd (Dumbass-Productions) rename to generic_ATC.txd and cope)
understand me&




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users